View game card play report
Next 100 entries
|192||11/23/2023 9:55:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Well hello Chris - happy Thanksgiving to you and yours! Glad to hear things are improving for you. Sadly I am about to hit a stretch of about 4 weeks of crazy at work as we work to get software releases in before the year end change freeze.
Perhaps we could look to play a game in 2024?
|191||11/20/2023 2:58:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Greetings Paul! And a happy thanksgiving... apologies for dropping off the radar over the past month, but it took me this long to get balance things out.
I'm definitely up for continuing on, if you are still of mind to?
|190||10/10/2023 4:10:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Hey there - first of all, I am sorry to hear about the passing of your colleague. It puts gaming into perspective. Glad to hear you / your family are ok!
As for the game itself, take your time and let me know when you want to restart.
|189||10/9/2023 11:55:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Greetings Paul... apologies, the past several weeks have been an uphill battle, as one of my senior staff members passed away unexpectedly, and I was running a race to the end-of-session finish line in two graduate-level history classes (I've never written so much on WWII... while fun and engaging, it was exhausting).
I'm finally on the other side of those things, but on the road this week... if you are still up for soldiering on, I definitely am! And can post a file from the hotel later this week... hope all is well in your neck of the woods...
|188||10/9/2023 1:18:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Hi Chris, no rush on the game just wanted to make sure you are ok?
|187||9/26/2023 10:07:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
hey there - not sure if you saw my earlier note or it is my turn?
|186||9/13/2023 1:58:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Yes you are right - thought I had done that. New file online.
I agree about the end of the LoD game. Not sure what his goal is there. Can only be that he thinks Charlie can win? You and I both essentially conceded. Really odd. But the fact that the game went on for years(!!) may make things weird too.
|185||9/13/2023 11:41:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
One note on Bernadotte's move... you'll need to discard to make that move.
As for our (finally!) finishing Liberty or Death game... I was a little vexed with Randall insisting that we take the time to work through the final phase ourselves. If he wanted to see it play out, I'm not sure why he expected that we would do that when he was fully capable of doing it himself. Anyways...
|184||9/11/2023 7:09:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Ah, no worries. New file to you
|183||9/11/2023 1:31:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
ach, apologies! I posted the correct file a few days back, but neglected to follow up... apologies...
|182||9/7/2023 4:27:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
I think you may have posted the wrong file here... :-)
|181||9/7/2023 4:12:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Minor Russian logistics... new file posted...
|180||9/5/2023 2:56:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Spain is getting hot!
|179||9/2/2023 8:43:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Apologies, that should have only been one British unit... corrected file posted, back to the French...
|178||8/31/2023 7:04:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Oh dear, I am about to get schooled on the rules I fear. Can you move two units by sea? I thought 12.4.1 says one unit per round?
|177||8/31/2023 4:15:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
The British finally get into the war... new file posted...
|176||8/25/2023 2:39:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Napoleon returns to Vienna
|175||8/25/2023 10:56:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
I do not say, my Lords, that the French will not come. Only that they will not come by sea.
Lord Nelson finally has his day... new file posted, French next...
|174||8/23/2023 4:04:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Ah I see now the value of that card that turned French allies into dominions. Ok move Napoleon to Schweiz and change Italia. Then you can go first.
|173||8/23/2023 1:41:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Ach, one more edit... Napoleon can't deploy to Wurttemberg. He needs to deploy to either a French home area, OR a French dominion adjacent to a home area (like Italia).
|172||8/23/2023 1:38:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
No cards to play... one edit to the prior file, Italia switches to a French Dominion with the insurgency marker, and not an Ally. The insurgent marker remains to indicate that Italia is now immune to French diplomacy for the remainder of the game.
Monsieur Bonaparte to decide who leads off in 1808...
|171||8/20/2023 11:19:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Happy Sunday to you - I have posted a file. Unless you have funny cards to play, we can start the campaign phase
|170||8/19/2023 8:14:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Apologies... I worked through my very limited reinforcements, and overlooked posting! New file up... to the French...
|169||8/15/2023 1:38:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
hi there - Coalition can go first
|168||8/15/2023 11:01:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Coalition draws up... new file posted, on to Reinforcements...
|167||8/11/2023 6:57:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Ok, 8 new cards drawn and we move to 1809 -- a year of destiny! Or at lease hopefully more action than 1808 ;-)
|166||8/10/2023 12:11:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
None from the coalition... on to the discard/draw...
|165||8/9/2023 1:08:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
No further actions from France. any other items before we discard / draw?
|164||8/8/2023 8:32:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
The Coalition responds, to maintain the current status quo... new file posted, back to the French...
|163||8/8/2023 7:48:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Onto diplomacy phase. I played a card, over to you.
|162||8/8/2023 7:46:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
One in Austria, 0 in Spain. New file online
|161||8/8/2023 7:44:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Die roll request||
Request: 6-sided die x 2
Message from French:
Karpathen -2drm (Barren)
Madrid -1drm (Capital / Insurgent)
|160||8/8/2023 12:32:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
1 permanent loss... taken by Austria...
|159||8/8/2023 12:29:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Die roll request||
Request: 6-sided die x 1
Message from Coalition:
Rolling for winter attrition on the Coalition force in eastern Austria, +3 drm (+1 friendly area, +2 depot card)
|158||8/8/2023 12:15:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
No other cards from the Coalition...
|157||8/7/2023 8:21:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
None of those fancy store bought cards for France! :-) Anymore from you before I roll?
|156||8/7/2023 10:53:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
To winter attrition... I'll play a depot card on my stack in Ostgalizien.
I think the French have two locations to resolve... any cards to play before we roll it out?
|155||8/4/2023 11:02:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Ugh. Onto winter attrition yes?
|154||8/4/2023 10:58:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Bonaparte was definitely reading the tea leaves... new file posted...
|153||8/4/2023 10:45:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Hello there! Spain surrenders unless you play one of those horrid cards of yours. :-)
|152||8/3/2023 6:21:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
OK new file online - winter is coming. And there it went.
|151||8/2/2023 7:04:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
That all looks correct to me...
|150||8/2/2023 4:25:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Before we do, a few clarifying questions, as it stands now:
* Spain surrenders this turn
* Italia joins the righteous cause again
* Austria does not surrender
* I will have to roll for attrition in the Carpathians and Madrid but no where else
|149||8/2/2023 4:07:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
The Coalition will pass.... on to the winter...
|148||8/2/2023 12:21:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Time for a Spanish vacation. New file to you.
|147||8/2/2023 12:29:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Same here... Coalition passes on AR3. No file to post... To the French for AR4...
|146||8/1/2023 6:25:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Sadly we will pass. No file.
|145||8/1/2023 8:41:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Bagration shifts south... new file posted, French next...
|144||7/30/2023 9:18:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Ah yes - I kept going back and forth about Wurtemburg. Please move that corps back please.
|143||7/29/2023 11:44:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
I think the third move was Augereau to Vienna from Wurttemberg. Prior to that, the two French coprs in Paris moved south to Aquitaine, and Massena joined them from Italy...
|142||7/29/2023 9:40:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Thank you - I only moved two armies yea? So only two discards. Did I move more?
|141||7/29/2023 7:18:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Just one edit to the French move... the Major Campaign allows you to move three different armies, but each of the armies needs to be "paid" for by a discard. You would need to discard one more time to pay for the third army move...
|140||7/29/2023 10:58:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
The French are finally on the move. It seems we needed Nappy at home to get things unglued!
|139||7/29/2023 8:30:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
The Austrians consolidate forces... new file posted, back to the French...
|138||7/28/2023 9:07:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Good morning - We will stay. Over to you.
|137||7/27/2023 12:16:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Karl declines the invitation to afternoon tea, and will withdraw the Austrian force east to Ostgalizien.
The French force still has an MP remaining, if they want to continue their march... but entering a third area would cause march attrition, and as the force is already flipped due to marching into the mountains, would need to roll on the attrition table to continue marching. New file posted...
I do currently have eight cards in-hand, after the discard to restore the Austrian corps, and the event card on Monsieur Bonaparte...
|136||7/26/2023 5:22:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
I place my dueling glove on Karl's gin-besotted face. Repeatedly. Over to you.
|135||7/26/2023 2:41:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
You have it correct... marching into a mountain space causes attrition which, to full corps, flips them. If they then engage in a battle and win, a card can be spent to unflip.
|134||7/26/2023 1:05:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
So I will go first but I have a procedural question first.
If I move to the mountains with no spent troops, there is no attrition but the troops become spent, yes?
Then if I fight and win a battle with same troops, can they then be unspent with a discard?
|133||7/26/2023 10:05:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
No more machinations... to the French to either lead off, or defer to the Coalition to proceed...
|132||7/25/2023 1:34:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
And a new file to you with a question...if the answer is no, then we may commence.
|131||7/24/2023 10:46:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Events in Paris draw Napoleon's attention back home... you can replace his corps with a fresh one from the reserve while he attends to other matters in 1808. New file posted...
|130||7/24/2023 1:42:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Sounds ominous...new file with my one corps deployed.
|129||7/24/2023 12:53:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Coalition reinforcements posted. After the French work through their reinforcements and before deciding who will lead off the campaign phase, I may play a card...
|128||7/24/2023 12:41:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
In that case you may go first.
|127||7/24/2023 12:37:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
You have both correct... the Russians and Austrians are maxed out, and there is no unit to add in Italy.
From the Coalition side, I think all we have are 3x units we could mobilize (1x British to England, and 2x Spanish)...
|126||7/24/2023 12:10:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
So before we decide the order, I have a couple of questions to confirm my new rules expertise.
Both Austria and Russia are at their max mobilization yes - so they get 0 new? Also the Italian rebels get no forces added yes?
|125||7/24/2023 9:50:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Coalition draw file is up... the French decide who works through reinforcements first...
|124||7/23/2023 12:02:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Well sir you have done it. You have forced me to get the game out and put it on my ide table here (my main game table has a Fortress America game ongoing).
So it is time for me to play this game a bit less amateurishly.
New file online. En guard!
|123||7/22/2023 1:35:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
All blind luck... there will be turns like that in this game...
I won't play another card. To the French discard and draw... no file to post...
|122||7/22/2023 11:40:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
My goodness - great hand well played. Pass.
|121||7/22/2023 11:40:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
My goodness - great hand well played. Pass.
|120||7/22/2023 10:19:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Napoleon's lethargy in Vienna has re-shaped the map of Europe again... new file posted, for any French play in the Insurrection Phase...
|119||7/21/2023 2:07:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Add one more mark to Alexander crimes. No response
|118||7/18/2023 4:02:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
On to Diplomacy 1808... and Coalition envoys visit Madrid. New file attached, for French review...
|117||7/16/2023 2:55:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Just saw your file. 6 +1 -2 = 5 so same loss
|116||7/16/2023 2:53:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
I will pass on the diplomacy phase. It seems cannons speak louder than treaties.
|115||7/16/2023 2:51:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
So one permanent loss it seems. New file online.
|114||7/16/2023 2:49:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Die roll request||
Request: 6-sided die x 1
Message from French:
Oh goodness no lets continue.
So I have 7 corps (5 fresh and 2 spent). +1 Capital area yes?
|113||7/16/2023 2:39:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
I'm good if we want to reboot and start over? Or soldiering on with this match...
If staying the course, new file posted as we kick into another winter attrition phase. Most of the winter attrition is a net-zero (the Prussians and Russians are in their home countries, which provides a +1 drm and effectively negates the need for a roll on the table).
General Bonaparte, on the other hand...
|112||7/16/2023 1:53:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Wow...I just found the 2nd edition rules online, printed them and now see what my issue(s) were (or some of them at least). What a difference between my 1st edition and these. Not just rules changes but clarity in the way it is broken out.
|111||7/16/2023 12:16:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
I swear I really have a blocker on getting this game. I will rerereread the rules again today.
No play during the surrender phase
|110||7/16/2023 12:06:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
For any march attrition (3x areas moved, mountains, winter marching), a full-strength corps cannot be lost to march attrition. The full-strength corps will flip, but it's only the already-flipped corps which can be taken off the board due to march attrition.
Moving around spent corps in the winter is dangerous, as the march itself causes a die roll, as would any of the other march attrition triggers (marching into a 3rd area, marching into mountains or swamps).
Attrition during the winter attrition phase works differently... all corps present in an area with 3x or more corps "count" to define the die roll column, and the results of the die roll can be applied to both full-strength and reduced corps.
|109||7/16/2023 11:15:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Do the Russians have to roll for attrition (since it was a winter march)?
|108||7/16/2023 10:36:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Alexander again saves the Austrian bacon... new file posted with the end of the 1807 campaign phase and start of the Surrender Phase, for your review...
|107||7/14/2023 10:33:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
You sir are a crafty one. With the perfidious Albion having the last move each year, I suspected this trick of yours. But as you point out, I do not want to risk winter attrition for our elite legions.
If the Russian mobs move in, they risk attrition (potentially twice). If they survive, we will kill them in the spring. :-)
|106||7/13/2023 8:24:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Greetings Monsieur Bonaparte... before I play or pass on the second winter turn, two thoughts:
-In the current board state, France would conquer Austria due to controlling Vienna and having more corps in the country than Austria (7 to 6).
If I were to move a Russian corps into Austria with my second winter move, it would not surrender as we would be even on corps strength in the country.
I'm not saying I would do that, as anyone I move in would be subject to Winter Attrition... and would be placed in a difficult position to defend once that large French army moves first in 1808.
-I'm not suggesting that you should move around any corps right now in the middle of winter... winter marching is always painful, and a strategic goal of the Coalition in this game is to bleed out the French army over the course of the game. I've therefore been keen to try and put you in position to suffer attrition as much as possible... and this is certainly one of those situations.
Again, I'm not saying I will move to keep Austria "alive", particularly as the Radetzky card (and the 5 Austrian corps it brings into the game) requires Austrian surrender to trigger... and I'm usually loathe to move troops around in the winter.
But I at least wanted to make sure you were aware of the strategic situation right now, before moving forward after your pass on the second action round of the winter.
|105||7/12/2023 9:00:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Hello there - I will pass as well. No new file.
|104||7/11/2023 6:05:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Greetings... the Coalition will pass on Round 5.
To Round 6... no new file to post...
|103||7/8/2023 2:16:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
New file online
|102||7/8/2023 2:16:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Die roll request||
Request: 6-sided die x 1
Message from French:
|101||7/8/2023 2:16:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Got it - I will march one unit. Rolling for winter attrition
|100||7/8/2023 2:14:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
We would be... but after I passed in the third round, I played the "Indecision" card on the French in the fourth round, which forces a pass.
I then passed on any Coalition action in the fourth round... which advances us into the winter.
Apologies, I should have made that clear in my last message...
|99||7/8/2023 2:12:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
are we in the 4th round (which is not winter yet, yes?)
|98||7/8/2023 2:08:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Coalition passes on AR3... Napoleon spends the autumn in deliberations, and winter sets in.
New file posted... French up in the first winter round...
|97||7/7/2023 8:18:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
AR3 done -- hope I did this correctly.
|96||7/7/2023 2:23:00 PM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
Coalition AR2 posted (minor movement)... back to the French...
|95||7/4/2023 4:08:00 PM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Hey on second thought - I will.not discard. Over to you sir.
|94||7/4/2023 9:18:00 AM||Turn 1||French||Message||
Yes I will please. I will be home tomorrow and can update the file. Happy 4th to you!
|93||7/1/2023 9:43:00 AM||Turn 1||Coalition||Message||
I neglected to ask... do you wish to discard to restore the 3x French corps who participated in the battle?
Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations