Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Napoleonic Wars: Rod v Gareth Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
358 4/30/2017 7:22:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Wow it is interesting let me think about it ... have to take a look at remaining cards and some of the rules ... sorry about the delay.
357 4/30/2017 6:44:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message And you would evacuate Salzburg and Graz

If not accepted:

Danes build Fred +1, n Fred+6
356 4/30/2017 4:18:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message So you have the option of taking that

However it would mean Lannes and co in Gibralter going home and unflagging it, and that truce does NOT apply in Spain
355 4/30/2017 4:17:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Well that's interesting:

Playable only with France's consent and if Napoleon is in play. Otherwise, play as 6 CPs. Regroup Napoleon, all French Forces not in French Home Duchies and all enemy Forces in French Home Duchies. France (but not its Pact allies) may not attack or be attacked until the next Turn when Napolon returns as a free reinforcement. If played during Turn 5, a 6th Turn is added. Voids Capitulation event vs. France.
354 4/30/2017 4:17:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Denmark: Play random Strategy card #81: 6 / Napoleon Abdicates

RED: Must be played as Event

Message from Britain:
353 4/30/2017 4:17:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Sweden will pass
352 4/30/2017 4:17:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Doing it when I am right next to the target however probably means a quick death though

I for example wouldn't play it yet for Vendee or Brussels if the position as reversed, you still have plenty of time to react
351 4/30/2017 4:16:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message its the best use of my Spanish after you squashed my Reserve

Correct, 2 French units are generally worth more than 4 Spanish CP, so stuff like that is often worth doing, even if only to reinforce your major - you could also use it to reinforce Napppy in Munich
350 4/30/2017 4:14:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message French are wiped out, I will kill 1 Turk for the loss

n Moore+5, Yusuf+3
349 4/30/2017 4:14:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 10

3
2
4
3
6
1
1
3
6
3


Message from Britain:
Another 10 dice then
348 4/30/2017 4:13:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
1


Message from Britain:
Moore+4
Yusuf+4
347 4/30/2017 4:13:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message You can't get a rout ... right ?

If I intercept I come with 2 full armies, so I can get a rout, it makes no difference because you have no leader and therefore no Army and I have no chance of a resource
346 4/30/2017 4:12:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message 1-4 Kut_6, Bag+6, Ben +3, Ferd+3 to Linz

There is 1 Russian in Moravia and 1 Austrian in Prague
345 4/30/2017 4:05:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Also please confirm what has advanced to Linz (I may have missed that)
344 4/30/2017 4:02:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Absolutely it's the only way to attrit you and its the best use of my Spanish after you squashed my Reserve (OH THAT HURT)

You can't get a rout ... right ?
343 4/30/2017 3:56:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message You still want to do that?
342 4/30/2017 3:56:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message 10.1 INTERCEPTION An inactive Army or Army Group may attempt to enter an Adjacent Duchy to interrupt the movement of enemy Forces (including those appearing due to events or builds) if no enemy Formation already occupies that Adjacent Duchy. If successful, a battle is fought. The Active player is the attacker.

I can attempt interception
341 4/30/2017 3:53:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Sweden Up
340 4/30/2017 3:52:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message +1 Brit eliminated
Rome n +2 FRench

But if I am reading the rules correctly Rome is still flagged British
339 4/30/2017 3:48:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
2


Message from France:
British die rolls of 2
338 4/30/2017 3:47:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

1
6
4
2


Message from France:
French Die rolls of 4
337 4/30/2017 3:46:00 PM 1807-1808 France Spain: Play Strategy card as Event #7: 4 / Minor Forces
Place two Units of an Associate Duchy in that Duchy. They attack any non-friendly Formations present without evasion and before any interception is attempted.

Message from France:
As event in Rome FR +2 appear in Rome
336 4/30/2017 3:20:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Spain
335 4/30/2017 3:20:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Turkey: Play Strategy card as Operations #52: 5 / Crown Prince Bernadotte
Replace Gustavus with a Swedish Unit and Bernadotte or place them in Stockholm if Gustavus is not in play. Sweden is Unaligned. A Neutral playing this card on Turn 3 or later must play it as an event.

Message from Britain:
1-4 Yusuf +4 convoy Constant to Naples

5 SQ Black Sea to Ionian
334 4/30/2017 3:20:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Cash the +1

Build 1

n Bulow +12
333 4/30/2017 3:19:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Prussia: Play random Strategy card #23: 3 / Twelve-Pounders

Message from Britain:
332 4/30/2017 3:19:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Play Strategy card as Event #10: 4 / Palace Intrigue
Void any nation's unplayed Reserve fo the rest of the Turn. A targeted nation with two unplayed Reserves may choose the one thus affected.

Message from Britain:
Do this as my +

Void the Spanish reserve
331 4/30/2017 2:58:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Napoleon and crowd retreat to Munich
330 4/30/2017 2:57:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

4
6


Message from France:
Evade Roll at Linz

Thanks for checking on the casualties agree +10 Fr in Linz
329 4/30/2017 2:33:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Fight/evade?
328 4/30/2017 2:33:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Play Strategy card as Operations #24: 4 / March to the Guns
A non-neutral Formation of your choice adjacent to a battle moves to the contested space. This additional Formation joining the battle could trigger attrition/terrain penalties.

Message from Britain:
1-4 Kut_6, Bag+6, Ben +3, Ferd+3 to Linz

Kut 3
Rus 17
Aus 4
NB 1 = 25

v
N4
French 11
Spanish 2
NB 2 = 19
327 4/30/2017 2:30:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Britain:
326 4/30/2017 2:29:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Britain:
325 4/30/2017 2:29:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Play Strategy card as Event #907: 6 / Holy Mother Russia
If Russia is not a Subject Neutral or in a Foreign War AND no enemy Forces are in a Russian Home Duchy: • draw two cards and play one of them, OR • Roll a die and gain a Resource if you roll less than the current Turn number. Otherwise, build Units equal to the roll. RESERVE

Message from Britain:
324 4/30/2017 2:29:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message 5 Unflag Vienna
6 Unflag Budapest
323 4/30/2017 2:29:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message I assume you kill 2Fr+3PSN, n N, Davout+10 FR, Cas +1 SPN

I must kill 1RU and 1AU

Ferd+3, Kut, Bag, ben +15
322 4/30/2017 2:27:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message So 5+3 v 2+3, or 2+5 after guard
321 4/30/2017 2:26:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message I see only 5 6s in the Allied roll?
320 4/30/2017 10:18:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message I assume 2 dead Austrians ?

Is Prussia Up?
319 4/30/2017 10:17:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Now that's allied hits of 6 - 3

To French of only 2 -5

well at least I avoided a route

3 dead SP and 3 dead FR

Back to Linz

n Nap Dav Cas +9 FR +1 SP
318 4/30/2017 10:13:00 AM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

5
2
2
5


Message from France:

317 4/30/2017 10:13:00 AM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Event #904: 5 / Napoleon
If Napoleon is present, you may commit the Imperial Guard after seeing all other battle dice. Roll four more battle dice. Besides inflicting hits, rally a disrupted French Unit for each "4" rolled by the extra dice. Only Napoleon's presence at some point during the battle is required, not his well-being. RESERVE

Message from France:
316 4/30/2017 10:13:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Yuk that's allied hits of 6 - 3

To French of only 2 -3

I'll have to commit the guard
315 4/30/2017 10:11:00 AM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 23

4
3
3
3
3
3
4
5
2
2
5
4
4
3
2
3
4
3
3
5
6
4
6


Message from France:
French 23 rolls
314 4/30/2017 10:10:00 AM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 25

6
1
6
6
5
4
4
4
6
4
3
5
2
5
3
4
3
3
4
2
3
2
3
6
1


Message from France:
Allies Roll of 25


313 4/29/2017 4:20:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message 25v 23 now?

Any cards from you?

If not please resolve day 1
312 4/29/2017 4:19:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Britain:

311 4/29/2017 4:19:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Sweden: Play Strategy card as Event #79: 4 / Leader Wounded
A leader of your choice is affect by this die roll: 1-2: lose one battle die for this Impulse, 3-5: void Battle Rating for this Impulse, 6: leader eliminated. The affected leader cannot be replaced in a current battle by a subordinate. Already rolled battle-dice cannot be lost. An Army/Army Group whose Commander has lost his Battle Rating can still intercept/evade, but must do so without his leadership modifier.

Message from Britain:
It would be nice to still have had dysentery that I spent to keep Sweden but this may be helpful
310 4/29/2017 3:26:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message I must stand and fight
309 4/29/2017 3:25:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Gareth I have in Vienna on my map Napoleon, Davout, Cas +4 Spanish +12 FR so

4 for nap, 1 for davout, 1 fro Cas, +16 for the units +2 for National Benefit so 24
308 4/29/2017 3:22:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Ahhh forget that last stupid post from me ... I am the one who did not check the map !

307 4/29/2017 3:20:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Gareth you may want redo that I am not in Vienna Napoleon and Davout are in Linz I think we may have different maps right now !

Rod
306 4/29/2017 12:58:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Austria: Play Strategy card as Operations #901: 6 / Hussars and Grenzers
Only Austrian flages can be placed in Austria by CP expenditure until the next scheduled Austrian Impulse. Until then, all Austrian interceptions and evasions succeed - including one failed just prior to the play of this event. Any CP expenditure for a flag placement rejected by the play of this event is forfiet. RESERVE

Message from Britain:
1-4

Ferd+4
Kut +6
Bag+6
ben +4 to Vienna

leave 1 RU

2CP left

I think this is

Ferd 1
Aus 4
Rus 19
NB 1 = 25

v

N 4
French 13
Spanish 5
NB 2 = 24

This is why there are Army Group holding boxes...

Fight/evade?
305 4/29/2017 12:56:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message You see I still need to get you out of Vienna, because Capitulation might be out there

And there's at 5 reasons I wanted to keep Sweden, 3 of which you haven't seen yet
304 4/29/2017 12:48:00 PM 1807-1808 France France: Give random Strategy card to Austria Message from France:
Rats !!
303 4/29/2017 12:09:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Yes, as France you normally have more cards than anyone else so can pre-empt, but may have fewer cards overall.

The coalition can afford to trade Ops and Units at 1:1, so France has to try to get defeats in detail and/or leverage their early advantage

There's some very interesting dynamics at work
302 4/29/2017 11:55:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Your card dominance is going to kill me I think .... effect of the diplomacy .. interesting ... I can see why it was so valuable to keep Sweden
301 4/28/2017 8:04:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message I will see what I get, I may +
300 4/28/2017 8:04:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Austria: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Britain:
299 4/28/2017 8:04:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message You want the:

•Give/Discard/Swap Random Card
298 4/28/2017 8:03:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Austria: Play Strategy card as Event #63: 6 / Malet's Conspiracy
Draw a random card from the French hand (if available) and one from the Draw Pile. Not playable by France as an event.

Message from Britain:
Card from France please
297 4/28/2017 8:02:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message 3 CP left

1 of 3 Flag Vienna
2 of 3 flag Budapest
3 of 3 flag Graz
296 4/28/2017 7:44:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message You have 3CP left
295 4/28/2017 7:44:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

4
5


Message from Britain:
Kutusov will attempt to go to Moravia
294 4/28/2017 7:42:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

1
4


Message from Britain:
Bag, Ben +10 intercept
293 4/28/2017 7:42:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message N 4
French 13
Spanish 5
NB 2 = 24
v
Kut 3
Rus 6
Aus 5
NB 1 = 15
292 4/28/2017 7:41:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message You flagged Salzburg under attrition at the end of last turn, so 3CP left
291 4/28/2017 7:40:00 PM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #66: 6 / Europe Exhausted
You have six CPs. Modify this turn's Peace die roll by adding a number equal to the current Turn number. Must be played as an event. Return to the deck after the Peace die roll.

Message from France:
1 of 6 Flag Salzburg

2-4 Nap Davout Cas +12 FR and 4 SP to Vienna

Intercept or Evade ?
290 4/28/2017 5:08:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message That's expensive, but I will keep Swweden
289 4/28/2017 5:08:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #45: 4 / Dysentery
All Forces of one side in a battle space suffer Attrition before a declared battle. Any losses inflicted count as battle losses in the upcoming battle.

Message from Britain:
288 4/28/2017 5:08:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #903: 6 / Admiralty
Britain draws two cards if its Fleets control six Zones at the start of its Impulse. Voided by Bey of Algiers or if Britain is a Subject Neutral. RESERVE

Message from Britain:
287 4/28/2017 5:08:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Turkey: Change Nation Owner to Britain Message from Britain:
286 4/28/2017 5:07:00 PM 1807-1808 France Prussia: Change Nation Owner to Neutral Message from France:
285 4/28/2017 5:06:00 PM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Event #53: 6 / Royal Wedding
Move any Consul two boxes on Diplomatic Track. Not applicable to Turkish Consul. May break Pact status. Not playable in 1805.

Message from France:
Preempt Austria I am breaking Sweden's Pact status and sending it back to Britain Aide

If I am reading the rules correctly you might now be able to try to counteract this.

However it's still my turn as I am going to use one of my reserves
284 4/28/2017 11:23:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #902: 5 / Parliament
Britain gets 1 CP to spend and chooses another nation not in the Imperial Camp to draw a card unless Britain is a Subject Neutral. RESERVE

Message from Britain:
Turks to pact

Response or preempt Austria?
283 4/28/2017 11:23:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #94: 4 / Early Snowfall
Playable only as a nation's last card. All card CP values (except those generated by events) are reduced by one. Announced CP expenditures which cannot be completed as a result of snowfall are forfeit. Extended Campaign event may not occur during this event. Ends Mud event.

Message from Britain:
Turks to partner
282 4/28/2017 11:22:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message I think 5 is correct
281 4/28/2017 11:21:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message You n eded to go to Nations Overview and and them neutral.

You can do so now, but they will then draw different cards
280 4/28/2017 11:04:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message I think I was correct in only drawing 5 for France not 6 but please double check
279 4/28/2017 11:03:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Britain up I believe
278 4/28/2017 11:03:00 AM 1807-1808 France Draw Strategy cards Dealt 2 to Spain
277 4/28/2017 11:03:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Never mind I found it
276 4/28/2017 11:02:00 AM 1807-1808 France Draw Strategy cards Dealt 2 to Prussia
275 4/28/2017 11:01:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Hmmm I am not seeing Prussia only Turkey and Denmark for card draw

Did Prussia already draw somehow ?
274 4/28/2017 11:01:00 AM 1807-1808 France Draw Strategy cards Dealt 5 to France
Dealt 2 to Turkey
Dealt 1 to Denmark
273 4/28/2017 6:49:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Sent you a message with in instructions
272 4/27/2017 6:02:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Hell sorry thought I knew how to do this but I guess I don't ... frustrating ...(I should wait longer after coming home from work) !

It's fine, this was a hard coded Acts module so it has some quirks different to the others
271 4/27/2017 6:00:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Send them neutral again

When you draw cards for France you should see a message that you also draw cards for the neutrals

When you do, change Prussia to 2
270 4/27/2017 5:59:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Hell sorry thought I knew how to do this but I guess I don't ... frustrating ...(I should wait longer after coming home from work) !
269 4/27/2017 5:58:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message No, not that way
268 4/27/2017 5:58:00 PM 1807-1808 France Prussia: Change Nation Owner to France Message from France:
267 4/27/2017 5:58:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message I did all the neutrals from 230 onwards, so they are ready

You agree Lannes has no Spanosh with him?


Otherwise you are good to draw

I believe France will get 5 as you gave one up, and Prussia should get 2
266 4/27/2017 5:57:00 PM 1807-1808 France Prussia: Change Nation Owner to France Message from France:
265 4/27/2017 5:56:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Thanks for your patience Gareth so what builds are left / Only Prussia > (I lose the string on this because of the episodic nature of internet play)

I thought we were ready for the Brit turn
264 4/27/2017 5:51:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message and Genoa is Soult, Massena, Murat +7
263 4/27/2017 5:49:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Ah yes of course Soult could only move 6 so Bordeaux is 1 SQ and +2 ....
262 4/27/2017 5:46:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Part of strategy, especially late in the turn, is manipulating who gets to go last and setting up for deployment

For instance, if you had a leader in Salzburg I would not be able to deploy through Dalmatia
261 4/27/2017 5:45:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message And I love this italian move on your part .. I will confess I did not under stand why you moved the Swedes to Finland ... now I do !!

++++++++

Some people like to try to send them West to link up with the Brits, I prefer to send them to help the Austrians, even in a multi-layer game
260 4/27/2017 5:43:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Lannes is in Gibralter with +3 FR and +1 SP he is not in Genoa

Agree Gibralter but only 3FR there, one SPN died on the second siege day
259 4/27/2017 5:42:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message also have Rotterdam +2 not +1

Rott is 2 Units and 1 SQ

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations