Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

For the People: Rebel Without A Clause Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
68 6/1/2017 2:24:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Agreed on the no-Optional Rules.

67 6/1/2017 2:24:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message I only had a single 3 card, but had a couple of 2's…good enough to move guys (except slow-poke Polk), and my only 1 was that awesome Intercept card.
I wonder what my next hand will look like...
66 6/1/2017 2:13:00 PM Master ID = 21696 Game Deleted
65 6/1/2017 2:11:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Let me end this game, re-set our forces and I'll start a game under the name Rebel Without A Clause II.
64 6/1/2017 2:10:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Play Strategy card as Operations #130: 3 / Union Siege Guns
Union plays card at beginning of a battle (or Amphibious Assault) that has a Confederate fort present and cancels Confederate fort die roll modifier in the battle. Remove from deck if event is played. Draw a strategy card.

Message from Union:
Here's my last card. I had three 3 OC cards in my hand and got way too excited by it!
63 6/1/2017 2:09:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message I had forgotten the rule that if the defender "wins" the battle (which I would have if you had rolled a 1 through 3) but is eliminated, the attacker can continue moving if the force started the battle with the 2:1 ratio so you had a 100% chance of taking DC! I am ashamed of myself for forgetting this and wish to concede victory to you and re-start!!
62 6/1/2017 2:07:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Agreed. The die roller favored the South, no doubt about it.
We will restart.
My day has changed a bit, so I can continue playing (going to Costco with ex to help carry stuff, but she has headache right now).
What was your last card?
61 6/1/2017 2:03:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Well you won the battle in Harper's Ferry due to the 1* on the CRT. The * means the defender loses the battle with tied losses. And as stated, you can continue to move because you entered the battle with a 2:1 or higher force ratio.
60 6/1/2017 2:01:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message It appears the dice roller for FTP likes you!

You have won the battle and my SP is gone. Since you had a 2:1 advantage, you may continue moving and cause DC to displace. This is a -30 penalty to me which means you have already won the 1861 scenario. I was definitely foolish in my moves! I suggest you allow Mr. Lincoln to gracefully concede the South's right to secede, we will withdraw all forces from gray spaces and re-start the game!!
59 6/1/2017 2:00:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message A few things are starting to seep into my brain…
1SP loss to both of us.
58 6/1/2017 1:58:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from Confederate:
Battle die roll, +3.
57 6/1/2017 1:57:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message I inflict 1SP damage to your force.
56 6/1/2017 1:56:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Union:
Battle of Harper's Ferry Union roll.
55 6/1/2017 1:56:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message You are +3 due to force ratio and general's rating. I'm +0.
54 6/1/2017 1:53:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message My apologies -- battle in Harper's Ferry, it is.
Small battle, 3 vs 1.
53 6/1/2017 1:50:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message I left an SP in Harpers Ferry to try to block this move. We have a battle there.
52 6/1/2017 1:49:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Operations #2: 2 / Copperheads
Reduce Union SW by two points, or place two PC markers in Ohio (must be placed in spaces free of Union SPs).

Message from Confederate:
Played for OC
Corps movement
Johnstone/Manassas will circle the Union army and capture Washington from the rear…I hope…since he can't be intercepted…I think.
Johnstone/Manassas -> Strasburg, up the valley to Chamberburg, Gettysburg, Baltimore and…march into Washington?
51 6/1/2017 1:47:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message No optional rules it is. I don't mind not using them at all! I will miss trying to get McClellan into the AotP but its one less thing to worry about.
50 6/1/2017 1:45:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message If I remember correctly, we were planning on no optional rules.
But I'm more than willing to add any of them.

I again think you for your patience and helpfulness, as this is my "learn as I go" game.
49 6/1/2017 1:41:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Are we using any of the optional rules? Rule 5.67 about special generals and the Ops Queue rule come to mind. There might be one or two others. I don't mind either way and have rarely used the Ops Queue system. The main advantage in the rules is that McClellan becomes a pretty good general around DC. Also Forrest and Sheridan can be 2SP cav forces or not.
48 6/1/2017 1:36:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Well you are getting a pretty good workout on the rules!

Anyway, now it's your play with your last card from your hand.
47 6/1/2017 1:35:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message In most situations the commander of an Army cannot die - only happens to him if he's the only general in the army. Otherwise it's randomized amongst his subordinates. In the case of a Corps, all generals are eligible to die and it's randomized.
46 6/1/2017 1:35:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Die roll request Request: 2-sided die x 1

2


Message from Confederate:
1, Johnstone goes
2. Beauregard goes
45 6/1/2017 1:33:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message You don't lose the commander, you randomize between the two generals there with a d2 or such.
44 6/1/2017 1:32:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from Confederate:
Roll to lose commander.
43 6/1/2017 1:31:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message McDowell dies. Note that the AotP is now under a "generic general" which is 3 Strategy 0/0 attack/defense rating general.
42 6/1/2017 1:30:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from Union:
The General Casualty rules are in 7.7 of the rules. I lose a general on a 1, you (the roller of the 10) lose a general on a roll of 1 through 3. This is my roll for McD.
41 6/1/2017 1:27:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message You inflicted 3SP damage to me. AotP loses the battle and retreats to Frederick, MD with 2SP left. Note that you rolled a modified 10 so we have potential leader loss. I have to go check the rules.
40 6/1/2017 1:27:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Oh, so the die roller is up to her old tricks, again.
39 6/1/2017 1:26:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from Confederate:
Rebels fire back.
38 6/1/2017 1:24:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message I inflict 1SP loss on your force.
37 6/1/2017 1:23:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from Union:
My dr for the First Manassas/Bull Run battle, +1drm.
36 6/1/2017 1:22:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Event #8: 1 / 3 Cigars
Play this card to make an automatic one or two space interception. Intervening space must be friendly controlled and free of enemy SPs. The intervening space may be the one just exited by the moving enemy force. No Generals or SPs may be picked up or dropped off during intercept.

Message from Confederate:
Wanted to make sure that I was doing things correctly before I clicked and officially used card.
Thanks for helping a newbie.
35 6/1/2017 1:21:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Actually the interception will give you a +4 in the battle due to JJ's defense and +2 for interception!
34 6/1/2017 1:19:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message I think you have to click on the Card #8 as an Event to allow the game system to track cards.
33 6/1/2017 1:17:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Actually I won't be able to use the last MP to convert the space as I don't have a 2:1 advantage in strength at the beginning of battle so even if I win, my move is over.
32 6/1/2017 1:14:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Yes, you can do the interception with that card. It will give you a +2 in the battle as J. Johnston's Defense Rating is a 2 and he's the senior general (the little blue number is 8 while Beauregard is 5). Also I think his interception might make him the senior general but would have to research that.

Again, you are giving up last card play so if you wish to change the play you may. I'll wait a minute to roll for the battle.
31 6/1/2017 1:11:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Let me look at #8. Note that if you play this card it will give me last card play of the turn.

Union SW starts on minus side and CSA starts on plus side so no extra SW points lost for Red River.
30 6/1/2017 1:08:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message If Beauregard wishes to attempt to retreat before battle you would roll a d6 against his defense rating, needing a 1 to retreat (if you had a cav commander there it would succeed on a 1 through 3). There is no penalty for failing to retreat if you attempt it.
29 6/1/2017 1:06:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message And I've spent 5MPs so only 1 left. If I should win this battle I would use that last MP to convert Manassas (an ability of an Army to convert using MPs on the fly - Corps cannot do this). I wouldn't move with that last MP to an OOS situation at this point (might do so if the army was bigger).
28 6/1/2017 1:03:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message McDowell and the AotP with 3 SP (leaving DC empty for now but you can't cross the river directly into it), moves to Frederick, MD and then to Harper's Ferry (2MP) picking up 1SP there (now 4SP in AotP) leaving 1SP. McD marches back to Frederick, MD and picks up the SP there (5SP, 3MP) then moves into Manassas to attack Beauregard and his 3SP force.

I left the SP in Frederick my first time through so Beauregard couldn't intercept me there (a Corps move CAN freely move into and intercept into enemy hue spaces but not if they contain an SP).

As it stands, this is a Medium sized battle with McD getting a +1 for his Offense Rating and Beauregard getting a +1 for his Defense Rating. Beauregard can attempt to retreat before battle.
27 6/1/2017 12:59:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message I would like to play # 8 and have Johnston intercept/move to assist Beauregard.

re: fortune of war --- did yours just shift from + to - ?
Does that incur the extra penalty?
26 6/1/2017 12:57:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message I just realized there is no tracking button for our SW so we need to be careful on this. My current level is 95(-) after the failure to do the Red River Campaign. Your level is currently 100(+). Note is important to track the + and - directions as there are penalties and bonuses for when the fortunes of war shift.
25 6/1/2017 12:53:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Play Strategy card as Operations #14: 3 / Red River Campaign
May not be discarded by the Union. Union must use this card as an OC. If at the conclusion of movement, a Union SP is not on or adjacent to Grand Ecore, LA, then the Union loses 5 SW points. If a Union SP is in one of the objective spaces then a Union PC marker can immediately be placed to convert the space or spaces. Remove from deck if Union plays card.

Message from Union:
I have zero chance this turn of doing the Red River Campaign so I incur a -5 SW hit due to this wretched (for the Union) card.

Having said that, I will activate McDowell and the AotP and let's do Manassas/Bull Run. I will describe move in next message.
24 6/1/2017 12:50:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message My apologies - I was blind ad missed Polk being a 3.

I will use same card - place PC markers in Grafton and Franklin, WVA.
23 6/1/2017 12:47:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message But, again, I don't see your cards in the discard pile. There is one deck and one discard pile and I thought the rule was we could look through the discard pile. Maybe not?

rand=hand....we're not doing South African currency speculation here...
22 6/1/2017 12:41:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message If you want to play a different card I think there is a button to allow you to return that card to you rand so feel free to re-do your play in any fashion you wish.
21 6/1/2017 12:39:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Polk's Strategy rating (think of it as initiative) is 3 so you need a 3OC card to activate him. You can use this 2OC card to activate any of your other leaders. The card OC value must be equal to or greater than the Strategy rating. Note my wretched generals who only move on 3's.
20 6/1/2017 12:34:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Operations #92: 2 / Baltimore Revolts
Confederate may place a friendly PC marker in Baltimore, MD, if the space is vacant.

Message from Confederate:
Played for OC.
Polk w/1SP in Memphis -> Humboldt, McKenzie (hi folks!), Dover, p/up 1 SP, -> Clarksville, Nashville p/up A. Johnston w/1 SP -> Bowling Green (drop off 1 SP), -> Labanon (drop off Johstone and 1 SP), -> Louisville and end (Polk with 1 SP).
19 6/1/2017 12:27:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message There's something strange going on with the system currently. The card you played #69 Gideon Welles, is not appearing in the discard pile at my end.
18 6/1/2017 12:24:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message A bit more comment on division type forces not being able to enter inherently enemy spaces (the gray spaces for Union and blue spaces for CSA) unless the space has a friendly PC marker in it. These divisional size forces (up to 3 SP with no leader) MAY enter friendly original color spaces even if they contain an enemy PC marker. Also, they can move by naval movement into enemy spaces due to the inherent naval leadership in the amphibious assault force. This is why my assault could enter the fort space on my first move.
17 6/1/2017 12:14:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message The implication of my last card is that in amphibious assaults on forts I get a +2 amphibious assault modifer and your forts will get a +2 AAM. These two will cancel each other for a net AAM of 0. There are other cards and effects that can contribute to AAM which can never be more than 3 one way or the other net (you can contribute more than 3 but the net always comes back to +3 drm for one of us). In that last assault if I had done this first you would have had a 1/6 chance of rolling a 1 and not causing me to lose the 1 SP.
16 6/1/2017 12:07:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Play Strategy card as Event #72: 2 / John Ericsson's Monitor Fleet
The Union Amphibious Assault modifier is increased by two.

Message from Union:
Darn, you got the best naval card in the deck...but this one is useful too. Play as an Event and increase Amphibious Assault Modifier to 2.

Over to you.
15 6/1/2017 12:04:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Note that the SP there is little threat to you currently other than already described. It can move on a naval move but not past the fort as it's not yet converted and I wouldn't want to give up taking the fort at the end of the turn by moving elsewhere. It can't move by land for two reasons - 1. No land connections between the fort and the land (only Fortress Monroe in VA is connected). 2. It has no leader and a "division", a group of SPs with no leader, cannot enter inherently-enemy spaces (gray spaces) unless they've got a friendly PC marker on them.
14 6/1/2017 12:03:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Operations #69: 3 / Gideon Welles, The Naval Program
The Union player may either increase the Blockade Level by one or increase the Amphibious Assault modifier by two.

Message from Confederate:
Played as OC - place fort in New Orleans.

Over to you.
Thanks for your commentary and hints, etc.
13 6/1/2017 12:00:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message I also have the ability to convert the fort by the play of a card for placing PC's as there is an in-supply infantry SP currently there. This is less efficient than waiting for auto-da-fe at the end of the turn but if there is a need to block CSA movements across the rivers it could happen.
12 6/1/2017 11:58:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message 1 SP there, 1 SP eliminated in the assault. Note that this result did not place a PC marker there so currently the fort is still gray and the Union is not asserting naval pressure up the Mississippi. At the end of the turn during the Political Control Phase the space will convert and get a Union PC as there will be an in-supply infantry PC in the space. At that instant naval pressure will be present all the way up the mighty Mississippi to Columbus where you have a fort. You will not be able to cross the river system anywhere except between Columbus, KY and Dover, TN inclusive. You can build a fort or place an ironclad to counter this.
11 6/1/2017 11:52:00 AM Spring 1861 Confederate Message No Storm cards in my hand.
So, the end result is what? 2 Union SP's in my backyard?
10 6/1/2017 11:44:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message If you have no reaction or rules issue, over to you.
9 6/1/2017 11:42:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Play Strategy card as Operations #20: 3 / Union Arms Production Delayed
Confederate removes two Union SPs (Confederate chooses). No more than one SP can be removed from a space and the SP cannot be the last SP in the space.

Message from Union:
I play this card as an OC and take 2 SP from the Army of the Potomac (now strength 3) and conduct and amphibious invasion of Forts St. Philip/Jackson.

I believe this is an automatic result unless you have a card that cancels the invasion (I think there is a storm card). In the assault, I get +4 for 2:0 which is greater than 5:1 so I automatically get a 1 or 1* result. You have +2 for the fort so you get a 1. Since there are no defenders left, even if I lose the battle the remaining Union SP gets to stay in the space.
8 6/1/2017 11:25:00 AM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Ha - our messages passed each other through the aether.

7 6/1/2017 11:24:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message Good morning, Johnny Reb. We shall see about our hands! I am here today and can start playing around 9 as I've just started my ABCs. You need to declare going first by the play of a Major or Minor Campaign card. Normally you will not want to do this as having last card play each turn is a major advantage for the South.
6 6/1/2017 11:23:00 AM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Greetings, Foe
I'm ready to start game, can maybe get through Turn 1 today.
I do not play a Campaign card, so you are free to play a card.
I have some errands today, and I have a new camera to learn about
5 5/30/2017 5:50:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message I think I got a decent hand (spoiler alert!)
Good luck to you.
4 5/30/2017 5:50:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Draw Strategy cards 4 cards drawn.

3 5/30/2017 5:47:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Draw Strategy cards 4 cards drawn.

2 5/30/2017 5:47:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Thanks for setting up game.
1 5/30/2017 5:23:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message Our game is now set up and ready to go. If you wish you can draw cards now and if you do so, I will too. We only get four cards each on T1. Note that this a Campaign Game with the 2006 Edition of the twenty extra cards.

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations