Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Napoleonic Wars: Turning Europe Off And On Again Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
501 8/18/2017 5:44:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message That is correct. But it's 4 and 4 rather than 2 and 2 if the port is a fortress.
500 8/18/2017 4:16:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Yeah, the rulebook was slightly confusing on port battles. It said 2 dice for pre-battle, and 2 more for the port during combat.
499 8/18/2017 12:41:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Oh you did that right I see now.
498 8/18/2017 12:41:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Also disrupts in fleet battles still remove 1 dice from the opposing side in a future round.
497 8/18/2017 12:37:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Fortresses have 4 dice for shore batteries and not 2.

You can go back into Brest if you want but you can make a difference move also, whatever you want.
496 8/18/2017 12:35:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message "My troop retreats to the only British space left in Ireland. I can't see what the name is on my phone image. "

There was no troop left to retreat since I had a 3-casualty advantage and the rout turned my 5 into a 6. File uploaded.
495 8/18/2017 7:43:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Can you upload your move file?
494 8/17/2017 3:43:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message 2 cp- move squadron in English channel to N Atlantic
3-5 cp- move Moore and his troops to the English space in Ireland
493 8/17/2017 3:35:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Play Strategy card as Event #38: 2 / Boarding Action
Convert an enemy Squadron eliminated in this battle to a Squadron of the opposing Fleet's color in Regroup if it has a Squadron available to build.

Message from Britain:
Regardless of what happens in Brest, I am playing this in favor of Britain.
492 8/17/2017 3:34:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message We tie again. Does that mean neither fleet is eliminated?
491 8/17/2017 3:30:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

3
1
5


Message from Britain:
French (4 minus 1 disrupt)
490 8/17/2017 3:29:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

5
3
2


Message from Britain:
British
489 8/17/2017 3:29:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Well fucking fuck. I lose 2, and you lose one. Second round of combat ensues...
488 8/17/2017 3:25:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 6

3
6
6
3
2
2


Message from Britain:
2 French ships and shore battery
487 8/17/2017 3:24:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 9

6
1
3
2
4
5
1
3
3


Message from Britain:
English dice
486 8/17/2017 3:23:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

1
3


Message from Britain:
Shore battery
485 8/17/2017 3:23:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #52: 5 / Crown Prince Bernadotte
Replace Gustavus with a Swedish Unit and Bernadotte or place them in Stockholm if Gustavus is not in play. Sweden is Unaligned. A Neutral playing this card on Turn 3 or later must play it as an event.

Message from Britain:
I'll go ahead and start my move and make a file later.
1 cp- drove refit marker from ship in port and move it out to the English channel
1.5 cp- my 3 ships in Biscay are going to cop a feel on Brest. I will assume no card play from you since that would once again give Russia preempt ability, and you used your resource to avoid that on your impulse.
484 8/17/2017 3:11:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message My troop retreats to the only British space left in Ireland. I can't see what the name is on my phone image.
483 8/17/2017 3:09:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 5

3
2
1
1
2


Message from Britain:
British dice
482 8/17/2017 3:08:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 9

2
6
5
1
6
4
4
1
2


Message from Britain:
French dice
481 8/17/2017 9:12:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Damnit. 1 Spanish eliminated. British gain 1 due for the elimination, making it 9-5.
480 8/17/2017 9:11:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
4


Message from Britain:
Spanish attrition
479 8/17/2017 9:11:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

2
5
4
3


Message from Britain:
French attrition
478 8/17/2017 9:09:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Event #78: 3 / Turncoats
Enemy suffers Attrition before battle. Leaders are not subject to this Attrition even if being used as Units. Each enemy loss gives you one extra battle die throughout the upcoming battle.

Message from Britain:
Dealt this twice in a row. Hopefully it's useful...
477 8/17/2017 1:57:00 AM 1807-1808 France France: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from France:
Using the Resource
476 8/17/2017 1:57:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Actually that's kind of scary - France is burning their resource to draw a card.

I'm already not playing a card for the Dublin battle before or after, so I'll go ahead and draw now.
475 8/17/2017 1:56:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message (also note: Russia currently has preempt if they want to jump ahead of Britain or Austria)
474 8/17/2017 1:55:00 AM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #79: 4 / Leader Wounded
A leader of your choice is affect by this die roll: 1-2: lose one battle die for this Impulse, 3-5: void Battle Rating for this Impulse, 6: leader eliminated. The affected leader cannot be replaced in a current battle by a subordinate. Already rolled battle-dice cannot be lost. An Army/Army Group whose Commander has lost his Battle Rating can still intercept/evade, but must do so without his leadership modifier.

Message from France:
1-3: Soult/3 in Paris move Champagne -> Lorraine -> Baden.
4: Lannes/4-French/2-Spanish attack Cork -> Dublin

since I'm > 50% French I do get the 2 bonus dice, making it 10:4 right now. no cards.
473 8/17/2017 1:54:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Builds 1 in Copenhagen, gets a +1 marker.
472 8/17/2017 1:46:00 AM 1807-1808 France Denmark: Play random Strategy card #39: 3 / Stragglers

Message from France:
Sweden turns in +1 marker and builds 2.

Denmark plays randomly.
471 8/17/2017 1:45:00 AM 1807-1808 France Sweden: Play random Strategy card #23: 3 / Twelve-Pounders

Message from France:
Sweden plays randomly
470 8/17/2017 1:44:00 AM 1807-1808 France Spain: Play Strategy card as Operations #910: 5 / Peninusula Campaign
Roll a die. If your roll greater than the number of Enemy Forces in Spain, Lisbon, Oporto, and Gibraltar, draw two cards. You must play one of them. Otherwise, draw a card which you may play or keep. Not playable in 1805. RESERVE

Message from France:
1-3: 2 units convoy Galicia to Cork.
4-5: 2 units in Madrid move Rodrigo -> Galicia.
469 8/17/2017 1:41:00 AM 1807-1808 France Turkey: Play random Strategy card #106: 5 / Baltic Naval Stores

Message from France:
Prussia builds 2 in capital.

Turks play randomly.
468 8/17/2017 1:40:00 AM 1807-1808 France Prussia: Play random Strategy card #12: 4 / Royal Largesse

Message from France:
Prussia plays randomly
467 8/17/2017 1:37:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message "I also moved all the fleets that were sunk last turn back into the build pool."

Ah, good call. I thought of that during the night last night but then forgot again lol.
466 8/17/2017 1:35:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Side note: I hate when you are done peeing, but right when you zip/pull your pants back up a little extra late spurt occurs. :( grrr
465 8/17/2017 1:29:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message File uploaded. Back to you.
464 8/17/2017 1:24:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message I also moved all the fleets that were sunk last turn back into the build pool.
463 8/17/2017 1:22:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

6
3
4


Message from Britain:

462 8/17/2017 1:21:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Play Strategy card as Event #61: 2 / Fire Ships
Each blockaded Squadron in a Port of your choice rolls a die: 6-sunk, 5-damaged. Mark each damaged Squadron with a Naval Build marker. Any Squadron already under a Refit/Build marker which is damaged is sunk instead. A -1 modifier applies to a Fortress. A +1 modifier applies to Refit or Naval Builds.

Message from Britain:
Play on Brest
461 8/17/2017 1:20:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Play Strategy card as Operations #14: 4 / Depot Captured
Any nation that has Flagged or unflagged an enemy Capital or Fortress (including its own while under enemy control) during this Impulse draws a card plus another for each Capital or Fortress so gained.

Message from Britain:
move Turkey's political marker to friend +1
460 8/17/2017 1:18:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Britain:
card 2
459 8/17/2017 1:18:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Britain:
card 1
458 8/17/2017 1:18:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Russia: Play Strategy card as Event #907: 6 / Holy Mother Russia
If Russia is not a Subject Neutral or in a Foreign War AND no enemy Forces are in a Russian Home Duchy: draw two cards and play one of them, OR Roll a die and gain a Resource if you roll less than the current Turn number. Otherwise, build Units equal to the roll. RESERVE

Message from Britain:
457 8/17/2017 1:15:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Succeeds.
456 8/17/2017 1:15:00 AM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
3


Message from France:
evading to Prague
455 8/17/2017 1:06:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Austria: Play Strategy card as Operations #82: 5 / Scarce Supplies
All Units/leaders in play in excess of nine per Duchy Regroup regardless of nationality. The Leaders/Units removed are chosen by the Commander of the affected Duchies.

Message from Britain:
Since there aren't huge French armies anywhere...

1-3 cp- regroup 3 troops into Linz
4-5 cp- move 2 full armies into Vienna
Charles- 6 troops
John- 2 troops, 2 leaders
14 dice total for me
454 8/17/2017 1:03:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Ok file submitted, only thing I forgot to do was to move the Reserve markers down on the movement track but that's not a big deal, I just find it easier b/c the TNW ACTS doesn't use the HIS method of Home Card / Reserves, so you can't look at cards per nation to see who has preempt and that way I don't have to look through the log to see which of your guys has played which Reserves or vise versa.
453 8/17/2017 1:01:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Ok with my last CP I move Prussia up to French Friend.
452 8/17/2017 12:59:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Duh. Forgot the kills.
451 8/17/2017 12:58:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message You had 13 troops. 3 died. 5 went to regroup.
450 8/17/2017 12:56:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message So I should have 4 leaders and 8 troops in Linz after retreat.
449 8/17/2017 12:54:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Ah, I thought I was doing that in my file, so I didn't bother stating it. Everyone retreats to Linz.
448 8/17/2017 12:54:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message My turn is not over.
447 8/17/2017 12:53:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Since you haven't finished making your file, yet, I will go ahead and move. It involves me ending on Vienna, so I'll let you decide avoid battle or not, which you probably will.
446 8/17/2017 12:52:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message I just need retreat orders for the Austrian force

445 8/17/2017 12:52:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message Ah yes, what do you know, it helps to read the actual card....
444 8/17/2017 12:51:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message It sounds to me like it's only from CP flag placement.

"Only Austrian flages can be placed in Austria by CP expenditure until the next scheduled Austrian Impulse. Until then, all Austrian interceptions and evasions succeed - including one failed just prior to the play of this event. Any CP expenditure for a flag placement rejected by the play of this event is forfiet."

443 8/17/2017 12:49:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message FWIW I think even if I had gotten a flag overrun your Reserve still blocks it from happening because the card overrides the rules.
442 8/17/2017 12:47:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message My file isn't finished. I submitted right when you played your reserve and then I said I'd fix it.
441 8/17/2017 12:43:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Not sure how you flagged Austria. It wasn't an overrun, so I don't see a reason why after reading the rulebook surrounding Routs and Retreats. It does mention flag placement on overruns but not for routs. I will take it off in my move file, and if it should be on there, you can tell me why and put it back in your file.
440 8/17/2017 12:17:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message No need to roll for loot then. Napoleon now left with 5 units. The combined Austrian Leadership Team also left with 5 units. Let me know where you retreat to, and if you need any extra info on how regroup works.

Basically everything there - squadrons, leaders, or units - builds for 1 CP each and can go in any controlled *home* duchy / unblockaded port. For some sides it's good to keep a few in the regroup box to build in an emergency or in a brand new location, but for Austria you probably just want to toss them back onto the board quickly.
439 8/17/2017 12:05:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Austria: Play Strategy card as Event #109: 5 / Scum of the Earth
All Units/leaders lost due to disruption in a Rout (not those killed by 6's) are sent to Regroup instead of being eliminated. Any Resource ained by this Rout is lost.

Message from Britain:
My 5 troops are sent to regroup instead of being eliminated. Once again...

FUCK THESE DICE
438 8/16/2017 10:12:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message I inflict 2 more disrupts and reduce one of yours.

So it's now 3K/5D vs 2K/3D which would turn into a rout unless you have a card to change that.
437 8/16/2017 10:11:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
5
1
5


Message from France:

436 8/16/2017 10:11:00 PM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Event #904: 5 / Napoleon
If Napoleon is present, you may commit the Imperial Guard after seeing all other battle dice. Roll four more battle dice. Besides inflicting hits, rally a disrupted French Unit for each "4" rolled by the extra dice. Only Napoleon's presence at some point during the battle is required, not his well-being. RESERVE

Message from France:
Ok, screw it, I'm going all-in here.
435 8/16/2017 9:02:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message So looks like I got 3K/3D and you got 2K/4D which would send it to the next round. I really don't want to lose both reserves and preempt all on the first play but I might need to do it. I'll look at the board in a couple of hrs and decide.
434 8/16/2017 8:58:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message No but I'm pretty sure I only got 13 dice so my last hit doesn't count. Attacker must go back to where they came from. Defender can split any way they wish, I believe, but take attrition if they retreat to an enemy space.
433 8/16/2017 8:14:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Do my men have to retreat from the space they came from?
432 8/16/2017 8:13:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Fucking dice.
France- 3H 4D
Austria- 2H 4D
You win by 1. I'll wait for you in case you want to play your royal guard.
431 8/16/2017 8:11:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 19

3
1
5
5
1
6
3
5
2
6
4
1
3
1
5
2
3
2
3


Message from Britain:
France gets 4H, 3D
Now for my 19 dice
430 8/16/2017 8:10:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 14

3
5
2
6
6
4
1
4
6
1
5
3
5
6


Message from Britain:
Attackers' (French) dice first.
429 8/16/2017 8:05:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message I was more asking as an fyi. That just fucking sucks, but I want to fight France with all my armies. Did I count correclty?
Me- 19
You- 14
428 8/16/2017 8:02:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Yes, because Austria's "scheduled impulse" happens next.

If that changes your mind on playing H&G, no problem. I'm leaving work and will be afk for a few hours but I'll be back on tonight.
427 8/16/2017 8:00:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message When you pre-empt someone, does it still count as their impulse? In other words, does my home card only last until I play my card after your move is finished?
426 8/16/2017 7:59:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message No pre-battle cards.
425 8/16/2017 7:59:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Easy enough to undo. I will have 1 CP left after this battle but it cannot be used to flag anything.

Right now it stands at 13 dice for me:
7 units
4 Napoleon
2 national

You I believe have 19
13 units
3 sub leaders
2 Charles
1 national
424 8/16/2017 7:58:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Are you playing any cards? I count 19 Austrian dice and 14 French dice.
423 8/16/2017 7:57:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Oh crap hang on I just submitted file lol.
422 8/16/2017 7:57:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Assume you don't intercept with the 4 guys in Linz and I flag Vienna.
421 8/16/2017 7:56:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Austria: Play Strategy card as Operations #901: 6 / Hussars and Grenzers
Only Austrian flages can be placed in Austria by CP expenditure until the next scheduled Austrian Impulse. Until then, all Austrian interceptions and evasions succeed - including one failed just prior to the play of this event. Any CP expenditure for a flag placement rejected by the play of this event is forfiet. RESERVE

Message from Britain:
Oh wait, I forgot this is a response card. FUCK ME IN THE ASS. I'll fight you in Vienna with all 4 armies surrounding Vienna since all intercepts succeed.
420 8/16/2017 7:54:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Of course I don't make it because dice hate me ever since Saturday.
419 8/16/2017 7:54:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

1
3


Message from Britain:
Intercept from Graz to Vienna. +2 from Charles and +1 for friendly space. No negative modifier since it's not a pass, marsh, or strait.
418 8/16/2017 7:50:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message I was gonna ask whose rulebook we were playing by if you could flag Lublin. lol
417 8/16/2017 7:50:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Oh, fuck me silly, Krakow not Lublin. Argh sorry. :o
416 8/16/2017 7:50:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message I think you're talking about Krakow, not Lublin. You're not adjacent to Lublin.
415 8/16/2017 7:49:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Ah yes, sorry, that's 5.
1 flag Prague
2 move to Moravia
3 flag Moravia
4 flag Lublin
5 move to Vienna
414 8/16/2017 7:49:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Then how do you flag Lublin?
413 8/16/2017 7:48:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message I flagged Prague from Prague, then moved to Moravia, and then flagged Moravia and Lublin from there (I cannot flag Lublin from Moravia unless I control Moravia).

I think I accidentally cost myself 1 too few CPs.
412 8/16/2017 7:47:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message No. I cannot flag Warsaw either (unless a lucky event lets me do it) b/c that would start a war with Prussia.
411 8/16/2017 7:43:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message You can flag from Warsaw even though it's not "yours"?

God, this game and HIS are nothing alike.
410 8/16/2017 7:40:00 PM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #108: 6 / Burnt Earth
If there are enemy Fcorces in two or more of your Home Duchies you may play this card face up before you. Place four free Units in Regroup. All CP Flag placements (and removals) in your Home Duchies cost double while this event remains in play.

Message from France:
This looked amazing to hold as an event until I realized it only applies to home duchies.

1-3: flag Prague, move to Moravia with all, flag Lublin
4: Napoleon/7 move Moravia -> Vienna

multiple intercepts possible. Let's hope blowing most of my big load like this at the very start of the turn doesn't come back to bite me arse later on....
409 8/16/2017 7:35:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Interception would be begging for a rout, so I will not.
408 8/16/2017 7:35:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Interception would be begging for a rout, so I will not.
407 8/16/2017 7:33:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Napoleon/7 make it. Do you wish to intercept? (If not, don't play Austria yet - I used a + action for this so I may play a regular card still)

Also lol I just missed two rules at once. First I actually could have attempted to place the flag - but you could intercept and if you succeed, I lose the CP and you insta-remove the flag. I thought it wasn't allowed at all. The other is that I could have waited to roll the attrition until after you rolled the interception so you had to decide before seeing how much I did/didn't lose. Oh well.
406 8/16/2017 7:28:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 9

4
5
5
4
3
3
6
1
5


Message from France:
CP6: Napoleon/8 move Ratisbon over pass to Prague. Was hoping you'd fail intercept so I could flag Prague first. Now I take attrition for moving into enemy space over a pass. I am French so attrition losses are halved.
405 8/16/2017 7:24:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message No intercept to Ratisbon.
404 8/16/2017 7:18:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message I would have mentioned it sooner but I didn't notice it myself until the interphase.
403 8/16/2017 7:17:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message I really considered moving the fleet to the Channel and invading England. Disaster for you if it works, but disaster for me if I get thrown back into the sea and lose those guys for nothing (as it is I'm taking a risk moving them away from Central Europe).

That original plan is why I was hinting about refitting the fleet - but now in hindsight that wouldn't have mattered anyway.

Actually now that I think about it more, as a matter of principle it's probably good to always have 1 SQ in the Channel as England. Even if I come after it with my entire navy I still only have a little over 1/6th chance to find you on a given maneuver so I could waste an entire card searching - you can't invade where an enemy fleet is, period.
402 8/16/2017 7:13:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message I could've moved my fleet from N Atlantic to English channel last turn is what I'm saying. Ooh well. Can't fix it now.

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations