Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Napoleonic Wars: Make Europe Great Again Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
83 9/19/2017 1:00:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Message Britain, I will gladly give up a card for peace roll if you play Parliament for me this turn or next.
82 9/18/2017 7:13:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Nope. Britain is up.
81 9/18/2017 7:13:00 PM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from France:
Timed Event end?
80 9/18/2017 7:12:00 PM 1805-1806 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #8: 4 / Steal a March
This nation may Preempt unless doing so would give it consecutive Impulses. It may even Preempt an announced Preemption. It may spend 3 CP with this event in addition to possibly playing its Reserve. Not playable in 1805.

Message from France:
France with 4 CPs:

1) Lannes + 5U from Wurttemburg to Ratisbon.
2) Flag Linz.
3-4) Sweden to British Aide.

Timed Event roll coming...
79 9/17/2017 9:29:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Neutrals are out, so France up


Posting from work as I still have cat vomit on my router

78 9/17/2017 9:29:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Send 1 from MAO

Leaves 2
77 9/17/2017 1:32:00 PM 1805-1806 France Spain: Play Strategy card as Foreign War #75: 2 / Letters of Marque
Britain must instantly transfer one Squadron to this Foreign War card or lose its choice of a Resource, Reserve, or a random card. If no Squadron is transferred, the event remains in the game.

Message from France:
I think that's everybody, so Spain will now play Letters of Marque as the event - leaving Britain a decision to make.

"Britain must instantly transfer one Squadron to this Foreign War card or lose its choice of a Resource, Reserve, or a random card. If no Squadron is transferred, the event remains in the game."
76 9/17/2017 1:31:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Sorry I have internet issues at home
75 9/17/2017 1:30:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #65: 6 / Talleyrand
Move any Consul on the Diplomatic Track two boxes and add 1 to the Peace die roll this Turn. OR Add 2 to the Peace die roll this Turn. This event may break Pact status. Not playable in 1805.

Message from Britain:
I will voluntarily discard a 6 and pysch everyone out
74 9/17/2017 1:34:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Play Strategy card as Operations #41: 2 / Fog of War
Void a naval interception (even after failing a subsequent evasion attempt). Modify all further intercept attempts by -2 for the rest of this Impulse.

Message from Russia:
This is my discard
73 9/17/2017 1:34:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Return Strategy card to hand #41: 2 / Fog of War

Message from Russia:
72 9/16/2017 10:39:00 PM 1805-1806 Prussia Prussia: Play Strategy card as Operations #74: 4 / Turning Movement
One of your Armies may move two spaces without interception, Attrition or enemy evasion. It may pick up or drop off Units. Battle occurs only if you enter a space containing an enemy Formation. Turning Movement cannot occur through a Fortress or an enemy Formation unless that Formation is Overrun.

Message from Prussia:
Ok THIS is Prussia's Discard
71 9/16/2017 10:39:00 PM 1805-1806 Prussia Return Strategy card to hand #74: 4 / Turning Movement

Message from Prussia:
70 9/16/2017 10:39:00 PM 1805-1806 Prussia Discard Strategy card Message from Prussia:
This is Prussia'a Discard
69 9/16/2017 8:13:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message Austria's discard was:

2 / General Staff
All unled Units of a nation of your choice have intercept/evashion capability as if led by a "1-4" leader. Such units have the ability to place and prevent placement of Flags like an Army but do not constitute an Army for purposes of a possible Resource gain if routed.
68 9/16/2017 7:13:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Yeah, when you "discard" a card, you should actually play it so everyone can see what has been discarded. (France's discard was Platov's Cossacks; Spain's discard was Outflanked; if the two Daniels could confirm their discards as well, that'd be great.)
67 9/16/2017 6:05:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Message ... or the text of the cards discarded by everyone.
66 9/16/2017 2:28:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Discard Strategy card Message from Austria:
Austria discard.

Kind of dumb ACTS doesn't give us the text of the Drought event when the Turks play it, too.
65 9/16/2017 2:19:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Discard Strategy card Message from Russia:
64 9/16/2017 7:25:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message I'll pause to let you all make your own discards before continuing with Spain and then France.
63 9/16/2017 7:24:00 AM 1805-1806 France End Foreign War #89: 5 / Persian War

Message from France:
(Discarding - not an actual event, sadly.)
62 9/16/2017 7:24:00 AM 1805-1806 France Denmark: Play random Strategy card #89: 5 / Persian War

RED: Must be played as Event

Message from France:
Danish discard
61 9/16/2017 7:24:00 AM 1805-1806 France Sweden: Play random Strategy card #64: 5 / Call up the next class

RED: Must be played as Event

Message from France:
Swedish discard
60 9/16/2017 7:23:00 AM 1805-1806 France Turkey: Play random Strategy card #15: 2 / Cossacks or Azeris

Message from France:
Turkish discard
59 9/16/2017 7:23:00 AM 1805-1806 France Discard Strategy card Message from France:
And my Spanish discard.
58 9/16/2017 7:23:00 AM 1805-1806 France Discard Strategy card Message from France:
OK, then...everyone discards a card! Here's my French discard.
57 9/16/2017 7:20:00 AM 1805-1806 France Turkey: Play random Strategy card #6: 4 / Drought

RED: Must be played as Event

Message from France:
Proxy Turkish play
56 9/16/2017 7:20:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message ACTS generally isn't good about listing whether a card is a Timed Event or not - you need to keep the real-life deck handy, or at least a card manifest thereof.
55 9/14/2017 10:05:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message For some reason ACTS doesn't explicitly say TIMED EVENT on that card, but it is a timed event.


"All played timed events remain in effect until the end of the Turn or after a successful event removal die roll (whichever is first). At the end of every Impulse in which a Player Power is the Active player and has played at least one card a die is rolled if a timed event was in play at the start of that Impulse. If the result is a 6 the timed event is no longer active. If multiple timed events are in play, the Active player chooses which is removed. Only one event removal die roll is made per Impulse."
54 9/14/2017 8:11:00 PM 1805-1806 Prussia Message Die roll for ending armistice was 4 ... I really have no idea what that means based on reading the ACTS version of the card ?
53 9/14/2017 8:11:00 PM 1805-1806 Prussia Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Prussia:

Yes end of Prussian trun


DIE ROLL for armistice
52 9/14/2017 8:03:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message Is that the end of your turn? Needs a die roll for end of timed event (Armistice).
51 9/14/2017 7:52:00 PM 1805-1806 Prussia Prussia: Play Strategy card as Operations #92: 6 / Capitulation
A nation of your choice whose Capital is controlled surrenders immedately. Determine Duchies to be ceded with the normal Ceding die roll. Apply all Conquest consequences. Loss of both Capitals is required for Russian surrender. If no Capital or more than one nation's Capital is Enemy-controlled, a Neutral Proxy will not play this event.

Message from Prussia:
Build 3 units in Berlin

Berlin now 5U
50 9/14/2017 2:03:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message "Discarding this as requested...wasn't the deck automatically shuffled when HoR was played as the event?"

I don't think so based on experiments I did when it came up in a 2-player game a couple of weeks ago.

I still don't think the turn end trick works perfectly either, actually, since Armistice shouldn't have gotten shuffled in with the rest of the cards. So if anybody draws it this turn, they should discard it and re-draw.
49 9/14/2017 10:59:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Message Well then, I transfer my apologies to that statement, and request that you accept them now. 🤣
That makes Bagration, sub leader, and 4 units in Grodno.
48 9/14/2017 9:56:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Daniel - no apologies necessary...I'd hardly call that taking too long! However, for moves like this...

-------------
1-4 build 2 units in Grodno
-------------

...please be sure to specify who is in that space after the move is executed (i.e., Bagration, Konstantin + 4U). If people don't spell these things out, our boards are much more likely to diverge from each other, and that's no good for anyone or the game in general.
47 9/14/2017 9:06:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Message Armistice doesn't end. On to Prussia.

Sorry for taking long in this turn.
46 9/14/2017 9:06:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Russia:
Die roll for armistice
45 9/14/2017 9:05:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Play Strategy card as Operations #91: 5 / Egyptian Venture
TRADE CENTERS: Corfu, Malta, Western Med, Ionian Sea, Majorca, Corsica, Aegean Sea, Bergama. This nation has 1 CP for each Trade Center it controls. Gain a Resource if a die roll is less than the number of Trade Centers controlled by its Camp. Add 1 to the die roll for each Trade Center controlled by the Enemy Camp.

Message from Russia:
You are correct in that I have Bagration, sub leader, and 2 units in Grodno.

1-4 build 2 units in Grodno
4.5 Move squadrons in St. Petersburg to gulf of Bothnia
5 move squadron in Sevastapol to black sea
44 9/14/2017 8:50:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Russia:
Mother Russia 2
43 9/14/2017 8:50:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Russia:
Mother Russia 1
42 9/14/2017 8:49:00 AM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Play Strategy card as Event #907: 6 / Holy Mother Russia
If Russia is not a Subject Neutral or in a Foreign War AND no enemy Forces are in a Russian Home Duchy: draw two cards and play one of them, OR Roll a die and gain a Resource if you roll less than the current Turn number. Otherwise, build Units equal to the roll. RESERVE

Message from Russia:
41 9/14/2017 6:43:00 AM 1805-1806 France Discard Strategy card Message from France:
Discarding this as requested...wasn't the deck automatically shuffled when HoR was played as the event?

Agreed that Russia needs to declare his turn as being done and roll to see if the Timed Event ends before Prussia can continue.
40 9/13/2017 9:16:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message Are the Russians done (in which roll 1 die to see if Armistice ends) or were they possibly taking a + action pending how to handle the Rothschild reshuffle?
39 9/13/2017 9:15:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Discard Strategy card Message from Austria:
Discard for Rothschild workaround.
38 9/13/2017 9:15:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Change game turn Game turn changed to 1805-1806
37 9/13/2017 9:14:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria End Turn
36 9/13/2017 9:14:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message Should mean Baggy, Konstantin, 2 units left in Grodno.

The thing with House of Rothschild is we're now supposed to reshuffle the pile and there's no module control that does this. The only way I know of is to end the turn and them manually reset it back to turn 1. This fixes everything except it gives us our reserves back, so then France has to manually discard GDC and I have to discard H&G to get back to the right place. I'll go ahead and do it now.
35 9/13/2017 8:42:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Message All I have to do is play Rothschild as the event, right? I'm not sure and won't risk messing stuff up.
34 9/13/2017 8:39:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Play Strategy card as Event #4: 6 / House of Rothschild
Draw two cards. You must use one of them now. If played by a Neutral Proxy, it must play the first card drawn. Shuffle all discards - including this one - into the deck AFTER drawing two new cards and playing one of them.

Message from Russia:
33 9/13/2017 8:36:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Message Figuring out how to do Rothschild re-shuffle before I play my home card.
32 9/13/2017 8:33:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Play Strategy card as Operations #99: 5 / Venice
Gain CPs equal to a die roll. If France controls Venice, place an available French Squadron there under a Naval Build marker and remove this card from the game. A Neutral Proxy will play this event only if France controls Venice.

Message from Russia:
1- Bagration and 3U move to Grodno
2- Konstantin and 3U move to Grodno
3-5- Kutusov and 6 units move Lublin > Krakow > Moravia
31 9/13/2017 5:02:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Message I should've thought this through before doing drawing. I can't move until I get home because I don't know what units are where. My apologies.
30 9/13/2017 5:00:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Russia:
Rothschild #2.
29 9/13/2017 5:00:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Russia:
I have House of Rothschild. This is the first card draw.
28 9/13/2017 11:27:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message Russia is up.
27 9/13/2017 11:27:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Austria: Play Strategy card as Event #70: 4 / Armistice
Forces may not enter enemy Duchies. This does not prevent ongoing sieges or sea battles from occurring, nor the flagging/unflagging of an already occupied space. Voided by War Without End event.

Message from Austria:
Napoleon is set on fighting, but the rest of the French government isn't sure if they want total war... :)
26 9/13/2017 11:22:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Austria: Play Strategy card as Operations #901: 6 / Hussars and Grenzers
Only Austrian flages can be placed in Austria by CP expenditure until the next scheduled Austrian Impulse. Until then, all Austrian interceptions and evasions succeed - including one failed just prior to the play of this event. Any CP expenditure for a flag placement rejected by the play of this event is forfiet. RESERVE

Message from Austria:
2: build 1 in Venice now Charles/6
6: build 2 in Vienna now Ferdinand/6

Using as + action and then playing a card
25 9/13/2017 5:22:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #58: 2 / Bypass Stronghold
You may use two CPs to move your Formations past an enemy Fortress without stopping or Attrition subject to normal battle and interception requirements.

Message from Britain:
1) Inf Naples to Rome
2) Flag Rome

Done
24 9/13/2017 5:21:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Message I am posting from work right now

Hopefully they will fix my internet today
23 9/13/2017 5:20:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Message He says now he has taken France
22 9/13/2017 5:10:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message I'm happy with this being an AREA-rated game, btw.
21 9/13/2017 5:09:00 AM 1805-1806 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #905: 6 / Guerre de Course
One or two unblockaded (not Refitting) French Squadrons move Offboard to raid commerce. See Offboard Fleets on the Battleground display. British card losses never include Reserves or exceed Minimum Hand limits in the Interphase, but may include Resources. RESERVE

Message from France:
No attrition loss. I'll continue with this as a plus card, so 7 CPs remaining:

1) Lannes + 3U from Franche-Comte to Zurich.
2) Lannes + 5U from Zurich to Wurttemburg.
3-6) Napoleon + 8U from Artois to Zurich.
6.5) 2 Fr sqd + 1 Fr sqd from the South Atlantic to Cadiz.

I won't use the last Maneuver - Britain is up.
20 9/13/2017 5:04:00 AM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
5


Message from France:
I have 2U which needed to undergo attrition for having moved 5 spaces:
19 9/12/2017 6:10:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message Successful. Vienna now Ferdinand/4, Linz now Davout/6
18 9/12/2017 6:09:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
5


Message from Austria:
Ferdinand/3 attempt evasion to Vienna.
17 9/12/2017 6:08:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message Also, I should have mentioned this before we started, but I typically report my pickup games to AREA if everyone agrees. So I'd like to do that one for this one but if anybody has an objection then I will not do so (indeed AREA rules mandate it must be unanimous).
16 9/12/2017 6:07:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message "
(Note that I will always list any units/leaders left behind in a space when a move is made, and I will usually list any units/leaders joined in a space as well except in an instance like this where I'm picking everyone up and moving on. I'd encourage you guys to do the same, if you don't mind!) "

Yes, very good points.
15 9/12/2017 4:37:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Oh, and 2U will need to undergo attrition before any combat is resolved.
14 9/12/2017 4:34:00 PM 1805-1806 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #72: 6 / British Subsidies
Up to three nations of your choice in the Coalition Camp (excluding Britain) draw a card unless Britain is a Subject Neutral.

Message from France:
So I guess we're ready to start? I'll get this bad boy out of my hand straightaway...6 CPs:

1) 2U from Ardennes to Lorraine.
2) Davout + 4U from Lorraine to Baden.
3-4) Davout + 6U from Baden to Ratisbon.

Intercept? Assuming not, then:

5) Davout + 6U from Ratisbon to Linz.

Austria has options; France has 1 CP left.

(Note that I will always list any units/leaders left behind in a space when a move is made, and I will usually list any units/leaders joined in a space as well except in an instance like this where I'm picking everyone up and moving on. I'd encourage you guys to do the same, if you don't mind!)
13 9/12/2017 2:36:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message Keeping.

Don't worry, we'll probably all make at least one rules error during the game.
12 9/12/2017 2:20:00 PM 1805-1806 Prussia Message Keeping

By the way guys I haven't played since WBC ... rules are not solidly memorized .... so don't hesitate to point it out if I make a mistake and be assured if it happens it will not be out of carelessness
11 9/12/2017 2:17:00 PM 1805-1806 Prussia Draw Strategy cards Dealt 3 to Prussia
10 9/12/2017 1:56:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Draw Strategy cards Dealt 4 to Austria
9 9/12/2017 1:48:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Message Keeping
8 9/12/2017 1:47:00 PM 1805-1806 Russia Draw Strategy cards Dealt 3 to Russia
7 9/12/2017 7:51:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Message Keeping these
6 9/12/2017 7:50:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Draw Strategy cards Dealt 4 to Britain
5 9/12/2017 7:50:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Message Hello all
4 9/12/2017 7:17:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message No mulligans from France/Spain.
3 9/12/2017 7:17:00 AM 1805-1806 France Draw Strategy cards Dealt 2 to Spain
2 9/12/2017 7:16:00 AM 1805-1806 France Draw Strategy cards Dealt 6 to France
Dealt 2 to Turkey
Dealt 1 to Sweden
Dealt 1 to Denmark
1 9/11/2017 11:04:00 PM 1805-1806 Austria Message Greetings everyone. There wasn't a way to assign players to the game and then roll to pick sides so I just picked randomly based on everyone's preferences or lack thereof.

I figure we can all keep track of the game on our own and just be really clear about moves and then post our own side's forces at the end of each turn.

If everyone's ready to go we can being drawing cards and announcing mulligans or not.

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations