Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Napoleonic Wars: Struggling Thru Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
233 4/25/2018 10:22:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni, do you want Sweden to draw a card for British Subsidies?
Henry, does Britain want to preempt Turkey?
232 4/25/2018 8:59:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni,
Prussia is not in the coalition camp — but Sweden is.
231 4/25/2018 8:29:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Russia: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Austria:
card for Russia
230 4/25/2018 8:29:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Austria: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Austria:
card for Austria
229 4/25/2018 8:29:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Russia: Play Strategy card as Event #72: 6 / British Subsidies
Up to three nations of your choice in the Coalition Camp (excluding Britain) draw a card unless Britain is a Subject Neutral.

Message from Austria:
Russia: Event
Nations are Austria, Russia and Prussia
228 4/24/2018 2:59:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message no preempt from Britain

Russia up

227 4/23/2018 6:07:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Austria: Play Strategy card as Operations #93: 5 / Baltic Venture
TRADE CENTERS: Gulf of Bothnia, Baltic Sea, Nystadt, Straslund, Danzig, Riga, Sakggerak, Copenhagen. This nation has 1 CP for each Trade Center it controls. Gain a Resource if a die roll is less than the number of Trade Centers controlled by its Camp. Add 1 to the die roll for each Trade Center controlled by the Enemy Camp.

Message from Austria:
Ops
1) Charles and 4 units to Venice
2-5) 2 units built in Venice (now 6)
226 4/23/2018 6:04:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Austria: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Austria:
225 4/23/2018 6:04:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message as far I understand, the English ally is asking Austria to make an action.
So let's do it. I expend a resource and draw a card
224 4/22/2018 7:51:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Austria up — could expend Resource.
223 4/21/2018 11:12:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gentlemen, as we approach the end of the turn with an unusual distribution of cards — and remember Turkey still has one (coming from the deck) — I see a possible rules question that might come up regarding preemption, Resources, and consecutive impulses.
Right now is a perfect example, and it could also come up again later.
At the moment it is Austria's option to expend a Resource. If Austria doesn't expend a Resource, Austria didn't have an Impulse, and Britain would be unable to preempt Russia because that would be consecutive impulses for Britain. However, if Austria does expend a Resource (even if Austria doesn't play the card drawn), that does count as an Impulse action, and therefore Britain *would* be able to preempt Russia.
See 5.1, 2nd paragraph, 2nd sentence.
See 5.22, 2nd sentence.
And see paragraph 5.23.
Please speak up if you disagree.
222 4/20/2018 6:00:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni, I think you are a step behind. If you look at messages 215 thru 219, you can see that Britain already assumed the Russian preempt impulse was complete, took his (Plus Play and) Impulse to draw 2 cards and build Hill, and announced that it is now either Austria's pass impulse (option to use Resource) or Russia's impulse.
221 4/20/2018 3:22:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message I confirm Russian move
220 4/19/2018 11:05:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message I will be offline until Monday

219 4/18/2018 12:58:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Russia up unless Austria wishes to burn a resource

218 4/18/2018 12:57:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #84: 4 / Foreign Aid
Void any die roll that ends a Foreign War. The CP paid for that die roll is forfeit. OR Increase enemy Formations sent to a Foreign War by an amount equal to the roll of the least of three dice.

Message from Britain:
build Hill in Naples
217 4/18/2018 12:55:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Britain: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Britain:
card 2
216 4/18/2018 12:55:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Britain: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Britain:
card 1
215 4/18/2018 12:55:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Event #903: 6 / Admiralty
Britain draws two cards if its Fleets control six Zones at the start of its Impulse. Voided by Bey of Algiers or if Britain is a Subject Neutral. RESERVE

Message from Britain:
play as event
214 4/18/2018 12:01:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message still building +1u in Borisov?
213 4/18/2018 11:46:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message yes
212 4/18/2018 11:04:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni, please confirm your preempt of Britain?
211 4/18/2018 11:02:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message France passes.
210 4/18/2018 10:54:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Denmark passes.
209 4/18/2018 10:42:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message ok, I misunderstood
then since the card does not change history, I leave it for the first preempt possible
208 4/18/2018 10:27:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Message does France with to burn resource

207 4/18/2018 10:26:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Message Sweden passes

206 4/18/2018 9:57:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni,
Russia can't preempt Sweden (or Denmark or France) because those 3 nation's don't have any cards. ACTS counts our Reserves as cards, but this is wrong. A Reserve is not a card.
205 4/18/2018 6:36:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Russia: Play Strategy card as Operations #48: 2 / Massed Grenadiers
Select the winning side in any tied battle round. This event ends the battle - disallowing play of further Responses to influence the outcome.

Message from Austria:
Russia preempts Sweden
1 unit in Borisov
204 4/18/2018 6:29:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Oops again.
Russia in fact cannot preempt Turkey, because Turkey had 2 cards if we include the card which they are still owed from the deck.
Spain passes.
Sweden is up.
203 4/18/2018 6:23:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Oops. Sorry, Russia could preempt Turkey.
If Russia does not preempt Turkey, Spain passes, and we are over to Sweden.
Gianni?
202 4/18/2018 6:20:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message ***Turkey is still owed one card from the deck.***
201 4/18/2018 6:19:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Turkey builds +2u Const., now Yusuf+5.
200 4/18/2018 6:17:00 AM 1805-1806 France Turkey: Play random Strategy card #27: 4 / Outflanked

Message from France:
199 4/18/2018 6:17:00 AM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from France:
Odd, they play their card from hand.
Even, they play their card from the top of the deck:
198 4/18/2018 6:16:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Turkey is still owed a card from the deck, however I know what their other card is so I will roll to see which card they play...
197 4/18/2018 6:13:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Prussia builds Kleist+1 in Berlin, now Kleist+6 and the +1cp marker.
196 4/18/2018 6:10:00 AM 1805-1806 France Prussia: Play random Strategy card #62: 6 / Council of War

Message from France:
195 4/18/2018 3:42:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Russia: Play Strategy card as Operations #9: 2 / General Staff
All unled Units of a nation of your choice have intercept/evashion capability as if led by a "1-4" leader. Such units have the ability to place and prevent placement of Flags like an Army but do not constitute an Army for purposes of a possible Resource gain if routed.

Message from Austria:
1 unit in Borisov
194 4/18/2018 3:40:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message 4) flag Rome
5-6) Charles and 4 units back to Romagna, one unit stays in Rome
193 4/17/2018 12:05:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Also, to be clear we should state that Austria did gain a Resource (now 2) from the Rout roll, message 179.
192 4/17/2018 12:03:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Charles+5u still, in Rome.
3 CP's spent so far.
191 4/17/2018 12:01:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Overrun. No Austrian losses.
190 4/17/2018 11:59:00 AM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

2
2
4


Message from France:
1k/1d.
France:
189 4/17/2018 11:58:00 AM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 9

6
2
2
1
4
1
2
4
5


Message from France:
Evasion fails. +1 die for Charles.
9 v 3.
Austria:
188 4/17/2018 11:56:00 AM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
5


Message from France:
Evade to Urbino.
+1 into Friendly. -1 crossing Pass.
Net 0 modifier:
187 4/17/2018 9:09:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Austria: Play Strategy card as Operations #901: 6 / Hussars and Grenzers
Only Austrian flages can be placed in Austria by CP expenditure until the next scheduled Austrian Impulse. Until then, all Austrian interceptions and evasions succeed - including one failed just prior to the play of this event. Any CP expenditure for a flag placement rejected by the play of this event is forfiet. RESERVE

Message from Austria:
1-2) Charles +5u to Tuscany and flag
3) Charles + 5u to Rome
186 4/17/2018 9:06:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message 6) Flag Romagna
185 4/17/2018 8:40:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message So, Charles still has 5u,
and 1 more CP.
184 4/17/2018 8:02:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message 0k/1d.
Overrun, but not flag overrun.
183 4/17/2018 8:01:00 AM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

4
3
5


Message from France:
1k/2d.
3 Fr dice:
182 4/17/2018 8:00:00 AM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 9

1
3
6
4
5
1
2
1
5


Message from France:
Evasion fails. Plus one die for Austria.
9 Au dice:
181 4/17/2018 7:58:00 AM 1805-1806 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

1
1


Message from France:
Evade to Venice. No modifiers.
180 4/17/2018 7:07:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message sorry, the overrun does not guarantee me a flag, so
4) flag Milan
5) Charles and 5 units go to Romagna, no cards for me



179 4/17/2018 6:57:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Austria:
roll for the resource

since there is overrun, Milano becomes Austrian
178 4/17/2018 6:27:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni,
You get to roll for Resource, and
you only used 3 CP's so far.
177 4/16/2018 6:22:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message I agree.
Au 1k/4d
Fr 1k/0d
-1u Austria (now Charles+5u).
Rout.
Messena and his army are Overrun.
Roll for Resource.
176 4/16/2018 3:54:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message I miscalculated 18 dices instead of 16, so if all agree I discard the last 2.
Results are 5/2 that become 5/1.
Is that right?
175 4/16/2018 3:52:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 18

5
1
5
4
4
6
5
5
4
5
3
6
1
4
4
1
3
1


Message from Austria:
Austria 8 / France 8
174 4/16/2018 3:52:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Austria: Play Strategy card as Event #26: 2 / Refuse Flanks
Forfeit a battle die but Halve disrupt results against you in this battle round.

Message from Austria:
for the battle
173 4/15/2018 10:48:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni,
I assume Charles+6 are coming to Milan?
If so, Massena+4 will stand and fight.
9 v 8.
No cards from me.
You can roll.
172 4/15/2018 10:14:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message So...
for 3 CP's Charles is still coming to Milan with 6u ?
171 4/15/2018 9:57:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message sorry, then John goes skiing on the Alps meanwhile others look after more serious things...
170 4/15/2018 9:08:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni,
The only way for the active nation to get multiple Armies into the battle is from one Duchy, as an Army Group.
See 9.8, Entering Battle,
the first three sentences.
169 4/15/2018 8:17:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Austria: Play Strategy card as Operations #32: 6 / Anglo-American War
Britain must remove two Formations and two Squadrons to this Foreign War. Discard from play when War ends. If played by a Proxy Neutral during Turn 4 or later, it must be played as an event.

Message from Austria:
Austria - Ops

1-2) one unit in Venice, now 6 with leader
3) Charles and 6 units to Milan
4) John and 4 units to Milan
wait for French decision
168 4/13/2018 10:08:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Austria
I suggest you attack Milan

also move Kutuzov with 6 to Moravia

167 4/13/2018 10:07:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message I agree
all must hear the advice
no secret messages

166 4/13/2018 8:49:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Henry, yes of course you can discuss anything in the journal — I guess you mean like strategy or tactics?
In fact, if it is a game-related discussion it must be public.
165 4/13/2018 4:05:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message OK
can we make suggestions using the journal

164 4/13/2018 4:04:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message thanks
OK

163 4/13/2018 10:35:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message OK thank you.
162 4/13/2018 7:02:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message Hello, sorry for the delay. I will catch up in week end
161 4/13/2018 5:53:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni, it's Austria's turn.
160 4/11/2018 8:14:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Gianni?
159 4/10/2018 9:50:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Message Austria up

158 4/10/2018 9:49:00 AM 1805-1806 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #8: 4 / Steal a March
This nation may Preempt unless doing so would give it consecutive Impulses. It may even Preempt an announced Preemption. It may spend 3 CP with this event in addition to possibly playing its Reserve. Not playable in 1805.

Message from Britain:
fleet from Cornwall to Mid Atlantic

build 1 Rome
n3

Moore with 3 to Sussex n4
London n1
157 4/10/2018 5:48:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Henry?
156 4/9/2018 2:38:00 AM 1805-1806 Austria Message no preemption
155 4/7/2018 6:48:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message France is done.
Russia could preempt Britain.
154 4/7/2018 6:47:00 PM 1805-1806 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #96: 2 / Tipping the Scales
Immediately following the Resource Gain attempt die roll of ANY Army Rout, roll a die. You may spend that many CPs on the Diplomatic Track to move any Consul(s) in either direction. A die roll of 6 is needed to break Pact status.

Message from France:
This card is the reason why I tried to catch Ferdinand napping on my first impulse.
2: build 1u Rome.
153 4/7/2018 1:18:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message thanks

152 4/6/2018 6:15:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Denmark passes.
Russia could preempt France.
151 4/6/2018 6:11:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Henry,
Gianni did specify, in message 25, that Austria has the Resource.
150 4/6/2018 3:42:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Denmark up

149 4/6/2018 3:42:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Sweden passes

148 4/6/2018 3:42:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Sweden: Change Nation Owner to Britain Message from Britain:
Sweden to British
147 4/6/2018 3:40:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Gianna
you have not decided if Austria or Russia gets the resource

please correct

146 4/6/2018 3:38:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message both lose 1
Castanos with 3 in Gibraltar

145 4/6/2018 3:37:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

5
6
3


Message from Britain:
3 British dice

144 4/6/2018 3:37:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 5

2
2
4
4
6


Message from Britain:
5 Spanish dice

143 4/6/2018 3:35:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message corrected Prussia units
thanks

142 4/6/2018 6:12:00 AM 1805-1806 France Spain: Play Strategy card as Operations #46: 5 / Rear Guard
Void rout. The victor of the battle remains unchanged and the battle ends. Void Panic event against this battle whether played before or after this event.

Message from France:
1: Both 2u Valencia → Barcelona.
5: All Castanos +4u Lisbon → Gibralter. (via La Mancha)
5 v 3.
No cards from me.
You can roll this battle.
141 4/5/2018 5:34:00 PM 1805-1806 France Message Henry, when I wrote "+1u in Berlin" that means +1 unit in Berlin (not +1 cp marker). Berlin has 5u and +1cp.
140 4/5/2018 2:41:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message 8
3/25/2018 7:34:00 AM
1805-1806
France
Message
Nice to see that card gone.
+1u in Berlin, now 3u.
139 4/5/2018 2:40:00 PM 1805-1806 Britain Message Prussia already had a +1
so Berlin 6 units

138 4/5/2018 6:11:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Russia could preempt Spain?
137 4/5/2018 6:08:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message ***Remember the Turks are owed a card from the deck.***
136 4/5/2018 6:08:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Regarding Turkey's draw from the deck, we should follow the good advice in https://sites.google.com/site/wilphe/home/tnw-2-5-2012/play-conventions
"Several Events require a Neutral to draw an extra card
Should this happen, make a note that this will be resolved in that Neutral’s next Impulse – when that Impulse arrives, follow this procedure:

If any Player Controlled l hand is either empty or has only Home Cards remaining, a Player should 1) draw an extra card from the deck and 2) immediately play it as the neutral Proxy card from the previous Event."
Either Sweden or Denmark could to this.
135 4/5/2018 6:06:00 AM 1805-1806 France Message Ouch. Y'all had great cards and the Turks are already against me.
134 4/5/2018 6:03:00 AM 1805-1806 France France: Give random Strategy card to Turkey Message from France:
Giving a random card to Turkey:

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations