Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Generic Module: BKN Bob vs Michael Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
189 4/25/2018 5:22:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message both infantry to D2=4. 1 retreat=5 flak gets D1 and retreat=7
I pass, map sent

188 4/25/2018 4:41:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message 18 to 11

7 points of damage -
187 4/25/2018 4:40:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

5
4
4
2


Message from Allies:
Captured

Attk into Bayeux now with NO modifiers
(as it's now not a MA)

Attk 6 + 1 + arty + integ = 9
Def 5
186 4/25/2018 4:39:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Allies:
Activate Omaha - two 655 units move to 19
then attempt to seize bridge into Bayeux
Modifier +3 (MP used 2 so far)
185 4/25/2018 3:30:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message new map
184 4/25/2018 5:51:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message all 3 units flip to spent
183 4/25/2018 5:51:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
2
4
3


Message from Allies:
Corp arty from Gold fires into Bayeux

Attk 7
Def 2 - target the FLAK unit
182 4/24/2018 3:28:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message My bad, I flipped the 7-8-5 as first, and later counted it as tank! That is why I wrote I must flip 'all armor for 9CP'.
Ok, then I keep the better tank fresh of course: 4-4-5.
181 4/24/2018 3:17:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Armor is worth 3 if fresh and each unit is 2 if fresh for bombardment.

So you had 4 non armor and 2 armor
4 non armor is 8 and 1 of the armor is 3 more thus 11
so one of the armor is still fresh - No UNIT ever goes up 2 steps on bombardment the rest is just lost/not used
180 4/24/2018 1:35:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message Name of file is G1,it was again G0.
179 4/24/2018 1:25:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message Well, I must fulfil all CP if possible, so I must flip all armor for 9cp and 1 infantry for 2cp
178 4/24/2018 6:20:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message 18 to 7 so 11 points of damage
all non- armored and one armor unit to spent.
177 4/24/2018 6:19:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

5
5
2
4


Message from Allies:
Brit Naval fires into area 6

Attk 8
Def 1 - target 785 SS unit


176 4/23/2018 10:05:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Now move and map
175 4/21/2018 11:50:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Wow, I'm surprised. I really missed that rule! And the funny part, I just thought yesterday, I eventually 'know the rules', when I prevented you from regrouping over my bridge:-)

Well I must reconsider my move then
174 4/21/2018 7:39:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message Uh......Zone movement takes ALL MP between Zones

Please redo
173 4/20/2018 6:14:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Move from A,map sent
172 4/20/2018 5:52:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message It was only 1 who regrouped(incorrectly), but np, I continue now
171 4/20/2018 5:45:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message yes leave the 2 units in Bayeux
170 4/19/2018 12:12:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Dang nabit, I knew that, okay let me look at board
but I believe I'll just leave him there.
169 4/19/2018 8:53:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Do you just leave the unit there, and keep the rest of your regroups? If not send me a new map.
168 4/19/2018 8:47:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message You cannot regroup via enemy controlled bridge! So you cannot regroup 4-4-5 from Bayeux at all, at the moment.
167 4/18/2018 3:00:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message I did not touch your supply, I was just confused
as I didn't see the 'detail' of the move or written word on ACTS so was not sure.
166 4/18/2018 9:22:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Rangers and arty corrected on map. If you don't remember if you subtracted 1 supply from me for the 'friendly bridge detour', let's just continue, I don't want to reload all the Vlog files to search for it, and I don't want to force you to do it, either. If you remember, that you did it, please add +1 supply for me ,now.
165 4/18/2018 8:42:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message And I forgot to move the spent artillery out of Caen, I will sent you a new map

164 4/18/2018 8:33:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Please return the 2 rangers to omaha(they were spent)! I removed them, because I thought it's now.
163 4/18/2018 8:31:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message did u reduce my supply by 1, because of that? I did not change my supply marker, only yours
162 4/18/2018 8:31:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message Yes, on supply, I got confused when I started with
Gold and got to Sword and realized I can not have done
anything besides Sword as you still have that blasted CA unit - when I backtracked I lost count of supply -
30 is correct - and I'll still not buy an impulse.

Your Regroup
161 4/18/2018 8:30:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Map sent
160 4/18/2018 8:29:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message >12.5 explicitly say that enemy controlled bridge does not prevent supply into that area(only)! And that I choose the most advantagous route(12.51), so unless u found other parts in the rules, I think this is correct.

Yes, I was wrong, the supply can get there the DEPOT can NOT cross bridge unless you control (which you did move the depot ) so my error.
159 4/18/2018 8:26:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message the Rangers are not removed until the Dawn Phase of the turn *after* Omaha is cleared.
158 4/18/2018 8:12:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Now the two Us rangers are removed in Omaha beach, ain't they?
157 4/18/2018 7:48:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message after US depots , supply was 12. According to what you wrote here in Journal, u got 18 from BR depots=30!
And not 38 as on the board. I will correct that.
156 4/18/2018 7:45:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message In the log file you sent me , you added supply as u placed the depots, then u removed the 3 BR depots, and re-placed them again, and added supply points again!
155 4/18/2018 7:27:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message 12.5 explicitly say that enemy controlled bridge does not prevent supply into that area(only)! And that I choose the most advantagous route(12.51), so unless u found other parts in the rules, I think this is correct.
154 4/18/2018 6:23:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Edit Supply saved Allies: from 0 to 39
Germans: from 9 to 9
153 4/18/2018 6:22:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message all 4 to fresh

Utah - supply at Utah
3 units to fresh for 3
2 arty in SME to fresh for 4 more
lose 1 to CA
SAVE 2

Omaha
1st moves to 31 - 3 units to fresh save 7
2nd stays in Omaha - 3 non Ranger to fresh for 3
2 units in 19 for 4 more - Save 3

The following 3 beaches on the board I did
then Redid forgetting I can NOT save any from Sword
the written info is the final correct version

Gold - arty in Gold for 1 save 9

Juno one unit to fresh save 9

Sword - 4 units to Fresh and one to spent - save nothing


I will NOT buy an impulse
152 4/18/2018 6:10:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
5
5
5


Message from Allies:
air supply Modifier is +4 then -1

655
655
655
para
151 4/18/2018 6:08:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Edit Supply saved Allies: from 0 to 0
Germans: from 0 to 9
150 4/18/2018 6:07:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message had a few quesitons on supply

Unit in 20 supplied from 16 would cost 3 not 2
as I own bridge between 16 and 20 so you would need to go via 21 first.

Perhaps next turn you can spell out where you are going/using / saving
149 4/17/2018 1:08:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message Ok, so each German depot is worth 6 supply
148 4/16/2018 9:40:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

3
2
5
1


Message from Allies:
American Air attacks 29

Attk 5
Def 1
147 4/16/2018 3:20:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message That is indeed bad news! I Pass again, G6. Now Allied 6
146 4/15/2018 10:20:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Bad news is Arty attk was equal so no effect

Good news (for me) is as I rolled a 5 the clouds are
gone and sunshine is now back.
145 4/15/2018 10:16:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

3
2
5
5


Message from Allies:
Corp arty fires from Gold into Bayeux

Attk 7
Def 2 - target the 343 - 352/915
144 4/15/2018 10:14:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message SORRY - ignore all I just did - I was in another game.

Now on to OUR GAME
143 4/15/2018 10:12:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Allies:
overrun - will attempt to grab bridge into St. Lo
on a roll of 6
142 4/15/2018 10:08:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

3
6
5
5


Message from Allies:
555 unit moves to 31 then attacks into 33

Attk 5
Def 1
141 4/15/2018 10:07:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Allies:
activate Omaha

Attempt to repair bridge into 29
modifier +3 +1 -1 so 3
140 4/15/2018 6:42:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message Pass, pls move the impulse marker before you do your 6th one.
139 4/15/2018 6:00:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Hum....normally a weather change but since it was done
on Naval bombardment weather stays overcast.
Marker does not advance back to German 8.5A
138 4/15/2018 5:58:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

1
4
4
4


Message from Allies:
Brit Naval bombard Bayeux

Attk 8
Def 2 - target the flak unit
137 4/15/2018 12:30:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message Moved units from 13, your 5th
136 4/14/2018 4:05:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message I did Allied 5 move then to German 6
BUT with kill of 3 units move back to German 5

Map is wrong this move coming is is your German 5
135 4/14/2018 1:34:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message Of course, many questions arose from the fact, that I'm re-learning the game, however the massive amount of questions come from really badly written rules. As you can see in the forum, there has been no single question from you, that had not opposing opinions, even beyond experienced players who thought of themselves as competent enough to answer...
134 4/14/2018 1:30:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message Well, thx! As I said, I'm a very experienced player in TP:S, and tried all other games of the series at least once, so generally I should be no easy prey:-)
133 4/14/2018 1:27:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message OK, post 11461 was enlightening, if he is right..( the other guy with the examples seems to have made a mistake...).
That means, it just counts from where the 1st overcast marker was placed until the impulse the day ends(or weather changes again). And that's why all those markers shifted. But after that is clear now, shouldn't be the impulse marker at 5!? +1 from me and -1 from you , means no actual change. And my logfile was G4 before I killed your unit, so it should be G5 now.
132 4/14/2018 1:26:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message I will share that MOST of my games NEVER get this rule intense so it is an anomaly in more ways than one.

One thing I will say is that I am certainly finding a lot of new 'move', 'tricks', and options - not all of it BAD of course - some of it "gamey" but perhaps it will help me in my ultimate goal of improving my tournament play
131 4/14/2018 12:54:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message I've spent again 2h for reading forum & rules and writing my last message for you. I think I spent more time for studying rules here than in ASL! That is ridiculous!
I still think still the game is or could be fine, but the rules are an incredible piece of shit! And if that had been my first game with the area& impulse system, I definitely would never had touched another one again!
And that is what keeps me going at the moment, if we quit before I'm not even close to fully comprehend or know all rules, I won't try it again for the next 10 years or until the rules are completely overhauled. All the effort and work I put into this game would have been wasted. This is not your fault of course and
I want to thank you for your patience!
130 4/14/2018 12:29:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message I've read the forum, but I don't get a clear answer there. This sentence from Example 2 of the pictured post: 'This actually causes the day to move from partially overcast to predominantly overcast' , sounded a bell, the prase 'predominately overcast', to be exact. But when I tried to found any parts in the rules about it, I failed!
I found (only)18.42, it seems that all marker would shift one space to the right, so that after the shift it looks like the impulse started at 0, and not at A! And vice versa , after you shift it back again.
Or how do you understand 18.42 !?
Again, I must critizise the way the rules are written, this part is 'hidden' in the weather section and is not in the advantage section of the rules! Of course you don't want to repeat all rules again in every section, but at least a hint in 11.23 like: ( read 18.42 for details of execution) would have helped. As I said before, I practically read 30%-40% of all rules again, for every action, and the new question that arises from that. However, after reading 18.42 and the forum posts, I'm still not sure how we should count the overcast impulses for supply! And this is the most important factor for me here. As I wrote before, I definitely want 4 overcast impulses, before the day ends! Which may be not enough because day started at A !? So if there is a major difference in supply calculations, when the day is predominantly overcast, I need even 5 overcast impulses.
And while I'm writing here, I got the idea to check the Glossary, and hooray, it's there! 'Predominantly overcast' is only important for Alied Air supply! For me as Germans, 4 overcast impulses mean +2 supply per depot, no matter how many clear impulses. So, it seems the question has not been answered in the forum,yet. MAybe, because 18.42 is clear for them, but I have a problem to understand the meaning, especially of the last sentence!
129 4/13/2018 8:51:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message should have been 7 vs 3 but will overrun
and now I'll shift the marker BACK to impulse 4

Back to you
128 4/13/2018 8:49:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
6
5
1


Message from Allies:
Final attack into 31 will go off without the arty.

NO overrun- so my arty can now NOT support the 3rd attk
into 31

attk 8
Def 3
127 4/13/2018 12:34:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message oic, 12.53 is not the rule used here, it'S 11.21 !
My mistake, but when I ask in this situation for 12.53 and if I should advance the marker or not, of course I thought after your answer, it's for next day! But I don't blame you, I blame the rules and of course myself for not remembering this detail.
And here the next rule question arises: If I advance the impulse marker for the lost advantage, will the 4th impulse count as overcast, or just not at all!?
And if I would decide to move it backwards to lenghten this day, would the last overcast impulse of mine 'erased'= not count to 3 overcast impulse=+1 supply !?
I definitely don't want to shorten THIS day, unless I got a 4th overcast impulse, to increase my supply!

And for your arty, 8.53 says clearly that after an overrun you can continue to support assaults with your artillery, while 9.43 says that the artillery becomes spent if you (only) win the assault.



126 4/13/2018 11:52:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message I still want to attack but now need to check to
see if I can use the arty - I'll get back to you tonight - I also might drop a question on
CONSIM
125 4/13/2018 11:49:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message we 'skip' an impulse because you moved it up an impulse

the death of an allied unit moves the impulse right away, not next turn so instead of being on impulse (4 I think) we go right from your impulse 3 to my impulse 5.
124 4/13/2018 10:24:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message I entered 4 when asked for number of dices, I calculated 2 for your attack and 2 dice for my defense roll....
123 4/13/2018 10:16:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Well, I misinterpreted the number of dices we need. However we take the first 2 dice pair as result as usual. That's 8-10, so u made 4CP, and killed the unit but got no overrun. Do you still attack 19?
And I don't understood your message, why should we have skipped G4? I only forgot to move the impulse marker at the end of my impulse! I moved 4 units from A to 13. Map sent.

122 4/13/2018 10:08:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 14

4
4
5
5
4
6
3
6
2
6
6
4
5
1


Message from Germans:
first 2 dice your attack
121 4/13/2018 10:08:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Well, I can use the advantage on any die roll, and of course I reroll the 2nd attack on 31 then! You need 5 CP for an overrun, 9-3.
120 4/12/2018 9:21:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message I scored a triple kill of German units
so the advantage is now mine -
You of course can attempt to re-roll the last attack
if you want but if I win then the advantage is still mine
and I'll also get to move the turn marker (back)

Your call
119 4/12/2018 9:20:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
5
4
1


Message from Allies:
overrun- so my arty can now support the 3rd attk
into 31

attk 9
Def 3
118 4/12/2018 9:19:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
2
1
4


Message from Allies:
Overrun (and day continues)
the 2 Ranger units are spent as they can not advance

the 2 655's and arty will attack area 19

attk 9
Def 3

117 4/12/2018 9:16:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

5
1
1
4


Message from Allies:
Okay NOW the allies will attack out of Omaha

Attk with all units in Omaha (cost 1MP)

attk 6 + 6 + arty + 1 integ = 14
Def 5
116 4/12/2018 9:14:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message You advance the daylight marker up one - not the
'at start' marker so now impulse 5 instead of impulse 4
115 4/12/2018 10:01:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Alright, np!
114 4/12/2018 9:04:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message Yes, sorry, I did calculation wrong you WOULD have
overrun as I needed only 2 to kill it - and you got your 3. However you have no more MP anyway so no effect.

I can not retreat and then kill same unit it's an either or situation.
113 4/12/2018 8:28:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message oops, I forgot to advance inpulse marker at end of my move
112 4/12/2018 8:27:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message +1 day.
I moved units from A to 13, map sent.
111 4/12/2018 8:16:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Thx, mate! And about the overrun?

110 4/12/2018 8:13:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message Yes, the onetime adjustment is only for THIS day

does not affect tomorrow.

I guess if I was Germans I would either advance marker end the day before Allies on Omaha or British get rolling

BUT with overcast, you might want to try and move some more guys east and west so perhaps I would do nothing - you do not HAVE to do anything.

Tough call - as day could also 'clear' and then you would be back to allies having clear to use bombers ect.

I guess I would advance the marker if I was German player - any time Allies have shorter time is better
109 4/12/2018 7:45:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message I understand 12.53 as one time adjustment only for the 'following day'. So, tomorrow we would start at 0 impulse again( without the shift I'm able to do now), because the shift to A was only for the 8th !?

When the next day would be clear, I had no problem to decide that the day will be shortened, but since it's overcast, I don't know. May I ask you what would you do, or consider here?
108 4/12/2018 7:26:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message We don't have a single attack without rule searching and discussion! :-(
I'm sorry and I'm annoyed myself that I have to ask, but: Why do I need 4 CP to overrun!?
According to 9.5 you MUST eliminate a unit and cannot retreat, if I do more CP than you can absorb with D2 and retreating.You can D2 and retreat for 2 CP, so 3 is enough to Kill the unit AND is an overrun, since I did more CP than u could absorb(2CP) according to 8.53.
Fortunately, it makes no difference here, as I have no MP left, but I want to make sure, that eventually I know the rules!

107 4/12/2018 5:52:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

3
1
4
6


Message from Allies:
the '9' arty will fire in Omaha
to try and take down to spent the CA

Attk 9
Def 1 - target obvious
106 4/12/2018 5:51:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message You have killed a guy but NOT overrun as you JUST killed him with just enough AP - you would need 4 for overrun

SO, since you killed an Allied troop you have
choice of moving the day marker forward or backward
( I would have to kill 3 of yours to do the same)
I say this because you already have the chit otherwise it would now be yours.

I will do my turn anyway and you can decide what to do with marker
105 4/12/2018 5:45:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
5
4
6


Message from Allies:
>Combat odds are 6-2

Attk first 2 dice
Def 2nd 2 dice
104 4/12/2018 5:41:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message >If the artillery moves, it can't contribute any combat strength ergo no bonus for regiment, if it supports an assault, it cannot move. Am I correct?


right on both
103 4/11/2018 4:45:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message If the artillery moves, it can't contribute any combat strength ergo no bonus for regiment, if it supports an assault, it cannot move. Am I correct?

I found the right savefile: mid turn 8(from you).
Okay here is my move: 21
Lehr 5-5-5 and Flak moves to 22, then 27, then 33, for 3 MP, then attack 34 with the last 3 MP.

Assault is not mandatory, area is contested, the bridge friendly.
Combat odds are 6-2, I need 3 CP to overrun you( but I have no MP left, anyway).

Are there any mistakes? If not you can roll for the attack and continue with your impulse.
102 4/11/2018 12:53:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message I'm not really clear on what you are asking.

IF an arty unit is used as bombardment - there is no issue.

If arty is used as support it can add it's 1 to an assault provided there is unit of same division involved in the assault. IF the use of arty makes a total of 3 units from same division attacking (3 infantry or 2 infantry and 1 div arty) then in addition to other values the attack would also get a +1 for divisional integrity.

Also, the arty can be used to support an attack within the same area the arty is in if area is contested, the arty can support ANY area adjacent to area arty is in provided there area arty is in is NOT contested.

However, if arty is just 'brought along' with other troops then (since it really didn't fire) it can NOT be added to unit integrity -

If this is not clear let me know

If this does NOT answer your question(s) let me know

101 4/11/2018 10:53:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message If we agree on this, I have my next move already in mind, and will explain in advance and ask if I'm right, before actually moving pieces and rolling.
100 4/11/2018 10:37:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Ok, I thought it's a good idea to ask in advance if my move and all calculations are right. And in the process, I found something interesting in Utah beach. You have 2 regiments of infantry and a field artillery of the 90th there. When field artillery in the process of moving dosn't add combat value to the assault as we just cleared in consimworld, then I don't think you would get the regimental integrity +1 bonus either! Only, if the assault is in the same area or adjacent and the field artillery doesn't move and stay in the area to support that assault!?
99 4/10/2018 2:50:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >tw, does my Le Havre battery bombardment not count as impulse,too? I guess no, but who knows:-)

It is an impulse rule 16.4
98 4/10/2018 10:42:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message The rules of B:N are complex, but it's definitely not the most complex game that I've played. But beside many unclear parts of the rules, the way the rules are presented, important sections scattered all over the rules, instead of repeating the important parts again, makes it so hard to play! You practically read the rules again every time a question arises, after your last comment, I read 20. Bridge again, then 8. Movement, then 9. Assault, then I paged through the rules, if I can find anywhere the difference between armor and infantry, then I read 20.3 again...

I'm really tempted to wait until they finished the FAQ! But I have no idea, what 'nearly ready' means for him... It could mean, after 2 years of working on the FAQ, they want to release it in 2 months. Or 'nearly ready to publish' means next week, in the last case, I definitely would wait.
It is not smooth enough to really enjoy the game, if you know what I mean. I didn't play both games for about 15 years, but TP:S is a refreshing jump into the swimming pool, while B:N feels more like a police interrogation, or at least like an afternoon writing your annual tax report.

However, giving up now is like cowardice in front of the enemy:-) I will search for the savefile before the 52 attack and reconsider. Btw, my attack was not illegal, just bad play , or as you friendly named it,' ill-advised'. I did not consider/remember, that I would had to retreat all units, if I fail to win, too. Well, combined with the NOW lesser combat strength, and the Bocage( the only fact I actually DID consider before) this attack is plain stupid, or at least reserved for a desperate situation! But still not illegal:-), so thanks for letting me take it back.
97 4/10/2018 9:39:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message You get also -1 flooded boundary in any seizure attempt, the odds for thaT are not worse than any repair attempt. But you get -1 for any Fresh defender in seizure attempts only!
Now, that naval bombings are no impulse anymore, there is even less time pressure, and activating an area for a +1 marker, if unsucccessful in 1st repair attempt, should be np. I don't see the AP forced to still move and attack without the bridge repaired, he can just wait, at least one impulse.
Btw, does my Le Havre battery bombardment not count as impulse,too? I guess no, but who knows:-)
96 4/10/2018 7:51:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message Sorry, I'm at work -
I normally am on internet at 7:00 PM our time but
of course you are in bed (or should be) :-)

Go ahead and do your re-move.

As for bridges, I thought what you stated about blowing bridges but it was explained to me that blowing still is good for a few things:

* prevent armor from just coming across on a movement.
* can cause at least a turn or two delay in repairs especially if it's over flood unless you controlled both sides of bridge
* forces side to 'burn' an impulse and if bridge not fixed costs infantry total MP to jump, no armor can be in assault, causes extra pip on the defense dice and or forces assault to be called off if over flood as you can't jump a flooded boundary.
* in general give the allies one more headache they need to deal with as they ONLY have 4 repair guys so if more than 4 bridges are blown, some have to be not attempted during an impulse or supply phase.


95 4/10/2018 6:30:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message and for our game I'm rdy to continue now, if you have time for some live-play.
94 4/10/2018 6:26:00 AM Turn 1 Germans Message Sorry for the silence, but I had no internet access for the last 2 days, until now! I've also just read the discussion in consimworld, and when even the experts and regular players in tournament, still argue about the meaning of the rules, in such a relatively common situation, it's worse than I thought! I found several TP:S game partners in the last weeks, and the most used phrase, why they don't play B:N, too, is: Overcomplicated! Some say it plain, one said 'a bit overcomplicated'( and he even plays ASL!!). And I say that is true to a certain degree, because I don't think the bridges rules had to be so unwieldly and also even
unlogically*, but the rest comes from the unclear and really bad written rules! Which is especially untypically for AH games, so, I would go so far, to say those are the worst written AH rules of any game I have ever played!

unlogically*= It usually makes no sense for the German player to blow up bridges, because the AP can rebuild them easier than he can seize a bridge, and thereby seize it automatically. The rebuild attempt itself is free, no unit needed or MP spent, and success automatically, if supply is used.
93 4/10/2018 6:00:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message Michael service still down?
92 4/8/2018 7:31:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Okay, let's start with our attack out of 52 which was
'ill advised' and you can take that turn over
then we'll continue from there.
91 4/8/2018 3:26:00 PM Turn 1 Germans Message I had no internet access today(again!).Same as last week. the modem says everything is ok, PC, too. Then I want to open my emails, loading time out. Modem still says, everything is ok, PC says, modem has no connection to web. Since I cant believe, the provider does the same 'mistake' a week later, I guess they are facing a hacker attack with black mail attempt. Last week half of Germany( where they provided the service) had no internet..
I was not expecting so early, anyway, didn't you say 1pm yesterday? I see no problem in continue this game as training game, I already said that after my faux-pas in 16.
We just take back until it was 'legal', which I definitely prefer over a new start, until we both are more safe with the rules.
90 4/8/2018 1:22:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Okay, well perhaps we can try another day?

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations