Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

For the People: Andrew vs Jonathan FTP Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
36 6/12/2018 1:19:00 AM Summer 1861 Union Message East Zone: DC +8, AOP is there and n14
Central Zone: 2 in Bloomington IN, 2 in Cincinatti, n3 and 2 in Coshocten.
West Zone-4 in Cairo, n5

I would recommend so i can check your work (and even hihgly experienced players do this because it is easy to mess up), any time you add some troops to an area either from dropping off on an army/corp move or from event or from reinforcements or rail moves and you had existing troops there, put a nX with new total there. if there is no troops then don't bother with nX notation.

do you need any help with state and blockade reinforcements??
35 6/12/2018 1:14:00 AM Summer 1861 Union Message critical part, do NOT draw cards until you have completed all 3 sub-phases of the reinforcements phase.

1st i place new troops, then you.
2nd i conduct up to 15 strategic movements then you
3rd i place generals by assigning where i want generals then rolling dice to determine where they go (represents limited control each prez had in getting his desired picks into the spot he wanted).


34 6/12/2018 1:11:00 AM Spring 1861 Union End Turn
33 6/12/2018 1:11:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message AOP loses 2, n6. that is it for US.
Manassas loses 1, n2. that is it for CSA.

ending turn and onto reinforcements for Union.
32 6/12/2018 1:09:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message This part is all very procedural.

PC phase.
A. Change capital. neither of us had our capital put to flight.
B. 1. Place PC for all spaces with friendly infantry SPs (must be in supply).
Union in Ft. SP/J. Fort officially falls. CSA loses -1 SW and -3 FOW for changing + to - momentum. US gains 1 SW and +2 bonus for flipping to positive momentum.
that is it for placing PCs. it will get a lot heavier soon as we get more cards and troops to maneuver.
2. determine state control. you don't have quite enough to take KY yet. all CSA and union states remain in their own possession.
3. not fall so no war weariness.

on to attrition as phase C.then we end turn.
31 6/12/2018 12:58:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message will try to answer your questions to best of my ability.

Quick question. I was a bit confused as to rule 6.13 regarding confederate coastal forts. It states naval movement is never permitted psat confederate coastal fort except by Faragut event. How is it you can move then past all my forts to Ft Jackson?
-You are correct in those rules. What I did however, was sail from my port in northeaster Union port through ocean to land in Ft Jackson. I could not legally sail past Ft. Jackson into the port (port in this case is New Orleans) but i can always launch an amphib invasion of Ft. St. Phillip/Jackson via the ocean so long as i have troops in a Union ocean port. does that makes sense? i never sailed past the fort in this case, i sailed to the fort itself and assaulted it.


Also, since I have ungarison fort, it has 0 SP strength. It gets a +2DR for fort and you get a +4 (attacking ungarisoned fort) so overall you get a +2 DRM (or is that separate from amphibiosu assault). Because if it is not, then the net should be +2 for you. If you roll a 4 on the chart, then we both inflict 1 loss each right? Defender wins ties? Or is it that since this is a nonresource space I lose the tie (which is what I'm thinking)

this part is really tricky at first so Mark H puts a "rules of thumb" near back of rule book to help out. It's page 45, Section 18.0.

THe way it works is I first we calculate amphib DRM (always 0 or goes to one side, if both sides have AA DRM they subtract off each other and go to the side with more or possibly cancel out for 0). in this case, the CSA has a fort and i have no AA progress on track and no event to give me bonus DRM so AA DRM is +2 CSA. I have no generals with but i am attacking an ungarrisoned fort which means +4 (same as 5-1 force ratio). therefore my worst possible combat result is rolling a 1. that means a 5 on chart which means 1-1 result. By the naval rules of assault, if you had 1 SP there you would be eliminated but would still win and i have to retreat. but since it is unmanned, i elimate the 0 SP and as long as I have 1 or more units left after casualties are removed i carry the fort.

this is why each blockade zone shoudl have at least 1 manned fort (it's hard in first turn as your SPs are spread thin) to prevent Union from taking out entire blockade zones.
30 6/3/2018 10:19:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message and will answer your question and do end of turn stuff.
29 6/3/2018 10:19:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message will get mine done today.
28 6/3/2018 9:29:00 AM Spring 1861 Confederate Message bty
27 5/29/2018 4:37:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Sure if you dont mind running through end of turn would be great
26 5/29/2018 4:37:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Operations #94: 2 / Strategy Board
Union player may make a naval move with up to three SPs plus one general.

Message from Confederate:
Moving price
25 5/29/2018 4:35:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Operations #94: 2 / Strategy Board
Union player may make a naval move with up to three SPs plus one general.

Message from Confederate:
24 5/29/2018 4:33:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Quick question. I was a bit confused as to rule 6.13 regarding confederate coastal forts. It states naval movement is never permitted psat confederate coastal fort except by Faragut event. How is it you can move then past all my forts to Ft Jackson?

Also, since I have ungarison fort, it has 0 SP strength. It gets a +2DR for fort and you get a +4 (attacking ungarisoned fort) so overall you get a +2 DRM (or is that separate from amphibiosu assault). Because if it is not, then the net should be +2 for you. If you roll a 4 on the chart, then we both inflict 1 loss each right? Defender wins ties? Or is it that since this is a nonresource space I lose the tie (which is what I'm thinking)

23 5/26/2018 2:06:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message correction, i was at -97 already so now 92-
22 5/26/2018 2:04:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message because i didn't meet requirements of Red River, Union loses 5 SW and drops 100- - 5 = 95- no FOW.

BTY for last card play before end of turn phase.
21 5/26/2018 2:03:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Play Strategy card as Operations #14: 3 / Red River Campaign
May not be discarded by the Union. Union must use this card as an OC. If at the conclusion of movement, a Union SP is not on or adjacent to Grand Ecore, LA, then the Union loses 5 SW points. If a Union SP is in one of the objective spaces then a Union PC marker can immediately be placed to convert the space or spaces. Remove from deck if Union plays card.

Message from Union:
let me know if you want me to run end of turn stuff. it can be a little complicated at first although its easier at beginning when not much is going on.

amphib assaulting from Wilmington DE taking 3 SP (leaves 2 behidn) and attacks Ft. Phillip/Jackson which is auto 1*-1 when a defenseless fort so 2 SPs are left. the marker does NOT get placed yet until PC placement phase at end of turn (or through ops play if i had another card) so SW effect doesn't come in just yet...also the denial of union naval control is still in effect from that fort until the PC goes down at which poitn you can no longer trace supply across any of the MS river or its tributaries until you re-establish a 2nd poitn of blocking my naval control.

back to you for last card play.
20 5/23/2018 5:05:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message bty
19 5/21/2018 7:54:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Operations #16: 2 / Grierson's Raid
Union may place two Union PC markers in any spaces within four spaces (includes river connections) of a single Union cavalry brigade. The four space range cannot be traced through Northeast Alabama and may not contain a Confederate SP or Fort, but may contain an Ironclad or Torpedoes.

Message from Confederate:
placing 2 control markers in KY
18 5/21/2018 7:53:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Operations #16: 2 / Grierson's Raid
Union may place two Union PC markers in any spaces within four spaces (includes river connections) of a single Union cavalry brigade. The four space range cannot be traced through Northeast Alabama and may not contain a Confederate SP or Fort, but may contain an Ironclad or Torpedoes.

Message from Confederate:
17 5/21/2018 2:13:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message I know i took way too long for my last turn. you have been so fast on your moves so i just wanted to check to make sure you saw that I did make a move a few days ago.

i'm finally caught up at work after a crazy time catching up after vacation so I should be good to make a play ever couple of days now going forward.
16 5/17/2018 3:32:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Play Strategy card as Event #114: 3 / Frederick Douglas
Union immediately receives five SPs for raising freemen Negro troops. The SPs can be placed in any single Union controlled space with a LOC in NJ, DE, PA or the space that contains the Union capital that does not contain Confederate SPs or forts. Remove from deck if event is played.

Message from Union:
placing these 5 in Wilmington, DE.
15 5/16/2018 11:02:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Message yes sir. sorry been trying to stay caught up in all my games going on plus finishing the FTP tournament round 2 and the deadline is end of May.

will do my move today.
14 5/16/2018 10:25:00 AM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Are we still playing this?
13 5/7/2018 6:17:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message BTY
12 5/4/2018 9:56:00 AM Spring 1861 Confederate Message Hm..as this is my 2nd game, feel free to throw some pointers out regarding confederate haha (or if I make any grossly bad moves). I'm strugglin to find SP across the map lol
11 5/4/2018 9:55:00 AM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Operations #74: 2 / Political Crisis
The Union player may remove or demote one Union general for no SW cost. The cost for promoting a general with a lower political value still applies. OR remove ANY Union non-commanding general (even second in commands) from the game.

Message from Confederate:
Placing control in BG and lebanon
10 5/2/2018 4:19:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Play Strategy card as Event #10: 3 / Dorothea Dix
Union immediately receives three SPs. Place in the Union Capital or in any space (friendly or not) that contains a Union army with a LOC.

Message from Union:
These 3 SPs go into the capital DC with AOP (n8). any time you see PU X that means picked up and nX means now X many troops.

one thing to do in the game of FTP i should add is make good notations as you move. because you can drop off and pick up troops while moving and because things like general limits and seniority come into play, it's important to document path of movement step by step and all fo that and to help follow along with module.

back to you.
9 5/2/2018 4:15:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message you are close. the Union marker actually starts on - momentum so there is no 'Fortunes of War' change to cause a penalty. so i go from -100 to -97 and i won't have a FOW until i go positive for whatever reason.
8 5/2/2018 2:12:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message now the game starts on the + side for SW. Since I'm removing SW, it becomes a negative. Rules of 12.4 state whenever going +-->-, SW value increased by 3. So do you decrease by 6? If so, you can go ahead on your turn and lower it 3 more
7 5/2/2018 2:10:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Play Strategy card as Event #12: 3 / Cabinet Intrigue
Union SW reduced by three.

Message from Confederate:
6 5/1/2018 11:15:00 AM Spring 1861 Union Play Strategy card as Operations #7: 1 / Mud March
Interrupt enemy force currently moving to no more than one space of movement. (Converting a space counts as movement.) Applies to only one move during a Major or Minor campaign card, but not a special army-naval move.

Message from Union:
placing a fort in Frederick, MD. log up and back to you.
5 4/30/2018 7:44:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message You do not have to tell me if you have a campaign card or not, you simply say that you are going to play campaign card and play it to claim initiative or you tell me to go first
4 4/30/2018 7:28:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Message I don't have campaign to play so over to you
3 4/30/2018 7:28:00 PM Spring 1861 Confederate Draw Strategy cards 4 cards drawn.

2 4/30/2018 12:56:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Message to you for drawing cards and play campaign or not.

set up log is done. good luck. all optional rules and generals are in use. only one not used is the RR logistics rule (this matches tournament play set up).
1 4/30/2018 12:55:00 PM Spring 1861 Union Draw Strategy cards 4 cards drawn.

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations