Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Generic Module: Pendragon 2 - JKRS Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
97 10/9/2018 7:57:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message I trained in one space spending 3 Civitate resources and requisitioned in 6 spaces converting 6 Civitate Wealth to Dux Resources.

BritRes: 3 - 3 = 0
Prosperity: 41
Briton Population Control: 33
Briton Wealth: 15 - 6 = 9
Dux Resources: 0 + 6 = 6
Dux: Pres 13, Pres + Pros = 54, 54 - 60 = -6
Civs: BritCtl 33, Ctl-27 = +6
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 15, Ren-50+8(3S)=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 12, 12 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -38

Civitate up.
96 10/9/2018 2:56:00 AM Turn 1 Scotti Message Randy, I think to reduce or use Wealth in this situation requires that you do a Requisition rather than the Build.

Per 1.5.2, Army Preemption, Dux cannot spend Wealth for its own Factions Commands and Feats. "Under [...] Autonomy with Military Dominance (per the Imperium track, 6.8.2), the Dux Faction may spend Briton Resources (blue cylinder; not Wealth, 1.8.4) for Commands, Feats, Annona, and Upkeep [...]."

Per 1.8.4 "Civitates may at any time spend (pay) Wealth as if Briton Resources, and they must do so if called upon to spend Resources but Briton Resources are at 0." But "called upon to spend Resources" doesn’t include any and all actions taken by a different Faction (such as a Dux Train Command or Build Feat). Designer comment on BGG confirms:

"No, the Dux can never directly use Wealth. That is one big advantage of Wealth for the Civitates, to pur Resources outside the grasp of the Dux.

"Still, the Civitates may voluntarily gift Wealth as Resources to the Dux, and the Dux may Requisition Wealth when Briton Resources are down to zero."

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2053910/dux-use-civitates-wealth

95 10/8/2018 8:40:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message I did a train with build Feat

I spent all of the Civitate resources and wealth. It was the only way I could see to keep the game going. Hopefully I did not miscount the cards.

In doing that my prestige went up 4.

BritRes: 3-3=0
Prosperity: 41
Briton Population Control: 33
Briton Wealth: 15-15=0
Dux: Pres 13+4=17, Pres + Pros 54+4=58, 58 - 60 = -2
Civs: BritCtl 33, Ctl-27 = +6
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 15, Ren-50+8(3S)=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 12, 12 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -38

Civitate up.
94 10/8/2018 6:21:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Four warbands settle in Durtriges.

Total of 7 plunder converted to 7 renown.

I think that's it. Pulled the new card.

The only thing that changed was Saxon renown - increased by 7.

BritRes: 5-2=3
Prosperity: 41
Briton Population Control: 33
Briton Wealth: 15
Dux: Pres 13, Pres + Pros = 54, 54 - 60 = -6
Civs: BritCtl 33, Ctl-27 = +6
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 15, Ren-50+8(3S)=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 12, 12 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -38

It looks like there was a miscalculation prior on the Saxon margin, though, as the margin is still -27 (15-40+8=-27).

Dux up.

93 10/8/2018 2:50:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 9

4
4
2
3
1
1
1
4
6


Message from Saxons:
Will do Return with Settle.

Settle first in Durotriges - will roll 9 dice for the nine raiders in Durotriges.

Need a 4-6 to convert to warbands.
92 10/8/2018 12:59:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message G2-029-Scotti-Pass-Event is posted. I Passed in order to take Niall Noigallach. +1 Scotti Resource on the Pass.

BritRes: 5-2=3
Prosperity: 41
Briton Population Control: 33
Briton Wealth: 15
Dux: Pres 13, Pres + Pros = 54, 54 - 60 = -6
Civs: BritCtl 33, Ctl-27 = +6
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 8, Ren-50+8(3S)=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 12, 12 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -38

Over to Saxons.
91 10/8/2018 12:49:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message I did lower the population counts during the Saxon turn, but I forgot about the refugees markers.
90 10/8/2018 12:22:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message Civs Mustered. Over to Scotti

BritRes: 5-2=3
Prosperity: 41
Briton Population Control: 33
Briton Wealth: 15
Dux: Pres 13, Pres + Pros = 54, 54 - 60 = -6
Civs: BritCtl 33, Ctl-27 = +6
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 8, Ren-50+8(3S)=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -39
89 10/8/2018 12:06:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message This is what we have for game state

BritRes: 5
Prosperity: 41
Briton Population Control: 33
Briton Wealth: 15
Dux: Pres 13, Pres + Pros = 54, 54 - 60 = -6
Civs: BritCtl 33, Ctl-27 = +6
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 8, Ren-50+8(3S)=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -39
88 10/7/2018 12:00:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message Is the below-referenced Q&A on BGG on point? (Although not official in itself it references certain errata.)

The answer given is that the Plunder only occurs after the battle, one in which (in our case) Civitates are the functional attacking Faction: "when you force a battle during Ravage, then you are the attacker".

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1966596/battle-deep-raidravage

Q: “[...] in the case of a barbarian using either surprise to Deep Raid or Ravage, and the "receiving" faction deciding to force a fight, who in that case is the defender and the attacker?”

A: "From the errata and clarification: Quote:
...In the Deep Raid Region, either the Dux or a Faction with Control (1.6) — the Dux has the first option — may force a Battle (3.6), with them as the Defenders and the Deep Raiding Faction as the Attackers, before the Raiders Plunder the Region..."

Note that at the end of the exchange a poster made a distinction between Deep Raid and Ravage:

"I believe Deep Raid and Ravage actually work differently in this regard. As has been said, when you, the raidee, force a battle during Deep Raid, you are the defender. However, when you force a battle during Ravage, then you are the attacker. You only have the option to force battle during a Ravage if the raiding faction elected not to battle previously, whereas on Deep Raid, it is the prerogative of the Dux or the controlling faction to pick a fight and try and reduce the number of raiders before they can take all the Plunder they might otherwise get. Also, whereas Deep Raid is strictly limited to one battle, Ravage may have more, if the Saxons declined to battle in a region with multiple other factions."
87 10/7/2018 11:57:00 AM Turn 1 Saxons Message I would say the first plunder goes back to prosperity and the rest (half rounding down), if any, are on the Civitates or Dux pieces.

That's how I read it.
86 10/7/2018 10:47:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message Not sure how to handle the Plunder in Regni. The Saxons are the executing faction still i think, but the Civs choose to battle...

If the executing Faction removed any enemy pieces
carrying Plunder (1.7.4), that Faction may either distribute
half (round down) of the removed Plunder among attacking
Units (other than Cavalry); or, if Briton, return the first
removed Plunder to the Battle space as Prosperity (1.7.1-.3); or,
if Barbarian in a space that it Controls (1.6), gain +1 Renown
for each removed Plunder. Set other removed Plunder aside,
off board.
85 10/4/2018 9:58:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Makes sense to me.
84 10/4/2018 9:51:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message I think it's clear that both sides would fight together before Fragmentation, but each unit can only fight once. So if Dux chooses so, they both Battle, and if not and Civs choose they would also both battle. After Fragmentation it's a decision which only affects the on side

>> but no non-Saxon Unit may Battle more than once, and so
Britons fighting together may Battle only once
83 10/4/2018 8:42:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message Over to Civitate to battle Regni
82 10/4/2018 8:30:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message You're good. I forgot about that. I'm just a barbarian, after all...

Go ahead and do your worst, Roman!
81 10/4/2018 8:30:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message You're good. I forgot about that. I'm just a barbarian, after all...

Go ahead and do your worst, Roman!
80 10/4/2018 8:29:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message I think it is fairly clear we battle together when until fragmentation. From the start of Battle 3.6:

"Whenever two Factions do Battle, whether from a Battle Command (3.2.4, 3.3.4, 3.4.4, 3.5.4), Dux Intercept (3.2.3), Barbarian Raid (3.4.1, 3.5.1), enemy response to Barbarian Deep Raid via Surprise Feat (4.4.2, 4.5.2) or to Saxon Ravage (4.4.3), or an Event, they use the Battles procedure below and as listed on the Battles aid sheet.
3.6.1 General. The following applies during all Battles. BRITON COOPERATION: Unless at Fragmentation (6.8.1) or a Battle between the Dux and Civitates, Dux pieces (Cavalry, Forts, and red Foederati) and Civitates pieces (Comitates, Militia, Towns, Hillforts, and blue Foederati) within a Battle space fight as a single attacking or defending side. Under Fragmentation, Dux and Civitates pieces fight as separate Factions.

Please advise if this is not clear before I execute.
79 10/4/2018 8:19:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Question: the description for Ravage says that the Dux then the Civitates can battle. Does that mean that they battle separately? That's obviously what I'd like, and that's how I read it, but I can be wrong. Anybody know for sure?
78 10/4/2018 6:21:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message Civitate, I say we battle in Dux phase in Atrebates. I can take the loss, in fact think I have too to avoid leaving 1/2 loss uninflicted since battle rather than assault. I assume I have to get your permission to use your militia. You can then battle in your phase in Regni. Please advise on use of your militia.
77 10/4/2018 11:46:00 AM Turn 1 Saxons Message I believe you're right on Regni. I actually didn't really think of that! Those Foederati...

And I also didn't think of the refugee markers, either, so I'll need to do that.

Let me know on the other battles, if they happen.
76 10/4/2018 9:04:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message If I battle in Regini I believe I would eliminate 6 of the 7 Raiders (Assuming no evade or ambush) right? then their one remaining raider would do no damage with 1/2 a loss inflicted

Civitates will get 2 refugee counters for the population loss
75 10/3/2018 10:30:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Durotriges population decreased from 34 to 33.

No battle in Regni, and no battle in Atrebates or Durotriges (unless Dux/Civitates force battle). I don't see a reason to battle the strongholds...do the Dux or Civitates want to come out to play...?
74 10/3/2018 10:16:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from Saxons:
Ravage in Durotriges
73 10/3/2018 10:14:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Die roll request Request: 4-sided die x 3

4
4
2


Message from Saxons:
Population decreased in Atrebates. Also decreased the marker from 35 to 34

Durotriges
72 10/3/2018 10:13:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from Saxons:
Ravage in Atrebates
71 10/3/2018 10:11:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Die roll request Request: 4-sided die x 3

2
1
3


Message from Saxons:
Atrebates
70 10/3/2018 10:11:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Saxons:
Ravage in Regni - 4-6 means -1 population
69 10/3/2018 10:09:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Die roll request Request: 4-sided die x 3

4
2
2


Message from Saxons:
Regni
68 10/3/2018 10:08:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Raid with Ravage in three regions - Regni, Atrebates, and then Durotriges. Will pay 2 renown each to get 3d4 raiders, but need to subtract 1 because of the patrol in Oceanus Britannicus (one red fort in Atrebates). Will do Ravage in all three.
67 10/2/2018 8:21:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message Dux take card

BritRes: 5
Prosperity: 50
Briton Population Control: 35
Briton Wealth: 15
Dux: Pres 12, Pres + Pros = 62, 62 - 60 = +2
Civs: BritCtl 35, Ctl-27 = +8
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 13, Ren-50+15(3S)=-22 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -39

Over to the Saxons
66 10/2/2018 1:27:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Saxons did a pass - not many options for us barbarians this round.

Over to the Mighty Dux!
65 10/2/2018 5:32:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message Ah I thought Raiders and Militia fought in the same Battle Step but i see that is not the case. Thanks and i will fix
64 10/2/2018 5:23:00 AM Turn 1 Scotti Message I think there is one correction to made in the resolution of Battle in Brigantes where 3 Scotti Raiders faced off against 3 Militia and 1 Cavalry. The Briton pieces eliminated the Raiders in Steps 1 & 2 with no loss to themselves, so 1 Militia should be restored to Brigantes.
63 10/2/2018 5:14:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message Battle's done. Changes to Resources (-2) and Wealth (+2)

BritRes: (7-2)=5
Prosperity: 50
Briton Population Control: 35
Briton Wealth (13+2)=15
Dux: Pres 12, Pres + Pros = 62, 62 - 70= +2
Civs: BritCtl 35, Ctl-27=+8
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 13, Ren-50+15(3S)=-22 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -39

Over to the Saxons
62 10/1/2018 8:27:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Both Saxons and Scotti fail the evade - back to the Civitates.
61 10/1/2018 8:27:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Saxons:
Saxons will also attempt to evade, die roll in ACTS. Fens is home terrain for Saxons, so success is on a 5 or 6.
60 10/1/2018 1:38:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from Scotti:
The Scotti will try to Evade in Brigantes. Will make that roll here in ACTS. Brigantes is Home terrain so the Evade succeeds on a roll of 4-6.
59 10/1/2018 1:17:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message Civs Battle and Rule

Both Saxons and Scotti have Evade/Ambush choices.
58 10/1/2018 12:31:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Also, not sure that I'd want to play Saxon pivotal event just yet anyway. With 44 cards left, that really leaves me without my main big push.

I think it's over to the Civitates
57 10/1/2018 12:29:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Just looked at that - Saxon's aren't in a position to play pivotal event yet.

So, Civitates is up.
56 10/1/2018 12:17:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message Don't think the Saxons are eligible for their Pivotal as they need Renown to be 15 (they are at 13)
55 9/30/2018 11:44:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Okay- I'm going to take a closer look at this. I was out for the weekend.

Lots of changes; not sure if I want to blow my powder this early in the game. I think I'd like to keep my card for a later time, but you may be right.
54 9/29/2018 12:13:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message We have Ambrosius Aurelianus followed by Arthur. A somewhat complex set of alternatives, for Britons especially, since both cards' unshadeds affect Dominance.

But the Imperium Phase could have the last word, so to speak, on Dominance and cast the decision in terms of ‘Wealth minus Prestige’. Differential 10 or higher and it’s Civilian Dominance. Differential 6, 7, 8 or 9 and Dominance stays at wherever it is without change. Differential 5 or lower and it’s Military Dominance.

We are at Wealth=13 and Prestige=12. Differential=1.

{@Dux: With 8 Towns on the map currently Epoch Phase Hoarding (6.2.1) would allow more Wealth-creation from Towns (non-Cymbrogi, the Civ Pivotal) than from Hillforts (with Cymbrogi). So if you shift Dominance to Military via Arthur I doubt Civitates can shift it back.}

{@Civitates: Timing of Epoch could (probably will) materially the above. But if it's basically correct then at the moment Dux may have an Auto-win in prospect: Dux has 62 Pros&Pres and only needs 61 AND Coel Then (the Dux Pivotal) trumps Cymbrogi (the Civ Pivotal) enabling an Arthur-created Military Dominance to be preserved.

{@Saxons: If you were to play Adventus Saxonum (the Saxon Pivotal) now, the order is Saxons-Scotti-Dux-Civitates; but currently only Saxons and Civitates are Eligible. Scotti wouldn't benefit directly. I've been wondering whether the value of Adventus Saxonum its ability to block other Pivotals. I don't think so here: it's just too contingent on what the Britons do. If it were me I'd play Adventus Saxonum now (strike while the iron is hot, lock in major gains); along with that Battle Civitates with Shield Wall in Iceni taking it over; and leave it to the Britons to arm-wrestle over Dominance and Pros+Pres on the one hand and Briton Control on the other.}
53 9/29/2018 12:09:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message
52 9/29/2018 11:02:00 AM Turn 1 Dux Message Civitate if you chose to pass on the card feel free to include my forces in any moves to battle or battles. Just give me a chance to approve before executing.
51 9/29/2018 11:00:00 AM Turn 1 Dux Message So here is where we stand:

Dux: Pros+Pres = 62 and only needs to be >60, so Margin now +1. But Dux lacks an Auto-win sans Military Dominance.

Civitates: Briton Control = 35 and only needs to be > 27, so Margin now +8 AND with Civilian Dominance the Civs DO have an Auto-win.

Saxons: (a) or (b) below.

(a) Have 0 Saxon Control and need 11, so -11.
(b) Still one Settlement short and Renown = 13, so -27 margin for Renown.

Scotti: Need 46 Renown, have 11, so at -34 and also need one more Settlement.

Civitate are up--couple nice cards for us showing.
50 9/29/2018 10:37:00 AM Turn 1 Scotti Message I made the successful Evade dieroll (a '6').

This is important: the next vlog should be based not on my 018 but on "G2-017-Dux Command resource payment". I opened and ran the similarly numbered "G2-017-Dux Feat and Event" in my Dropbox folder. I should instead have open and run "G2-017-Dux Command resource payment" in order to reflect the current game-state.
49 9/29/2018 9:31:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message yep
48 9/29/2018 9:29:00 AM Turn 1 Dux Message I think it necessary I declare who all is involved in the battle before ambush/evade dr decision is made. Civitates I would like you to join me. Agreed?
47 9/29/2018 8:51:00 AM Turn 1 Dux Message Dux doing an intercept at the cost of two civitate resources. Scotti can try ambush or evade. Posting second file to subrtact resources
46 9/29/2018 8:38:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message yep np

John - no worries about the mistake. We are still learning and none of us caught it
45 9/29/2018 6:48:00 AM Turn 1 Dux Message Civitate
I would like to spend 2 resources to intercept in Brigante. Okay?

44 9/28/2018 7:28:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Yikes! This could end up being a really short game - the Epoch isn't very far away!

I'm traveling a bit this weekend, but I will take a look at the cards and see if I want to play my Pivotal event. I can read the messages but won't be able to play anything until Sunday.
43 9/28/2018 6:36:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message Further re the screw-up just-described, the Scotti Raid into Votadini could legally have been made from Caledonia. However, one of the two Raids into Textoverdi or Brigantes was illegal, since the Surprise Feat allowed only 1 Deep Raid.
42 9/28/2018 6:25:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message G2-016-Scotti-Event is posted. Played the shaded, Roman Administration Crumbles.

Screw-up: I just noted that the in-effect Scotti Pivotal, Conspiratio Barbarica, made the Scotti Raid from Oceanus Septentrionalis an illegal move.

Sorry for that error, which unfortunately we cannot easily undo.

The play just now of shaded Roman Administration Crumbles shifted to Autonomy-Civilian. Markers remain the same but there are effects on Margins. These are the new calculations:

Dux: Pros+Pres = 62 and only needs to be >60, so Margin now +1. But Dux lacks an Auto-win sans Military Dominance.

Civitates: Briton Control = 35 and only needs to be > 27, so Margin now +8 AND with Civilian Dominance the Civs DO have an Auto-win.

Saxons: (a) or (b) below.

(a) Have 0 Saxon Control and need 11, so -11.
(b) Still one Settlement short and Renown = 13, so -27 margin for Renown.

Scotti: Event doesn’t change the position. Need 46 Renown, have 11, so at -34 and also need one more Settlement.

{@Saxons: Per my vlog, after Dux goes you might want to consider playing your Pivotal Event.}

I played Roman Administration Crumbles to force the game into uncharted paths, in hopes of getting my Faction past the nearing Epoch.

Over to Dux.
41 9/28/2018 12:44:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Got it - looked so much like my other play I wasn't sure!

Moved the Civitates cylinder to "Command with Feat" and then the Saxons take the event again - just too juicy to pass up.

Removed two Prosperity from each region and all Civitates pieces. Saxon Foederati keeps Briton in control of Catuvellauni, but Briton loses control in Cantiaci.

Prosperity = 50
Briton Control = 35

Dux: Prosperity + Prestige = 62; Margin -13
Civitates: Control = 36; Margin -1
Saxons: One settlement short, No control, Renown = 13 (-27 margin for renown)
Scotti: Renown = 11; Margin -34

Check my work. Civitates finally under the victory margin, but they're still in striking distance!

Scotti up on.
40 9/27/2018 3:46:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message Are we good with the cards ?
39 9/27/2018 3:42:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message I've noticed before that the End Card Play function does not work. maybe that was the issue. i will take a look
38 9/27/2018 3:06:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message {@Saxons: Surrey’s shaded Tribal War would eliminate 2 Towns. Maybe worth considering for Britons replenish Civitates Resources via Trade Commands and amount is keyed to # of Towns.}
37 9/27/2018 2:54:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message I think the event Saxons took in 007 was shaded Tribal War under Shades of Boudicca; and it applied to Iceni and Trinovantes. Surrey's (the Current's) shaded Tribal War applies to Catuvellauni and Cantiaci.
36 9/27/2018 2:02:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message I think somehow the cards got messed up. Kevin, were you plaing "Groans of the Britons"? I see the current card is Surrey, but I think I played that one earlier (took the event, which is what placed my Foederati and Settlement in Trinovantes). Did something get missed?
35 9/27/2018 8:44:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message Saxons are up!
34 9/27/2018 8:44:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message Civs Muster and Invite

Net changes (markers): +2 to Briton Control. It stands now at 37 (35+2).

I think the Foederati Settlements count for VC so adjusting them too for both Saxons and Scotti (both have 3 settlements on map)

BritRes: 15
Prosperity: 52+2=54
Briton Population Control: 37
Dux: Pres 12, Pres + Pros = 66, 66 - 75= -9
Civs: BritCtl 37, Ctl-36=+1
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 13, Ren-50+15(3S)=-22 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 15 (for 3S) = -39
33 9/27/2018 6:36:00 AM Turn 1 Scotti Message G2-013-Scotti-Battle is posted.
Net changes (markers): -2 to Briton Control. It stands now at 35 (37-2).

BritRes: 15
Prosperity: 52+2=54
Briton Population Control: 35
Dux: Pres 12, Pres + Pros = 66, 66 - 75= -9
Civs: BritCtl 37, Ctl-36=+1
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 13, Ren-50+5xS=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 5 (for 1S) = -49

Over to Civitates.
32 9/26/2018 6:30:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message Battles resolved

1 prestige gained for each battle and 1 plunder back to prosperity in each battle

Over to Scotti for the next play

BritRes: 15
Prosperity: 52+2=54
Briton Population Control: 37
Dux: Pres 12, Pres + Pros = 66, 66 - 75= -9
Civs: BritCtl 37, Ctl-36=+1
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 13, Ren-50+5xS=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 5 (for 1S) = -49
31 9/26/2018 4:10:00 AM Turn 1 Scotti Message G2-011-DuxBattle-Scotti_Evasion is posted. Both rolls unsuccessful. Back to Dux.
30 9/25/2018 8:43:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message you can always roll on ACTS
29 9/25/2018 8:03:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message You are successful
28 9/25/2018 7:36:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Saxons choose to evade
27 9/25/2018 7:01:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message Sax Warbands can ambush in home terrain. You are in home terrain in Iceni. evade is 5-6, ambush is just on a 6.
26 9/25/2018 5:52:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message I'm away from my main computer - I believe the best bet for the Saxons is to try to evade everything.

Correct? I don't think I can ambush, right?
25 9/25/2018 5:29:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message We have 3 battle spaces. 2 vs scotti and 1 vs saxons. need ambush/evade declarations and rolls. Thanks.
24 9/25/2018 5:02:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message To my Scotti brethren - yep, we need to start coordinating here. I think cutting off the roads is a good start - deep raid material. Their advantage is those roads, among other things, but I think we can try to start with that.
23 9/25/2018 1:40:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message Went ahead and did the invite. Randy let us know if any problems with the Dux pieces picked up.

Otherwise over to Dux for the next play

BritRes: 21-6=15
Prosperity: 52
Briton Population Control: 37
Dux: Pres 10, Pres + Pros = 62, 62 - 75= -13
Civs: BritCtl 37, Ctl-36=+1
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 13, Ren-50+5xS=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 5 (for 1S) = -49
22 9/25/2018 11:10:00 AM Turn 1 Scotti Message {@:Civitates: Excellent catch, Kevin. Sorry I missed that.

Game-unrelated: I cannot get the ACTS game journal to update. All I see is my email, I only see yours and Randy’s (so far four in all) in my gmail. Refresh Display, logging out of ACTs and logging back in, closing the ACTS window, all fail to solve the problem.}

{@Saxons: The canny Britons are combining their Factions' ability to fight together with a Foederati-based 'use Barbarians to fight Barbarians' approach.

Establishing firm Saxon control of Corieltauvi — central-Britain Road space that is also Fens — wouldn't hamstring that tactic by the Britons but it would regionalize it, making it a little less strong.

You’ve got three Settlements currently, I have one. Yet I think *Foederati* Settlements are extremely insecure: our Settlements have *no* Garrisons. Dux can (at their leisure) attack and eliminate the blue Foederati Settlements, Civitates the red ones.

A lot depends for me/us on whether my incipient Celtic kingdom of Northumbria dies aborning due to failed Evades. Should much of it survive this onslaught we may eventually be able to get something going jointly along the Brigantes-Corieltauvi line.

I’d of course be interested in any other ideas you have for Barbarian cooperation.}
21 9/25/2018 10:27:00 AM Turn 1 Scotti Message I found it a bit hard to follow but think it's all good based on my understanding of Briton Road-assisted March.

Let's be sure our understanding is the same (I'm not sure if it applies to the Civitates March just completed). As long as the necessary Briton Control exists at the start of a March, Briton Road-assisted March permits any amount of generic 'backtracking', i.e. Troops located in space ‘Y’ can Road-March into space 'Z', pick up Troops there, move back into space 'Y' and then Road-March to adjacent space 'X' or on to any other eligible spaces that are Road-connected. A group may do such a ‘move-in, pick-up, and move-back-out’ any number of times during a Briton March.

By virtue of this (if the above is indeed correct), unblocked Roads confer on the Britons an ability to re-position Troops wholesale — with the exception (of course) of Militia, which can only go to an adjacent space Road or no Road.

Moreover the last space entered in a March need *not* be Road-connected. From the penultimate, Road-connected space of a Briton March, a Group can move into 1 more adjacent space that is not Road-connected. This is confirmed by this Q&A with the designer (1st Q&A):

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1932377/march-clarification-and-other-upgradesse

Hence space-Control issues aside — which is of course a huge exception — there’s no space in Briton that cannot be reached in this way by Briton March.

If no one else sees any issue with the Civitates March, Kevin could proceed to do the Invite in Deceangli.



20 9/25/2018 9:06:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message Civs Will March and Invite
March's done. Randy pls let me know if you are with the Dux pickups and if someone wants to confirm the moves are legal before i continue i think that would be good
19 9/24/2018 12:45:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message Randy - thinking of MArch into the Northern areas setting you up for Battle next turn?
18 9/24/2018 11:51:00 AM Turn 1 Saxons Message I think you're correct, actually. I misread that - it's "and" a settlement, not "or" - I made a new log file and updated that.

NOW over to the Civitates...
17 9/24/2018 11:35:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message Shouldn't 3 Saxon Foederati have been placed as part of the event too?
16 9/23/2018 2:13:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message BritRes: 21 (unchanged)
Prosperity: 52 (I updated this)
Briton Population Control: 37 (I adjusted this)
Dux: Pres 10, Pres + Pros = 62, 62 - 75= -13
Civs: BritCtl 37, Ctl-36=+1

I believe that's it.

To the Civitates
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 13, Ren-50+5xS=-27 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 11, 11 - 65 + 5 (for 1S) = -49
15 9/23/2018 2:01:00 PM Turn 1 Saxons Message Saxons were tempted by the event, but being first on the next one, and the next one looking far jucier, the Saxons passed.

Next event, replaced Civitates town in Trinovantes and replaced with Saxon settlement as foederati to the Dux.
14 9/23/2018 12:52:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message Correction vlog posted.

To Saxons.
13 9/23/2018 12:41:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message You’re right. It’s right there in the rule. I was reading off the Player Aid card which says “and the attacker has at least as many Troops as the Stronghold’s Capacity”. I’ll do a correction vlog.
12 9/23/2018 12:20:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message Don't think you can Seige with Raiders...

3.6.6 Siege. After any Battle Consequences, the attacker may
besiege one or both defending Strongholds in the Battle space
to wear down Withdrawn defenders if meeting the following
requirements.
• All defending Units in the space must have Evaded, Withdrawn,
or been removed in Field Battle.
• Besieged Strongholds may not have been Assaulted.
• The besieger must have a number Troops (not Raiders) in the
space at least equal to the Holding Capacity of that Stronghold.
Count each attacking Troop for only one Siege that Battle.
11 9/23/2018 12:17:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message Corrected diary (my error just now). You had it right when you wrote:
“Scot: Ren 15, Ren-65+5xS=-45”.

So with the decrease in ScotRen to 11, the last line of the diary stands corrected below to -49.

BritRes: 21
Prosperity: 59 - 6 = 53
Dux: Pres 10, Pres + Pros = 63, 63 - 75= -12
Civs: BritCtl 41, Ctl-36=+5
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 12, Ren-50+5xS=-28 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 15 - 4 = 11, 11 - 65 + 5 (for 1S) = -49

Over to Saxons.
10 9/23/2018 12:10:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message Correction to previous diary entry:
“Scot: Ren 15, Ren-65+5xS=-45”. Correction, it = -55

What happened (markers): -6 to Prosperity, -4 to ScoRen

BritRes: 21
Prosperity: 59-6=53
Dux: Pres 10, Pres+Pros=63, 63-75=-12
Civs: BritCtl 41, Ctl-36=+5
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 12, Ren-50+5xS=-28 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 15-4=11, 11-65+5(for1Sett)=-59

To Saxons
9 9/23/2018 9:28:00 AM Turn 1 Dux Message I think you only need a withdrawal decision from me in Textoverdi. And I will withdraw.
8 9/23/2018 8:14:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message Civ Militia will withdraw inside the Strongholds in Votadini and Brigantes.

Need Dux decision on the other 2
7 9/22/2018 8:22:00 PM Turn 1 Scotti Message Scotti did a Command and Feat. The vlog is called ‘pre-Withdraw’ because Civitates & Dux have to decide whether to Withdraw to their respective Strongholds.

I will update the markers in the next vlog which will conclude the Scotti as 1st Eligible, by reducing Prosperity & Pros&Pres.

@Saxons: Looking ahead, Dux Bellorum’s Shaded Hated Strongman orange-sail imposes on the Britons one crippling downside of what happens to them in Fragmentation — an inability to fight together — while leaving them saddled with their higher, pre-Frag victory conditions. It's an event both us Barbarians are likely to benefit from (especially as we're just starting the Epoch) and I hope you'll take it.
6 9/22/2018 1:49:00 PM Turn 1 Dux Message Dux take the command and feat.

BritRes: 32-11=21
Prosperity: 57+2=59
Dux: Presitge 10, Pre+Pro-75=-6
Civs: BritCtl 41, Ctl-36=+5
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 12, Ren-50+5xS=-28 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 15, Ren-65+5xS=-45

To Scotti
5 9/22/2018 7:51:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message ok we are off

Civs take the Event. Briton contolled population increases by 1

BritRes: 32
Prosperity: 57
Dux: Presitge 10, Pre+Pro-75=-8
Civs: BritCtl 41, Ctl-36=+5
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 12, Ren-50+5xS=-28 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 15, Ren-65+5xS=-45

Over to Dux
4 9/22/2018 5:39:00 AM Turn 1 Dux Message Looks good to me.
3 9/21/2018 8:24:00 PM Turn 1 Civs Message Here's what i have for Start of Game State

Start of Game State

BritRes: 32
Prosperity: 57
Dux: Presitge 10, Pre+Pro-75=-8
Civs: BritCtl 40, Ctl-36=+4
Sax: Ctl 0, Ren 12, Ren-50+5xS=-28 or Ctl-10=-10
Scot: Ren 15, Ren-65+5xS=-45

Let me know if this format is clear or needs some adjustment or if i have any of the math wrong.
2 9/21/2018 11:57:00 AM Turn 1 Saxons Message Got it - looks good. I actually like ACTS. Using it in another game as well - Pax Romana.
1 9/21/2018 9:06:00 AM Turn 1 Civs Message ok here is the module we will use for ingame comms.

I will post the current VC positions and we can work on a template


Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations