Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Generic Module: Hamel / Daw - game 2 Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
85 6/24/2019 6:16:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Success.

Your 0.
84 6/24/2019 6:15:00 PM Turn 1 German Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from German:
g-7-0
Activate 30
Blow 30-29 +5
83 6/24/2019 6:15:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Lehr to C
Most of SS to B
12SS/28, FA to A

g-7-0
Activate 30
Blow 30-29 +5
82 6/24/2019 5:55:00 PM Turn 1 German Edit Supply Points Allied: from 17 to 7
German: from 13 to 13
81 6/24/2019 10:01:00 AM Turn 1 German Message Right you are. With all of the other beach successes I forgot that Omaha was still hanging tough. Good for me.
80 6/24/2019 5:50:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message >You have 17. There are 2 Omaha Depots and you only used 1, so that is 10 to the bank.

Thanks but I don't think I can save supply if the beach is not allied controlled.
79 6/24/2019 4:43:00 AM Turn 1 German Edit Supply Points Allied: from 0 to 17
German: from 13 to 13
78 6/24/2019 4:42:00 AM Turn 1 German Message You have 17. There are 2 Omaha Depots and you only used 1, so that is 10 to the bank.

Regroups done. Just in file.
77 6/23/2019 8:00:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Message Bridge not fixed - please put the repair marker on
the bridge on your night move
76 6/23/2019 8:00:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from Allied:
roll for bridge repair
modifier +2
75 6/23/2019 7:58:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Message Utah - supply on beach
1 for arty on Utah
6 for units in SME
lost 2 to CA
Save 1

Omaha -
All spent units to fresh - D1 unit to spent
Save NONE

Gold - worth 9
4 for units on breach to fresh
2 for unit in 19 to fresh
2 for tank to spent
Save 1

Juno worth 10
2 units to fresh
2 for unit to spent
2 for unit in 9
1 for bridge attempt into 16
Save 3

Sword - worth 9
all 7 units to fresh
save 2

TOTAL saved 7


74 6/23/2019 7:50:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

3
4
2
3


Message from Allied:
air supply goes to Utah -
D1 4th modifier +3
D1 4th modifier +3
arty unit modifier +4
spent 4th modifier +4
73 6/23/2019 7:47:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Edit Supply Points Allied: from 0 to 0
German: from 0 to 13
72 6/23/2019 10:20:00 AM Turn 1 German Message Deports worth 5
53 - 1 unit Save 4
52 - 2 units, 1 in 50 Save 1
31 - 2 units, 1 in 30 Save 1
29 - 2 units, 1 in 19 Save 1
16 - 2 units Save 3
5 - 2 units Save 3

Reserves to 13, Day starts at 0.

Your refits.
71 6/21/2019 5:29:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message and day ends
70 6/21/2019 5:28:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

4
1


Message from Allied:
Alright !

Now for day end roll
69 6/21/2019 5:28:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from Allied:
attempt to repair bridge from Gold to 16
modifer +2
68 6/20/2019 10:32:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Only 19-20

Your 9.
67 6/20/2019 10:32:00 PM Turn 1 German Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
4


Message from German:
Awfully glad those aren't assault rolls

g-6-9
Activate Bayeux
Blow 20-18 +3
20-19 +5

66 6/20/2019 10:10:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Message WOW
65 6/20/2019 10:10:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
6


Message from Allied:
Brought on last arty in Gold in case you fix your
CA in 19

end of day roll
64 6/20/2019 5:28:00 PM Turn 1 German Message g-6-8
Activate 52
919(-) to 50

Your 8.
63 6/20/2019 5:37:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
4


Message from Allied:
now for a LOW roll preferred for end of day please
62 6/20/2019 5:36:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Allied:
Utah approach will try to land arty

interdiction roll
61 6/19/2019 9:45:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Bridge is German
Re-roll?

Your 7.
60 6/19/2019 9:44:00 PM Turn 1 German Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
6


Message from German:
g-6-7
Activate 58
739 to 54 to 52
Interdiction into 52
Seize 52-50 +2
59 6/19/2019 8:37:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

2
5


Message from Allied:
arty lands on Sword to assure it will be ready to go on day 2 - I'll not roll for it as it is spent anyway.

I will roll for day end
58 6/19/2019 2:14:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Nope (can I switch those rolls???)
57 6/19/2019 2:14:00 PM Turn 1 German Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
4


Message from German:
g-6-6
Activate 59
729 to 54 to 52
Interdiction into 52
Bridge seizure 52-50 +2
56 6/19/2019 6:14:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message 16 t0 9 - I believe that's an overrun but nowhere else to go so I'll stop
55 6/19/2019 6:12:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

3
6
3
2


Message from Allied:
Makes it past the CA now for the attack

Attk 7
def 4
54 6/19/2019 6:12:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Allied:
tank attempts to land on Sword and assault.
53 6/18/2019 5:06:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Nope, ends spent in 53
52 6/18/2019 5:06:00 PM Turn 1 German Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

2
2


Message from German:
g-6-5
Activate 60
AOK7 to 53 to 52
Interdiction into 52
If successful, bridge seizure to 50, +2
51 6/18/2019 5:38:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message beach now captured and 9 also taken
50 6/18/2019 5:37:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
4
1
6


Message from Allied:
last CA lands on Juno and attempt to subdue the beach

Attk 6
def 3
49 6/17/2019 8:45:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Reset the results of a-6-3

g-6-4
Activate 6
125 to 5, ends spent

Your 4.
48 6/17/2019 11:02:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message Sorry, the board showed as destroyed but that must have not been corrected by either of us from my last attack?
47 6/17/2019 9:45:00 AM Turn 1 German Message Bob,
German DV = 6
CA(sp) - 3
Beach TEM - 1
Forts (still up as only d1 units) - 2 = 6

You inflict 1CP, so CA goes to d1 and your units are spent in Juno, Forts are now down, so my DV will be reduced to 3 next assault.
46 6/17/2019 5:58:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message overrun - tank continues on to 9 then returns to Juno beach with last MP
45 6/17/2019 5:56:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

3
1
4
1


Message from Allied:
tank and 1 CA land on Juno and assault the damaged CA

Attk 8
def 3
44 6/16/2019 9:48:00 PM Turn 1 German Message So only 1AP, 1/18 goes d1

Your 3.
43 6/16/2019 9:23:00 PM Turn 1 German Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
3
5
4


Message from German:
It was 8:5, CA(d1) +1 +1fresh = 5
so only 2CP's to take

CA to d2, 726(sp) to 29

Bombard Omaha Beach
346/FA vs 1/18(sp)
4:1
42 6/15/2019 7:08:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message well, not quite cleared but all units will be ready for tomorrow's fight.
41 6/15/2019 7:07:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

2
5
2
6


Message from Allied:
Risky move but all 4 units attempt to land on Omaha

Attk 8
def 4
40 6/14/2019 11:49:00 AM Turn 1 German Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from German:
g-6-2
Activate 3
21Pz/22 to 4
from 4 to 5 Interdiction roll
39 6/14/2019 6:18:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
1
1
3


Message from Allied:
One makes it and now assaults the damaged defender

Attk 7
def 3
38 6/14/2019 6:17:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

4
1


Message from Allied:
both of the remaining 665's attempt to land in Utah
37 6/14/2019 6:14:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message This is where I 'surmised' that if these two things applies that the Fort, from the NON BEACH side was NOT in effect.

Anyway, here comes my move
36 6/14/2019 6:13:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message I remember they added this to the FAQ;

Q: May artillery enter a contested beach area from a different area in an optional assault if the entered beach area still has intact fortifications? A: Yes. The fort restrictions under 21.6 cover only landing directly onto the beach from the approach.

Q: Can artillery unaccompanied by a point unit move into a contested beach area that still has intact fortifications if the movement is not from the directly connected approach box? A: Yes. Artillery can destroy beach fortifications with this move by the presence of a spent unit in the beach area at the end of the impulse (15.2, removal of fortifications).


35 6/12/2019 5:05:00 PM Turn 1 German Message I don't have L2's rules, but in AH's, Fortifications apply to DV of Germans in a fortified area.

As the unit in Juno is d1, the forts are still up and will apply to German DV.

Are we good?
34 6/12/2019 8:46:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message various postings -


Kevin: yes it's legal. While the FORT gives a +2 defensive bonus against "all forms of attack" it's only a mandatory assault if the assault is coming across the arrow connecting an approach box to its namesake BEACH. A mandatory assault would still be needed if crossing a German-held bridge (i.e. Gold/Juno bridge).

Nels: That's about "landing," specifically, Ken. "Landing" covers moving from the approach onto the BEACH designated for that approach. When landing legally, further movement is governed by normal movement rules, and movement into an area in an optional assault destroys the FORT because it results in a spent unit on the BEACH. This has been so ruled in tournament play for years. Not every player agrees, but that's the ruling, and has been for years, to my knowledge. I would point out that when the bridge is seized, friendly forces have a bridgehead on the far side of the bridge, conceptually. It's not hard for me to think that additional movement, even by a non-point unit, into that bridgehead, flanks the BEACH defenders and erodes their ability to defend the BEACH against landings from the sea.

Kevin: I agree with Nels re: the concept of an optional assault KO'ing the FORT as long as it winds up spent (i.e. even a non-point unit can do it). It's important to note that FORTs offer their +2 DRM vs. any kind of attack, not just a landing on that BEACH. For example even an optional assault from Juno to Gold vs the Gold CA would face a German +2 drm if the FORT was still up at the start of that impulse. But a spent unit neutralizes that effect. But assault or isolation is needed to reduce or elimination the actual unit. Here's another scenario. The Gold FORT is still up, and the Allies land two units at Juno (at least one must be a point unit). Both units move across the Allied-held Juno/Gold bridge, and one unit first flips spent *before the assault to KO the FORT*, then the Allies assault with a point units but the Germans don't get a +2 drm because the FORT is already KO'd. Per 8.52 I think that's legal - "Units entering the Area without assaulting become Spent when they finish their move" which was before the assault. Nels - what do you think?

Alan: I don't agree with Ken that the rules prohibit the now-universally-used "artillery slide" play but I do agree with him that they SHOULD prohibit it. We have another rule that says that an unaccompanied artillery unit can't even enter a COMPLETELY VACANT enemy-controlled area because it is not a "point unit" and is not supposed to be leading the charge. Notwithstanding the foregoing we are saying that this arty unit can not only enter the battle on a contested BEACH but cause a significant benefit (clearing the FORT) without even fighting - just by standing around. Another oddity I have come across lately is the interaction between bridges and river lines. If you cross an unbridged river line and "stick", you get control of the entire river line and future assaults across that line are not mandatory and yield no defensive bonus. OK so far. But let's say you are contesting Carentan having entered from SME and now you are sitting in Catz. The Germans have a million fresh units in Carentan so you can't seize the 34-44 bridge. But if the German makes the "error" of blowing the bridge, you just need a 4+ to repair on the first try, and presto! you now own the bridge and according to Example 11 in the back of the rulebook, you now magically own the ENTIRE RIVER LINE so you can fling as many units across as you want (not just 5 across the bridge)without creating a mandatory assault and if you do assault, there is no defensive bonus. I mean, I get that if you fought across the river line you control it, but why do engineers swinging a hammer on a bridge give you 5-10 miles of river line? The game has no mechanism for denoting a friendly bridge across an enemy-held river, but maybe it should.

Nels: 21.6 covers the landing area. I think it's pret
33 6/12/2019 8:45:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message Sorry for delay - I was doing some reseach into what I 'remember' - granted this was about the arty moving from Juno to the east then 'non-assaulting' Sword and taking out the beach forts.

Not QUITE the same thing and I do understand it's a Mandatory assault anyway due to failure to capture bridge into Juno - but still not quite sure about fort not being gone - IF unit did land as spent only.

I welcome your thoughts - all taken from CONSIM starting around post #11223
32 6/10/2019 12:54:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Message >Forts still count,

I thought there was some comversation on CONSIM that fort only COUNTS on beach assaults - not 'sideways' assaults.

Example was about attacking Sword from the area to the west - the beach forts were NOT used and since unit (actually didn't even assault - just moved NMA, the fort was 'removed' at end of the impulse.
31 6/10/2019 10:03:00 AM Turn 1 German Message Both go down
30 6/10/2019 10:03:00 AM Turn 1 German Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
4


Message from German:
g-6-1
Activate Bretteville
Blow bridges
16-18 +3
16-17 +5
29 6/10/2019 10:00:00 AM Turn 1 German Message Sorry, but Juno's attack was worse for you.
Forts still count, it was my bridge and a mandatory assault (over my bridge, non-mandatory if you had captured it).
I defended as an 8, so it is a repulse, not a stalemate, so you are d1 back in Gold and the bridge is still mine.
28 6/10/2019 6:04:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

1
2
2
2


Message from Allied:
the 445 now attempts to quite the unit in 19 so Omaha can land -

Attk 5
def 3
27 6/10/2019 6:04:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message well either a tie (D1) or a fail (D1).


26 6/10/2019 6:03:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
2
4
6


Message from Allied:
Nope - attk
Attk 7
def 5 or 7

25 6/10/2019 6:02:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Allied:
tank will attempt to seize bridge into Juno
then attack the spent CA (not from beach so no fortification ( I believe)

first the seize - modifier on +3
24 6/10/2019 6:00:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

2
3


Message from Allied:
Activate Gold Approach

interdiction on tank then 445
23 6/10/2019 5:59:00 AM Turn 1 Allied Message >I just noticed that you only spent your unit at Utah Beach and took out the Fortification.

corrected
22 6/10/2019 1:39:00 AM Turn 1 German Message Bob,

I just noticed that you only spent your unit at Utah Beach and took out the Fortification.

When the unit was spent by Interdiction, it wasn't able to win the battle, so it automatically becomes D1. With no spent unit on the Beach, the Forts remain up.

That is the risk of only sending 1 unit to Utah, the increased risk of having the invasion assault not even happening, and the Forts remain up for following waves.
21 6/9/2019 8:58:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Sword - 2CP's - CA(sp) to d2

Omaha - 2CP's - CA(sp) to d1, 916(sp) retreat to 29

g-6-0
Activate Caen
PAK, FLAK to 16

Your 0.
20 6/9/2019 8:38:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Message win by 2 - Whew....
19 6/9/2019 8:37:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
1
1
5


Message from Allied:
First beach controlled

Finally Omaha
attk 11
def 8
18 6/9/2019 8:36:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

5
6
1
6


Message from Allied:
FAIL - unit D1

Gold
attk 8
def 6
17 6/9/2019 8:35:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

2
4
4
6


Message from Allied:
Sword - win by 2

Juno
atk 6
def 6
16 6/9/2019 8:34:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
2
5
2


Message from Allied:
Omaha - all make it.

Sword
attk 9
def 8
15 6/9/2019 8:33:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 5

6
4
5
6
6


Message from Allied:
Gold all make it.

Omaha - land 1 6, 2 of the 5's and the rangers.

665
555
555
ranger
ranger
14 6/9/2019 8:32:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

2
3
3


Message from Allied:
Sword a 444 spent

Juno - one Canadian unit - NO interdiction roll
Gold - the 3 445's 50th

445
445
445
13 6/9/2019 8:31:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 5

6
1
6
4
2


Message from Allied:
missed unit D1

Sword - 2 444's and the 3 455's

444
444
455
455
455
12 6/9/2019 8:30:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Allied:
Okay, Omaha - land 1 6, 2 of the 5's and the rangers.

Rolls coming. now.

Utah - interdiction on 1 or 2
11 6/9/2019 8:28:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Message British won but no effect as only win by 1

Now for landing assignments and interdiction rolls.

Utah - one unit landing.

Sword - 2 444's and the 3 455's

Juno - one Canadian unit

Gold - the 3 445's 50th

Omaha - I'll wait to see what you flip first.
10 6/9/2019 8:26:00 PM Turn 1 German Message Leave infantry fresh in Grancamp, flipping the FLAK
9 6/9/2019 8:25:00 PM Turn 1 German Message I'll flip both infantry on Omaha Beach, leaving the Art fresh
8 6/9/2019 8:23:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
2
5
6


Message from Allied:
on 31 2 units flipped and 1 shot wasted.

British air on the CA

Attk 5
def 1
7 6/9/2019 8:22:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

3
5
2
4


Message from Allied:
All beach CA are silenced.

Now for the air attacks -
American air on area 31
British air on area 19 - target on both is CA

American attk 5
def 2 due to flak cover
6 6/9/2019 8:20:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

5
3
2
5


Message from Allied:
got CA target and 2 more units of your choice.

Utah -
attk 8
def 3
5 6/9/2019 8:19:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
1
2
3


Message from Allied:
WOW, okay on the American beaches

Omaha - target the CA

attk 8
def 4
4 6/9/2019 8:19:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

5
6
1
6


Message from Allied:
unit flipped

Gold
Attk 8
def 4
3 6/9/2019 8:18:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
5
5
6


Message from Allied:
both units flip

Juno - attk 8
def 4
2 6/9/2019 8:18:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
1
1
1


Message from Allied:
Fail on attack so other unit will grab bridge.
Now for bombardments

Sword - target the CA
attk 8
def 4
1 6/9/2019 8:17:00 PM Turn 1 Allied Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

2
6
5
5


Message from Allied:
Okay,ready to begin.

First the airborne.

In SME - all 4 bridges will be seized.

In Merville I'll fight with one Para first and see
if other one is needed to grab bridge.

attk 3
def 3

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations