Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Generic Module: TPS Marne Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
136 6/17/2019 9:03:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message Only problem I see is:

X 7-5-4 3304 > 3207

Remember it costs +1 MP to move over a river with a bridge (+2 MP if there is no bridge). Thus doesn't it cost 5 for this move?
135 6/17/2019 12:23:00 AM Turn 3 Central Powers Message GE1/GE2 AOA hex row 3000 > 3100

GE 1Army
IV-RES 5-4-4 1605
IV-RES 5-4-4 1602

II 6-4-4 2005D > 2308D
II 6-4-4 2206 > 2208

IV 6-4-4 1805 > 1806
IV 6-4-4 2105 > 2005

III 7-5-4 2806 > 2709
III 7-5-4 2908 > 2809

IX 6-4-4 3007 > 2808
IX 7-5-4 2906 > 3008


II CAV 2-1-6 2405 > 2208
II CAV 1-0-6 2907 > 2808
II CAV 2-1-6 2806 > 3008


GE 2Army
VII 7-5-4 3106D > 3107D
VII 6-4-4 3206

X-RES 7-3-4 3406D > 3507D
X-RES 5-4-4 3606 > 3708

X 7-5-4 3304 > 3207
X 7-5-4 3505 > 3307

GRDS 5-2-4 entry hex 4 > 3204
GRDS 5-2-4 entry hex 4 – 1 hex > 3203
Frickin’ GRDS are useless, it effectively takes 2 steps to increase their strength by 1 step, and only once the Entente have initiative

I CAV 1-0-6 3106D > 3107D
I CAV 2-1-6 3106D > 3406D
I CAV 2-1-6 3506 > 3207


Reinforcement segment – GRDS, see above (I assume the losers can move this turn)

Disruption removal segment – all CP units recover from disruption

Recovery segment – will roll for replacements after I get the OK from you about my move

Combat segment – these are my planned combats.

Combat 3-1
1806 vs. 1807 (woods) at 6-3
+3 CF

Combat 3-2
2208 vs. 2109 (river)
8-5 with 1L due to 2 or more corps
final +2 CF

Combat 3-3
2709 vs. 2710 (river)
7-7, final 0 CF

Combat 3-4
2809 vs. 2910 (river) at 7-5
+2 CF

Combat 3-4
3008 vs. 3109 (river, woods)
9-5 with 1L due to 2 or more corps
final +3 CF

Combat 3-5
3307 vs. 3308 at 7-3
+4 CF

Combat 3-6
3207 vs. 3208 (river, woods)
9-7 with 1L due to 2 or more corps
final +1 CF

let me know….

134 6/16/2019 11:42:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message Just realized I cheated (as usual) once last turn - stacking is 1 INF plus up to 2 stacking units (I assume # of steps, not # of units). Sorry about that.
133 6/16/2019 11:23:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message >>> ready for your turn 3. Don't forget you get reinforcements. <<<

* it doesn't explicitly say (big surprise), but I get the impression from the rules that reinforcements get to move on the turn that they arrive - does that seem right?
(if so, why not put the flipping' reinforcement segment before the movement segment?)
132 6/16/2019 9:43:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message >>> Then I had rolled 3 steps for 6th Army and was not able to use any of them (thought it would be better to attack to relieve pressure on the BEF, but alas).
Now I will use those 3 steps for:
1405 now 7-3-4
1406 now 8-4-4
I think that's it - ready for your turn 3. Don't forget you get reinforcements. <<<

* got it.
Rather than attack your river defense line (the +2DF, and possibly an extra +1DF for woods or town is a real bummer for an attacker), I think I might be better off by pushing you back by simply having you retreat by the required 1 hex, even though that'll mean you'll net a ton of replacement steps.
Again, I know this is a WWI game, but it seems like a lot of this game is whack...
131 6/16/2019 9:30:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message >>> Understood on command integrity. Thanks for clarifying - though it's a dumb rule.

* no shortage of those from TPS

130 6/16/2019 9:29:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message Understood on command integrity. Thanks for clarifying - though it's a dumb rule.
129 6/16/2019 9:29:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message House Rules:

#1. Entente does not take Cav losses in the pre-game setup

#2. All river hexes are treated the same despite different thicknesses

#3. During the friendly movement phase, units that start out of command integrity must move so as to get back into command integrity. If they cannot (because of ZOCs), units must move towards a friendly unit in the same corps designation and afterwards they become Disrupted.

#4. After combat, attacking units that are able to advance can ONLY advance into a hex vacated by a defending unit.

#5. In case of a unit attacking across a river into terrain which includes a defensive benefit, defending units receive the defensive benefit of BOTH hexside and in-hex terrain.

#6. When halving AF due to not having the initiative, each unit is halved individually (rounding down). For example, a 7-3-4 unit attacking in coordination with a 1-2-6 unit attacks with a total of 3 AF.

#7. Once eliminated, BEF Cav units cannot be rebuilt in the Recovery Phase.
128 6/16/2019 9:26:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message Then I had rolled 3 steps for 6th Army and was not able to use any of them (thought it would be better to attack to relieve pressure on the BEF, but alas).

Now I will use those 3 steps for:
1405 now 7-3-4
1406 now 8-4-4

I think that's it - ready for your turn 3. Don't forget you get reinforcements.
127 6/16/2019 9:24:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message VII Corps:
1-2-6 CAV 1102>1106
8–4-4 INF 1402>1303
6-2-4 INF 1304>1405

V-RES Corps:
1-2-6 CAV 1405>1305
1-2-6 CAV 1606>1807
7-3-4 INF 1405>1406
8–4-4 INF 1606
126 6/16/2019 9:23:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message ]]]] Huh? These are my moves for V-RES Corps:
V-RES Corps:
7-3-4 INF 1405>1506
8–4-4 INF 1606>1706
I have only two units in V-RES Corps and they are 2 hexes apart. Did I miss something? <<<

* I have an INF in 1605, and his ZOC extends into 1606 and interrupts the Corps Command Integrity range of 2 intervening hexes that cannot be interrupted by enemy ZOCs (4.5.2)

125 6/16/2019 9:22:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message >>> For my final act, I will attack with the units on the West of the map:
1506, 1604, 1706 vs 1605

* ah. I should've checked with you about this earlier....
I've been playing that multi-hex units are not allowed, based on 8.1.1, "each unit attacks individually" (all of the exceptions refer to CAV stacking with and attacking with a single INF unit)
Of course, would it have killed the TPS fellahs to put an example of combat in the rulebook?

Let me know what you think. If you don't think multi-hex units are allowed in the end, then no doubt you'll want to re-jigger your move (or just give up on yet another lemon of a game from TPS - I think I see a pattern emerging...)


]]]]]] Right you are.... I had already forgotten the combat rules.

Ah, well whats the point of my left flank is the max AF is 4. I guess I'm supposed to patiently wait until turn 7+ for me to gain the initiative...

Let me tweak the left side of the map with my move....
124 6/16/2019 9:21:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message ]]]] Ah! I thought the CAV units were only one step!

Let's put the 0-1-4 CAV in there in 3307, and then in the movement phase let's put him in 3308 (with a 6-2-4 from III Corps) I think I might have eliminated some CAV units in turn 1 thinking they were one step.

* got it.
I make it that was the first FR CAV unit elim. Actually, I think that was the first time a FR CAV unit took a hit.
123 6/16/2019 9:17:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message >>> 8-4-4 INF 1606>1706

* I don't think you can do this as it doesn't maintain V-RES Corps Command Integrity? Maybe stick him in 1606 instead?

]]]]
Huh? These are my moves for V-RES Corps:

V-RES Corps:
7-3-4 INF 1405>1506
8–4-4 INF 1606>1706

I have only two units in V-RES Corps and they are 2 hexes apart. Did I miss something?

122 6/16/2019 9:14:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message >>> Cadre replacement
Sorry that was for the BEF cavalry. I think I get to roll for each corps in the box.
I'll place the CAV unit in 2109. <<<

* I don't know that you can do that, as you can only roll for each corps in the box, but the BR CAV is a CAV Division (not a Corps)
Of course, you can bring back the BEF II 4-3-4 instead?


]]] OK - so you're saying the BEF Cav units can't come back because on the formation chart they are listed as a Division, while all other units on the chart are Corps level?

That seems arbitrary to me, but that's fine. We can add it to the house rules.

"BEF Cav units once eliminated cannot be rebuilt in the Recovety Phase"
121 6/16/2019 9:09:00 PM Turn 3 Entente Message >>> combat 2-3 vs. 3306 (3306 is OOS but this has no effect on DF)
dr=3 = red1/1 result
FR take 1 hit, get disrupted and retreat > 3307. Retreating through a ZOC means the FR take another hit


]]] I’ll elim CAV unit, and then retreat taking a hit - now 6-2-4 is in 3307 (D)

You've taken a total of 3 hits here, i.e. 1 hit in combat, and then 1 hit on each unit due to retreat into a ZOC. That's fine by me, but I think this needs another house rule - I assumed that it would be 1 hit per stack for a unit retreat into a ZOC (of course, the rules aren't clear). Either way is OK by me.


]]]] Ah! I thought the CAV units were only one step!

Let's put the 0-1-4 CAV in there in 3307, and then in the movement phase let's put him in 3308 (with a 6-2-4 from III Corps)

I think I might have eliminated some CAV units in turn 1 thinking they were one step.
120 6/16/2019 8:07:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message >>> For my final act, I will attack with the units on the West of the map:
1506, 1604, 1706 vs 1605

* ah. I should've checked with you about this earlier....
I've been playing that multi-hex units are not allowed, based on 8.1.1, "each unit attacks individually" (all of the exceptions refer to CAV stacking with and attacking with a single INF unit)
Of course, would it have killed the TPS fellahs to put an example of combat in the rulebook?

Let me know what you think. If you don't think multi-hex units are allowed in the end, then no doubt you'll want to re-jigger your move (or just give up on yet another lemon of a game from TPS - I think I see a pattern emerging...)
119 6/16/2019 7:58:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message >>> 8–4-4 INF 1606>1706

* I don't think you can do this as it doesn't maintain V-RES Corps Command Integrity? Maybe stick him in 1606 instead?

118 6/16/2019 7:55:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message >>> Cadre replacement
Sorry that was for the BEF cavalry. I think I get to roll for each corps in the box.
I'll place the CAV unit in 2109. <<<

* I don't know that you can do that, as you can only roll for each corps in the box, but the BR CAV is a CAV Division (not a Corps)
Of course, you can bring back the BEF II 4-3-4 instead?
117 6/16/2019 7:49:00 PM Turn 3 Central Powers Message >>> combat 2-3 vs. 3306 (3306 is OOS but this has no effect on DF)
dr=3 = red1/1 result
FR take 1 hit, get disrupted and retreat > 3307. Retreating through a ZOC means the FR take another hit


]]] I’ll elim CAV unit, and then retreat taking a hit - now 6-2-4 is in 3307 (D)

You've taken a total of 3 hits here, i.e. 1 hit in combat, and then 1 hit on each unit due to retreat into a ZOC. That's fine by me, but I think this needs another house rule - I assumed that it would be 1 hit per stack for a unit retreat into a ZOC (of course, the rules aren't clear). Either way is OK by me.
116 6/16/2019 7:17:00 PM Turn 2 Entente End Turn
115 6/16/2019 7:17:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message If I did that right it is a -/R, which retreats your unit to 1705 and you lose a step.

That's it for me - you're up for turn 3.
114 6/16/2019 7:16:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from Entente:
1506, 1604, 1706 vs 1605

I make it that is 10-5, +5 CF, shifted down to +4 CF
113 6/16/2019 7:16:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message I think that's it - all units have D removed.

For my final act, I will attack with the units on the West of the map:

1506, 1604, 1706 vs 1605

I make it that is 10-5, +5 CF, shifted down to +4 CF

I'll roll in case I have that wrong somehow. In which case I will re-roll.
112 6/16/2019 7:13:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

3


Message from Entente:
FR XVIII Corps
111 6/16/2019 7:13:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Entente:
FR X corps
110 6/16/2019 7:13:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message Place III 5-1-4 in 3410
109 6/16/2019 7:12:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from Entente:
FR III Corps
108 6/16/2019 7:12:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from Entente:
BEF II Corps
107 6/16/2019 7:12:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from Entente:
FR II Cav Corps
106 6/16/2019 7:11:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message Sorry that was for the BEF cavalry. I think I get to roll for each corps in the box.

I'll place the CAV unit in 2109.

Will roll for the other eliminated corps
105 6/16/2019 7:09:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Entente:
Cadre replacement
104 6/16/2019 7:09:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message 3 steps:
none available...
103 6/16/2019 7:09:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from Entente:
6th Army replacements
102 6/16/2019 7:08:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message 5th Army (6 steps)

3608 8-4-4
3808 7-3-4
3408 8-4-4
3908 8-5-4
3109 6-2-4
3208 6-2-4

101 6/16/2019 7:06:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

3


Message from Entente:
5th Army replacements
100 6/16/2019 7:06:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message Add steps to:
2007 (6-5-4)
2509 (6-5-4)

99 6/16/2019 7:05:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Entente:
BEF Replacements
98 6/16/2019 7:05:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message BEF Replacements
97 6/16/2019 7:04:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message Ok - here's my movement:

VII Corps:
1-2-6 CAV 1102>1106
8–4-4 INF 1402>1504
6-2-4 INF 1304>1604

V-RES Corps:
1-2-6 CAV 1405>1305
7-3-4 INF 1405>1506
1-2-6 CAV 1606>1807
8–4-4 INF 1606>1706

BEF III Corps:
1-1-6 CAV 1807>2007
5-4-4 INF 1807>2007

BEF II Corps:
4-3-4 INF 2007>2109 (D)

BEF I Corps:
5-4-4 INF 2407>2409
5-4–4 INF 2607>2509

IV RES Corps:
1-2-4 CAV 2708>2710
6–3-4 INF 2708>2710
6–3-4 INF 2908>2910

XVIII Corps:
1-2-4 CAV 3108>3208
5-1-4 INF 3108>3208
5-1-4 INF 3007>3109

III Corps:
6-2-4 INF 3307>3308 (D)
7–3-4 INF 3407>3408

I Corps:
7–3-4 INF 3607>3608
6-2-4 INF 3707>3808

X Corps:
7–4-4 INF 3908
96 6/16/2019 6:44:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message Looks all good to me - my retreats are listed here:

combat 2-3
3406 vs. 3306 (3306 is OOS but this has no effect on DF)
8-5
final +3 CF
dr=3 = red1/1 result
FR take 1 hit, get disrupted and retreat > 3307. Retreating through a ZOC means the FR take another hit
GE X-RES takes a hit (7-3-4) is disrupted, no advance

]]] I’ll elim CAV unit, and then retreat taking a hit - now 6-2-4 is in 3307 (D)


combat 2-7
3006 vs. 3007 at 7-5
+5 CF
dr=4 = 1/R result
FR retreats, and has to take 1 hit either for retreating into a ZOC (3008) or for retreating into an overstack (3108)
GE takes a hit (6-4-4), adv > 3007

]]] I’ll ret with step loss to 3008 (now 5-1-4)


95 6/16/2019 6:00:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message Hopefully I didn't make too many (any?) mistakes?
I make it that you have a decision on losses for combat 2-3, and a choice of retreat hex for combat 2-7.
Incidentally, the CRT table is kinda weird in places (that figures, with this game). e.g. column +3 has overall better results than column +4
Btw, I make it that you lost a total of 9 steps that turn, so there's a good chance you'll end up being net stronger at the end of the turn, in terms of # of steps.
However, I did manage to elim another 3 of your units that turn, and in the long term, maybe that'll be important for me, seeing how elim units are difficult/slow to bring back.
Anyway, over to you....
94 6/16/2019 5:48:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message combat 2-7
3006 vs. 3007 at 7-5
+5 CF
dr=4 = 1/R result
FR retreats, and has to take 1 hit either for retreating into a ZOC (3008) or for retreating into an overstack (3108)
GE takes a hit (6-4-4), adv > 3007

93 6/16/2019 5:43:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Central Powers:
combat 2-7
3006 vs. 3007 at 7-5
+5 CF

92 6/16/2019 5:41:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message combat 2-6
2907 vs. 2908
9-3 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +5 CF
dr=4 = 1/R result
FR retreat > 2909
GE CAV takes a hit (1-0-6), no advance
III 7-5-4 adv > 2908

91 6/16/2019 5:38:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Central Powers:
combat 2-6
2907 vs. 2908
9-3 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +5 CF

90 6/16/2019 5:37:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message combat 2-5
3106 vs. 3107 (woods)
11-4 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +5 CF
dr=2 = red1/2 result
FR takes 2 hits, and retreats. Must take an additional hit as it either retreats into a CP ZOC (3007 or 3207), or retreats into an over-stacked hex (3108). In any event, FR unit is elim
GE CAV takes a hit (1-0-6), all GE units disrupted, no advance

89 6/16/2019 5:32:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Central Powers:
combat 2-5
3106 vs. 3107 (woods)
11-4 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +5 CF

88 6/16/2019 5:30:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message combat 2-4
3506 vs. 3606 (woods)
7-4 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +2 CF
dr=4 = -/R result
FR 7-3-4 retreat > 3607
GE 5-4-4 adv > 3606
CAV 2-1-6 stays in 3506

87 6/16/2019 5:28:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Central Powers:
combat 2-4
3506 vs. 3606 (woods)
7-4 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +2 CF

86 6/16/2019 5:27:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message combat 2-3
3406 vs. 3306 (3306 is OOS but this has no effect on DF)
8-5
final +3 CF
dr=3 = red1/1 result
FR take 1 hit, get disrupted and retreat > 3307. Retreating through a ZOC means the FR take another hit
GE X-RES takes a hit (7-3-4) is disrupted, no advance

85 6/16/2019 5:24:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

3


Message from Central Powers:
combat 2-3
3406 vs. 3306 (3306 is OOS but this has no effect on DF)
8-5
final +3 CF

84 6/16/2019 5:22:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message Combat 2-2
2205 vs. 2206 at 7-4
+3 CF
dr=1 = 1/2 result (and yes, hugely lucky when I really want it)
BEF 4-3-4 and CAV both elim
GE II takes a hit (6-4-4), advances > 2206

83 6/16/2019 5:18:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from Central Powers:
Combat 2-2
2205 vs. 2206 at 7-4
+3 CF

82 6/16/2019 5:15:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message Combat 2-1
2005 vs. 2006 at 7-4
+3 CF
dr=3 = red1/1 result
BEF take 1 hit, 4-3-4 is disrupted and retreat > 2007
GE II takes a hit (6-4-4) is disrupted, no advance

81 6/16/2019 5:12:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

3


Message from Central Powers:
Combat 2-1
2005 vs. 2006 at 7-4
+3 CF

80 6/16/2019 5:10:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message sorry, that should be
2Army recovery
upgrade to
X 7-5-4 in 3505
X 7-5-4 in 3304

79 6/16/2019 5:09:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message 2Army recovery dr = 3 = 4 steps
upgrade to
X 7-5-4 in 3505
X 7-5-4 in 2906
(remaining steps are lost as only other reduced units are in a ZOC, so are ineligible)

78 6/16/2019 5:06:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

3


Message from Central Powers:
Recovery segment
CP 2Army

77 6/16/2019 5:06:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message 1Army recovery dr = 6 = 2 steps
upgrade to
III 7-5-4 in 2806
IX 7-5-4 in 2906

76 6/16/2019 5:02:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from Central Powers:
Recovery segment
CP 1Army

75 6/16/2019 4:58:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message >>> From a quick check I see I forgot to advance your unit - so the 8-4-4- can legally get there. <<<

OK, X-RES 8-4-4 does move 3405 > 3406, as moving from ZOC to ZOC is allowed

>>> Can the CAV unit get there? It did not advance according to your combat. <<<

* ah - I missed that a unit entering an enemy ZOC has to stop (4.2.2) I thought I could move into a ZOC, and then move from ZOC to ZOC and then stop, but that's incorrect.

OK, I'll change the CAV move to
I CAV 2-1-6 3505 > 3506
and will modify those 2 combats accordingly

Hopefully, everything else is OK - I'm going to go ahead with the rest of my turn
(if this was a game I was a bit more interested in, I'd wait for your OK, but as it is....)


74 6/16/2019 4:36:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message From a quick check I see I forgot to advance your unit - so the 8-4-4- can legally get there. Can the CAV unit get there? It did not advance according to your combat.

Now I have to run
73 6/16/2019 4:35:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message Moves look good with two exceptions:

X-RES 8-4-4 3405 > 3406

I CAV 2-1-6 3505 > 3406

I have the 8-4-4- located in 3505, and I have units projecting ZOCs from:

3306 1-2-6, 7-3-4
3606 7-3-4

Thus it would not be possible to move into 3406. If my map is wrong and you are in 3405 then that's totally possible. I will check - but I need to leave right now.
72 6/16/2019 3:07:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message OK, your corrections (log #70) all look good to me

turn 2 - CP keep initiative

GE1/GE2 AOA 3001

GE 1Army
IV-RES 5-4-4 1504 > 1605
IV-RES 5-4-4 1603 > 1602

II 7-5-4 1705 > 2005
II 7-5-4 1905 > 2205

IV 6-4-4 2204D > 1805D
IV 6-4-4 2305D > > 2105D

III 6-4-4 2705D > 2806D
III 7-5-4 2806 > 2907

IX 7-5-4 2906 > 3006
IX 6-4-4 3004D > 2906D

II CAV 2-1-6 2204D > 2405D
II CAV 2-1-6 2806 > 2907
II CAV 2-1-6 3004D > 2806D


GE 2Army
VII 7-5-4 3105 > 3106
VII 6-4-4 3205 > 3206

X-RES 8-4-4 3405 > 3406
X-RES 5-4-4 3404 > 3506

X 6-4-4 3905D > 3304D
X 6-4-4 4005D > 3505D

I CAV 2-1-6 3105 > 3106
I CAV 2-1-6 3205 > 3106
I CAV 2-1-6 3505 > 3406

Reinforcement segment – none

Disruption removal segment – all CP units recover from disruption

Recovery segment – will roll for replacements after I get the OK from you about my move

Combat segment – these are my planned combats. I know I don’t have to declare them yet, but wanted to plan them out so that you could look for possible errors

Combat 2-1
2005 vs. 2006 at 7-4
+3 CF

Combat 2-2
2205 vs. 2206 at 7-4
+3 CF

combat 2-3
3406 vs. 3306 (3306 is OOS but this has no effect on DF)
10-5 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +4 CF

combat 2-4
3506 vs. 3606 (woods)
final +1 CF

combat 2-5
3106 vs. 3107 (woods)
11-4 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +5 CF

combat 2-6
2907 vs. 2908
9-3 with 1L for units from 2 attacking corps
final +5 CF

combat 2-7
3006 vs. 3007 at 7-5
+5 CF

hmm, that doesn’t seem like many combats – seems like I’m almost certainly going to fall behind the attrition curve here

71 6/16/2019 1:41:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message House Rules:

#1. Entente does not take Cav losses in the pre-game setup

#2. All river hexes are treated the same despite different thicknesses

#3. During the friendly movement phase, units that start out of command integrity must move so as to get back into command integrity. If they cannot (because of ZOCs), units must move towards a friendly unit in the same corps designation and afterwards they become Disrupted.

#4. After combat, attacking units that are able to advance can ONLY advance into a hex vacated by a defending unit.

#5. In case of a unit attacking across a river into terrain which includes a defensive benefit, defending units receive the defensive benefit of BOTH hexside and in-hex terrain.

#6. When halving AF due to not having the initiative, each unit is halved individually (rounding down). For example, a 7-3-4 unit attacking in coordination with a 1-2-6 unit attacks with a total of 3 AF.
70 6/16/2019 1:37:00 PM Turn 2 Entente Message >>> 1. X Corps (NEW):
6-2-4 INF 3806>3908
so he ends up 7-4-4 in 3908
* he’s a 7-3-4, not a 7-4-4, I think?

]]]] Huh - one of the X Corps has 7-4-4 on the flip side - that is the one I have in 3908 (I guess not all the units in a corps are the same)


* for rows 34XX-37XX, I make it that you end up with
III 6-2-4 3407
I 6-2-4 3507
I 6-2-4 3707
Is that right?


]]]] Not what I have on my map (you might be correct - not sure). I have:

III 6-2-4 in 3407
I 7-3-4 in 3606
I 6-2-4 in 3707
X 7-4-4 in 3908


>>> 6 steps for V Army - add step to:
3306
* I don’t think you can do this – a unit can’t take a replacement step if it is in an enemy ZOC (11.1.2 - obviously you’ll want to use this replacement step on another unit, maybe in 3407?)

]]]] OK - makes sense - now I have:

3306 1-2-4, 7-3-4
3407 7-3-4



* I don’t think you’ve managed to maintain your Entente front line all the way to the W board edge? (4.6) Moving one of your 6Army units back to hex row 11XX should fix it

]]]]] Ah-right. I'll move that CAV unit back to 1103 where it started.



* and finally, a clarification might be needed
4.4.4a says AF of all units is halved (round fractions down) when the Entente does not have the initiative – is this on a total hex basis, or on a per unit basis?
e.g. if you have a FR attacking stack with 7-3-4 INF and 1-2-6 CAV, would you attack with 4 AF or 3 AF?
My feeling is it should be on a per unit basis (i.e. 3 AF in this e.g.), but as the CP player I might be a bit biased


]]]]] Per unit makes the most sense. I'll add it to the house rules...
69 6/15/2019 7:10:00 PM Turn 2 Central Powers Message Sorry to be a bit slow getting on with this - I dunno about you, but I’m having a very hard time keeping track of unit locations and strengths (of course, my mistakes aren't helping the process). Multiple counters for many units without unique identifiers doesn’t help any. Mind you, I might be having a hard time with it as it’s the first time we’ve pbem’d a hex game with a significant # of units in quite a while.

>>> boy there is sure a lot on the line with those recovery rolls. If I roll well I could completely negate a ton of well planned attacks on your part (I didn't, but still)....

* actually, not only did you negate my attacks, but even with my crazy-lucky die-rolling you ended up getting stronger! You took 10 hits, but replaced 11 steps. It causes a real “try to keep ahead of the attrition/replacement curve” problem for the CP, as the CP units that take hits and/or Ds have to stay back from the front line if they want to remove Ds and/or take replacement steps (attacking with Disrupted units won’t be a good idea most of the time).
Of course, when the initiative flips, the attrition curve issue will be an Allied problem instead, but nevertheless, it’s a very different mechaniuc.
And yes, I know it’s a WWI game, but this sort of attrition curve issue seems weird in a very tactical/operational level game on this time scale (would be much nore appropriate for a strategic-level game)

A few Qs about you’ll move, and probably best to get these cleared up before I move on before I move on to turn 2:

>>> 1. X Corps (NEW):
6-2-4 INF 3806>3908
so he ends up 7-4-4 in 3908
* he’s a 7-3-4, not a 7-4-4, I think?

* for rows 34XX-37XX, I make it that you end up with
III 6-2-4 3407
I 6-2-4 3507
I 6-2-4 3707
Is that right?

>>> 6 steps for V Army - add step to:
3306
* I don’t think you can do this – a unit can’t take a replacement step if it is in an enemy ZOC (11.1.2 - obviously you’ll want to use this replacement step on another unit, maybe in 3407?)

* I don’t think you’ve managed to maintain your Entente front line all the way to the W board edge? (4.6) Moving one of your 6Army units back to hex row 11XX should fix it

* and finally, a clarification might be needed
4.4.4a says AF of all units is halved (round fractions down) when the Entente does not have the initiative – is this on a total hex basis, or on a per unit basis?
e.g. if you have a FR attacking stack with 7-3-4 INF and 1-2-6 CAV, would you attack with 4 AF or 3 AF?
My feeling is it should be on a per unit basis (i.e. 3 AF in this e.g.), but as the CP player I might be a bit biased

68 6/14/2019 1:39:00 AM Turn 1 Entente Change game turn Game turn changed to Turn 2
67 6/14/2019 1:39:00 AM Turn 1 Entente Message Looking at rule 14.2.2 I need to change 3 moves:

I Corps (OLD MOVE) - not valid because they need to move one hex south
6-2-4 INF 3506
6-2-4 INF 3706

I Corps (NEW MOVE):
6-2-4 INF 3506>3606
6-2-4 INF 3706>3707


X Corps (OLD): - not valid wrong direction
6-2-4 INF 3806>3906

X Corps (NEW):
6-2-4 INF 3806>3908

And you're right that attack didn't happen - so he ends up 7-4-4 in 3908 (I added a step in the recovery phase)

I think that should be good - over to you for turn 2.
66 6/13/2019 10:09:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

3


Message from Entente:
I'll fix those problems - thanks!

For the moment I'll just roll for a moment I'll roll here for a cadre replacement. 1-2 succeeds.
65 6/13/2019 9:05:00 PM Turn 1 Central Powers Message Did you forget to try and recover a unit from the cadre box? (11.2)
64 6/13/2019 9:04:00 PM Turn 1 Central Powers Message >>> -Disruption removal - all my units are not in ZOC so I can remove all disruptions
-Next is recovery. Interesting that it says that disrupted units cannot receive recovery steps, but it's pretty easy to have D removed (just move away!) <<<

* yeah, this works GREAT for the player who is falling back/defending, i.e. the Allies right now. However, it's a drag for the CP. Because of the turn sequence, it's bad for the attacker.
The same thing applies with taking reinforcements - good and easy for the fellah falling back, but difficult for the player advancing/attacking. And yes, if I hadn't rolled so well for my attacks, I could easily see that the Entente armies would get STRONGER - I'm not sure how many losses I inflicted, but overall, you may have not had many net losses. The CP will be net losing steps if they want to keep moving forward.
63 6/13/2019 8:58:00 PM Turn 1 Central Powers Message I haven't gone through your move yet, but:

>>> INF 3806 > 3906

* I don't think you can do this. While the CP has initiative, BEF and 5Army have to withdraw, and move at least 1 hex S, SE or SW (14.2.2a)

>>> 3906 vs 4005 (D)
+5 since -2 DF for D unit <<<

* I don't think you can move NE for combat (see above), but even so, I think this is wrong. AF of all Entente units are halved when the Entente does not have initiative (4.4.4a - why they didn't put all the rules about initiative in the same place is beyond me)


62 6/13/2019 8:52:00 PM Turn 1 Central Powers Message >>> Not sure about this game... will roll for recovery now <<<

* yeah, I have qualms about it too - more thoughts later

61 6/13/2019 8:16:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message Ha! Should have learned from you!

red1/2 - your unit knocked down to 1 step and retreat. My units loses a step and D.

over to you!
60 6/13/2019 8:14:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Entente:
3906 vs 4005 (D)
+5 since -2 DF for D unit.
59 6/13/2019 8:14:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message I'll run just one combat:

3906 vs 4005 (D)
+5 since -2 DF for D unit.
58 6/13/2019 8:08:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message 3 steps:
1606
1402
1405

That's it - boy there is sure a lot on the line with those recovery rolls. If I roll well I could completely negate a ton of well planned attacks on your part (I didn't, but still)....
57 6/13/2019 8:06:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from Entente:
6th Army
56 6/13/2019 8:06:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message 6 steps for V Army - add step to:
3906
3506
3306
3107
2908
2708

55 6/13/2019 8:00:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

3


Message from Entente:
FR V Army
54 6/13/2019 8:00:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message BEF (all Corps) get 2 steps.

I'll beef up units in:
2607
2006

53 6/13/2019 7:58:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from Entente:
BEF I Corps
52 6/13/2019 7:58:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message Next:
-Reinforcement phase - none
-Disruption removal - all my units are not in ZOC so I can remove all disruptions
-Next is recovery. Interesting that it says that disrupted units cannot receive recovery steps, but it's pretty easy to have D removed (just move away!)

Not sure about this game... will roll for recovery now.

51 6/13/2019 7:53:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message VII Corps:
1-2-6 CAV 1103>1402
7-3-4 INF 1103>1402
6-2-4 INF 1304

V-RES Corps:
1-2-6 CAV 1404>1405
6-2-4 INF 1404>1405
1-2-6 CAV 1505>1606
7-3-4 INF 1505>1606

BEF III Corps:
1-1-16 CAV 1706>1807
5-4-4 INF 1706>1807

BEF II Corps:
4-3-4 INF 1906 (D)>2006
1-1-6 CAV 2106 (D)>2206
4-3-4 INF 2106 (D)>2206

BEF I Corps:
5-4-4 INF 2406 (D)>2407
4-3-4 INF 2606 (D)>2607

IV RES Corps:
1-2-4 CAV 2807 (D)>2708
5-2-4 INF 2807 (D)>2708
5-2-4 INF 2907 (D)>2908

XVIII Corps:
1-2-4 CAV 3006 (D)>3108
5-1-4 INF 3006 (D)>3108
6-2-4 INF 3106>3007

III Corps:
1-2-4 CAV 3305>3306
7-3-4 INF 3305>3306
6-2-4 INF 3306 (D) > 3407
6-2-4 INF 3406>3107

I Corps:
6-2-4 INF 3506
6-2-4 INF 3706

X Corps:
6-2-4 INF 3806>3906
50 6/13/2019 7:06:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message Sorry, I missed that (wasn't intentional). Seems to me that multiple terrain effects can be applied?
Mind you, a dr=1 on +3CF is a 1/2 result, instead of a red1/2 result on +4, i.e. it'd be better for me (of course!) FR unit is elim either way
If we do go with multiple terrain effects (ie. a 1/2 result), I'll advance both GE units 3204 > 3205.
Let me know what you want to do about multiple terrain effects, I'm good either way.

Let's go with both terrain benefits (see my house rules) and I'll modify the combat result with you advance.
49 6/13/2019 7:01:00 PM Turn 1 Entente Message House Rules:

#1. Entente does not take Cav losses in the pre-game setup

#2. All river hexes are treated the same despite different thicknesses

#3. During the friendly movement phase, units that start out of command integrity must move so as to get back into command integrity. If they cannot (because of ZOCs), units must move towards a friendly unit in the same corps designation and afterwards they become Disrupted.

#4. After combat, attacking units that are able to advance can ONLY advance into a hex vacated by a defending unit.

#5. In case of a unit attacking across a river into terrain which includes a defensive benefit, defending units receive the defensive benefit of BOTH hexside and in-hex terrain.
48 6/13/2019 11:44:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Message >>> House rule:
- in combat #9 you attacked across a river into a town and only counted the river. I'm fine with that but let's add that as a house rule (only 1 terrain effect "counts") <<<

Sorry, I missed that (wasn't intentional). Seems to me that multiple terrain effects can be applied?
Mind you, a dr=1 on +3CF is a 1/2 result, instead of a red1/2 result on +4, i.e. it'd be better for me (of course!) FR unit is elim either way
If we do go with multiple terrain effects (ie. a 1/2 result), I'll advance both GE units 3204 > 3205.
Let me know what you want to do about multiple terrain effects, I'm good either way. However, we need to clarify as it will certainly come up again.

>>> we might also want to clairfy the house rule on advancing into the defending hex only <<<

agreed

47 6/13/2019 11:12:00 AM Turn 1 Entente Message I've got a few minutes this morning - let me see if I can run through these.
(R result (*the table on page 12 says retreat 1 hex)

#1. vs 1705 (R result) - ret both units to 1706, you said Adv into 1805 but you can't do that (rule 8.6.1 implies you can only advance into a defending hex). I'll change your advance hex into 1705

#2. vs 1905 (1 result) - ret 4-3-4 to 1906

#3. vs 2105 (1/1) - elim one cav unit - ret 4-3-4, 1-1-6 to 2106 +D

#4. vs 2405 (1/1) - elim cav unit - ret 5-4-4 to 2406 +D

#5. vs 2605 (1/1) - flip and ret 4-3-4 to 2606 +D

#6,7 - Fr units elim

#8. vs 3405 (1) - ret 6-2-4 +D to 3306

#9 - FR unit elim

#10. vs 3005 (1/1) - flip inf unit, 5-1-4, 1-2-6 ret to 3006 +D

#11 no result

#12 vs 2906 - 5-2-4 ret to 2907 +D

#13 vs 2806 (R) - 5-2-4, 1-2-4 ret to 2807+D

House rule:
- in combat #9 you attacked across a river into a town and only counted the river. I'm fine with that but let's add that as a house rule (only 1 terrain effect "counts")

- we might also want to clairfy the house rule on advancing into the defending hex only

Overall that was some terrible die rolling!
46 6/13/2019 9:45:00 AM Turn 1 Entente Message Ok - let me go through it tonite. Pittsburgh went well - just pretty tired!
45 6/13/2019 12:29:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Message what a freakin' mess! Keeping track of all the die rolling and results, and all the units and strengths is going to be a bit of a nightmare (doesn't help any that each unit does not have a unique identifier written on it, duh)
Well, in typical Simon fashion, that was a phenomenal series of die rolls - I think I only had 3 die rolls out of 12 that were 4 or greater.
I'm in no doubt that I made some mistakes in there (in addition to the 1 that I caught), so hopefully we can manage to fix things up. You have some decisions on how to take some losses (when you were defending with more than 1 unit), and we have to figure out how to handle retreats. I'd suggest a retreat of 1 hex, and Allied units can retreat Southwest, South, or Southeast?
I thought about waiting for your response for each combat, but if I did that, this game would take a month of sundays.
..... and welcome home! I hope your trip to Pittsburgh went well?
44 6/13/2019 12:22:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Message combat 13 2805 vs. 2806 is a -/R
FR units disrupted, retreat
GE INF & CAV adv 2805 > 2806

43 6/13/2019 12:20:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Central Powers:
combat 13
2805 vs. 2806 at 9 to 4+river
-1L for 2 different attacking corps
final +2 CF odds

42 6/13/2019 12:19:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Message combat 12 2905 vs. 2906 is a -/R
FR unit disrupted, retreats
GE INF adv 2905 > 2906

41 6/13/2019 12:18:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from Central Powers:
combat 12
2905 vs. 2906 at 7 to 2+river
final +3 CF odds

40 6/13/2019 12:17:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Message combat 11 3105 vs. 3106 is -/-

39 6/13/2019 12:16:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from Central Powers:
combat 11
3105 vs. 3106 at 9 to 4+river
-1L for 2 different attacking corps
final +2 CF odds

38 6/13/2019 12:16:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Message combat 10 3004 vs. 3005 is a red1/1
GE takes 1 hit (flip the INF), disrupted, no advance
FR take 1 hit, disrupted, retreats

37 6/13/2019 12:14:00 AM Turn 1 Central Powers Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from Central Powers:
combat 10
3004 vs. 3005 at 9 to 4+river
-1L for 2 different attacking corps
final +2 CF odds

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations