Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Twilight Struggle: Bob & Anthony game 1 Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
446 11/12/2019 6:01:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message WOW, that was a big turn so far for me
445 11/12/2019 6:01:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Adjust DEFCON From 5 to 4
444 11/12/2019 6:00:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message FAIL but I get the 2 MIL OPS
443 11/12/2019 6:00:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from USSR:
Here's my COUP roll
442 11/12/2019 6:00:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Play Card as Event #47: 2 / Junta (Both)
Place two Influence in any Central or South American country. Then you may make a free Coup attempt or Realignment roll in one of these regions (using this card's Operations Value).

Message from USSR:
Now for my turn 1

place markers in Brazil and Panama

now for free Coup attempt in Venezuela

I have 2 + die
you have 4
441 11/12/2019 5:57:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message Headline first with 'revised' placement.

Add 4 Influence in Europe (no more than 2 per country)

1 in Italy
1 in UK
1 in Turkey
1 in Spain
440 11/11/2019 10:18:00 PM Turn 9 US Message So you still have 1 more to play.
And then card #1 for the turn.
439 11/11/2019 12:31:00 PM Turn 9 US Message Looks like you Add the full amount. I guess Placing is subject to Control limitations.

Making inroads I see.
438 11/11/2019 8:36:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message I posted the question on CONSIM also
437 11/11/2019 6:10:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message I found this talking about adjacent placement of markers and it says EVENT required placement does not apply to this restriction - would it also not apply to the OPS count rule?

6.1.1 Influence markers are placed one at a time. However, all
markers must be placed with, or adjacent to, friendly markers that
were in place at the start of the phasing player’s Action Round.
Exception: markers placed when required by an Event are not
subject to this restriction, unless specifically stated otherwise on
the card. If the amount of influence is sufficent to gain control
of the country, place the marker on its darker side.


436 11/11/2019 6:02:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message This is the only thing I found in the rules:

7.4.3 If an event specifies that a player may “Conduct Operations,
place Influence or attempt Realignments as if” they played a card
of a certain operations value, those additional Operations are
treated as if a card had been played for its Operations Point Value.
Therefore, those Operations are subject to all the restrictions of
rule 6.0 and other events limiting their placement or value.

However this card does not say AS IF so I'm thinking
I can just place 4 influence markers regardless of the 'OPS COST'. I welcome your take on this,
435 11/11/2019 5:55:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message I have another card that I'm going to play now that
also says place 2 influence so I'll wait for your answer before playing.
434 11/11/2019 5:54:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message Okay here's a question. the Card says:

Add 4 Influence in Europe (no more than 2 per country)

So can I add 2 in Italy or must I (as I did)
apply 1 OPS since it costs '2 ops' on a controlled country?
433 11/11/2019 5:52:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Message >4 influence in Europe

1 (requires 2) in Italy
2 in France
432 11/10/2019 5:49:00 PM Turn 9 US Message So, I get to do nothing.
You get to add 4 influence in Europe and your Ops are -1 for this turn.
Over to you.
431 11/10/2019 5:48:00 PM Turn 9 US Headline Event selected Headline Events Revealed:

US: #31: 4 / Red Scare/Purge (Both)
All further Operations cards played by your opponent this turn are -1 to their value (to a minimum value of 1 OP).

USSR: #87: 3 / The Reformer* (USSR)
Add 4 Influence in Europe (no more than 2 per country). If USSR ahead of US in VP, 6 Influence may be added instead. USSR may no longer conduct Coup attempts in Europe. Improves effect of #90 Glasnost.

Message from US:
Here's the headline.
430 11/10/2019 6:47:00 AM Turn 9 USSR Headline Event selected Message from USSR:
429 11/10/2019 6:43:00 AM Turn 9 USSR End Turn
DEFCON level increased to 5

US: 9 cards drawn.
USSR: 8 cards drawn.
428 11/9/2019 1:30:00 PM Turn 8 US Adjust DEFCON From 5 to 4
427 11/9/2019 1:30:00 PM Turn 8 US Adjust Victory Points From 16 to 18
426 11/9/2019 1:26:00 PM Turn 8 US Message Remove 3 from USSR
only add 7 for US
425 11/9/2019 1:25:00 PM Turn 8 US Message Did that wrong, no dice for you
Stable 2
US 4+6 = 10
Remove 2 USSR, add 8 US
424 11/9/2019 1:24:00 PM Turn 8 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
6


Message from US:
Angola Coup
US 4+dr
USSR 2+dr
423 11/9/2019 1:23:00 PM Turn 8 US Play Card as Operations #98: 4 / Aldrich Ames* (USSR)
Original Edition: US player must display his hand. USSR player then orders the US player's cards. US player must play hand in that order. US player may not play The China Card for the rest of this turn. Deluxe Edition: This card has an Operations value of 3. US player exposes his hand to the USSR player for the remainder of turn. USSR player then chooses one card from US hand; this card is discarded.

Message from US:
As this is the last card in my hand, your Event has no effect, though I will do my action first.

Coup in Angola
Lowers Defcon to 4, MilOps to 4
Stable 1*2 = 2
Card 4+dr
422 11/9/2019 7:22:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Adjust Victory Points From 18 to 16
421 11/9/2019 7:21:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Adjust DEFCON From 4 to 5
420 11/9/2019 7:21:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Play Card as Event #90: 4 / Glasnost* (USSR)
USSR gains 2 VP. Improve DEFCON one level. If 'The Reformer' is in effect, then the USSR may place Influence or attempt Realignments as if they played a 4 Ops card.

Message from USSR:
419 11/9/2019 7:14:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message AH .... mystery solved.

Upon reaching space 8 (Space Station), the player may play eight (8) Action Rounds per turn.
418 11/9/2019 7:12:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message I think we still only have 7 turds - not sure why
there is an '8th' turn box.
417 11/8/2019 4:02:00 PM Turn 8 US Message It appears that if you have to do the region scoring after the end of Turn 10, that you have to wait for ALL the regions to score before declaring victory, unless Europe is controlled (this is auto).

I didn't have the board at the time and maybe as I saw you only had influence in areas that you controlled, maybe would have been better, but then that would have almost assured you had those countries.
416 11/8/2019 3:32:00 PM Turn 8 USSR Message HUM....I might have considered letting me in S American and play the card as EVENT - think THAT hurts me more that this might have hurt you....

One problem with game at this point is you are SOOOO close to a Auto Victory that there is not a lot you can do to screw up unless you accidentally set off the nukes. At the end of game we do regional scoring for all of them and I believe (not at rule book) that as soon as somebody reaches 20 they win RIGHT THEN
415 11/8/2019 10:00:00 AM Turn 8 US Message Not at board but I think I made it.
414 11/8/2019 10:00:00 AM Turn 8 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

4


Message from US:
Space race roll
413 11/8/2019 9:59:00 AM Turn 8 US Discard Card #75: 2 / Liberation Theology (USSR)

Message from US:
Space race try.
412 11/8/2019 9:59:00 AM Turn 8 US Discard Card #40: 3 / Cuban Missile Crisis* (Both)

Message from US:
Here’s the discard. That’s a tough one.
411 11/8/2019 5:52:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Play Card as Event #95: 2 / Latin American Debt Crisis (USSR)
Unless the US immediately discards a '3' or greater Operations card, double USSR Influence in two South American countries.

Message from USSR:
I'll play this a EVENT - can you discard a 3 OPS?

NO MAP YET
410 11/7/2019 7:19:00 PM Turn 8 US Message USSR Influence gone from Thailand
409 11/7/2019 7:19:00 PM Turn 8 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
4


Message from US:
Success in France, removed all USSR influence

Now Thailand
1 US +3, net +2
2 USSR +1
408 11/7/2019 7:17:00 PM Turn 8 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
1


Message from US:
1 US +3
2 USSR
407 11/7/2019 7:16:00 PM Turn 8 US Play Card as Operations #41: 2 / Nuclear Subs* (US)
US Coup attempts in Battleground Countries do not affect the DEFCON track for the remainder of the turn. (does not effect #40 Cuban Missile Crisis).

Message from US:
Ops
Let's realign France (again)
US +3
USSR
406 11/7/2019 5:29:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Adjust Victory Points From 17 to 18
405 11/7/2019 5:29:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Play Card as Operations #83: 3 / The Iron Lady* (US)
US gains 1 VP. Add 1 USSR Influence in Argentina. Remove all USSR Influence from UK. #7 Socialist Governments no longer playable.

Message from USSR:
replace the 3 in France.

Now your event -
404 11/6/2019 6:43:00 PM Turn 8 US Message Remove 3 Influence from France
403 11/6/2019 6:42:00 PM Turn 8 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

1
1


Message from US:
NE
do it again
1st US +3
2nd USSR
402 11/6/2019 6:42:00 PM Turn 8 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
6


Message from US:
1st US +3
2nd USSR
401 11/6/2019 6:41:00 PM Turn 8 US Play Card as Operations #71: 2 / Nixon Plays the China Card* (US)
If US has The China Card, gain 2 VP. Otherwise, US player receives The China Card now, face down and unavailable for immediate play.

Message from US:
Realignment
1st vs France
US +4
USSR +1
Net +3
400 11/5/2019 5:24:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message NOPE but I get 2 MIL/OPS
399 11/5/2019 5:23:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

2


Message from USSR:
Arab roll
398 11/5/2019 5:23:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Play Card as Event #13: 2 / Arab-Israeli War (USSR)
Pan-Arab Coalition invades Israel. Roll a die, and subtract 1 for US Control of Israel and every US Controlled country adjacent to Israel. USSR Victory on modified die roll 4-6 USSR adds 2 to Military Ops Track. Effects of Victory: USSR gains 2 VP and replaces all US Influence in Israel with USSR Influence.

Message from USSR:
I'm playing this more for MIL/OPS and possible 2 VP than the hope this will work.

you control Egypt and Lebanon so I win on a roll of 6
397 11/5/2019 5:19:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Adjust DEFCON From 3 to 4
396 11/5/2019 5:19:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message >Improve DEFCON one level.

the Map shows DEFCON at 2 - I'll correct
395 11/5/2019 5:17:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message >I used the wrong card in my last discard. Hope I can survive.

???
394 11/4/2019 7:55:00 PM Turn 8 US Play Card as Event #57: 4 / ABM Treaty (Both)
Improve DEFCON one level. Then player may Conduct Operations as if they played a 4 Ops card.

Message from US:
Event
Increase DefCon to 4
4 Ops
1 Guatemala
1 Brazil
1 Zaire
1 Cameroon
393 11/4/2019 7:27:00 PM Turn 8 USSR Message FAIL - NO MAP
392 11/4/2019 7:26:00 PM Turn 8 USSR Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from USSR:
ROLL on Space Race need 1-4
391 11/4/2019 7:25:00 PM Turn 8 USSR Discard Card #5: 3 / Five-Year Plan (US)

Message from USSR:
play on Space Race

#5: 3 / Five-Year Plan (US)
USSR Player must randomly discard a card. If the card is a US associated Event, the Event occurs immediately. If the card is a USSR associated Event or an Event applicable to both players, then the card must be discarded without triggering the Event.
390 11/4/2019 7:24:00 PM Turn 8 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from US:
Quagmire roll
389 11/4/2019 7:23:00 PM Turn 8 US Discard Card #35: 2 / Formosan Resolution* (US)

Message from US:
Quagmire discard
388 11/4/2019 7:23:00 PM Turn 8 US Adjust Victory Points From 18 to 17
387 11/4/2019 7:00:00 PM Turn 8 USSR Play Card as Event #82: 3 / Iranian Hostage Crisis* (USSR)
Eliminate all US Influence in Iran. Add two USSR Influence in Iran. Doubles effect of Terrorism card against US.

Message from USSR:
Play as event
386 11/4/2019 4:00:00 PM Turn 8 USSR Message It would REALLY SUCK if I got to use the events
as you discard them.....
385 11/4/2019 1:51:00 PM Turn 8 US Message Of course not.

Your card play. No file from me.
384 11/4/2019 1:50:00 PM Turn 8 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from US:
Quagmire roll
383 11/4/2019 1:50:00 PM Turn 8 US Discard Card #56: 4 / Muslim Revolution (USSR)

Message from US:
Discarding. Hoping to end Quagmire
382 11/4/2019 1:49:00 PM Turn 8 US Message Did you send a log file?
381 11/4/2019 5:57:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message So now you have to start discarding 2+ OPS and see if
it's cancelled by your roll.
380 11/4/2019 5:55:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message I'll add 1 (costs 2) to Syria

379 11/4/2019 5:54:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message NOW for my TURN - I get the 2 OPS right?
378 11/4/2019 5:53:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message >USSR: #55: 2 / Willy Brandt* (USSR)
USSR gains 1 VP. USSR receives 1 Influence in West Germany. Cancels #21 NATO for West Germany. This event canceled/unplayable by #96 'Tear Down this Wall'.


Okay so here is my Headline event play -

377 11/3/2019 7:51:00 PM Turn 8 US Message Nice job. I get nothing out of this.
Execute your headline card.
376 11/3/2019 12:04:00 PM Turn 8 US Play Card as Event #100: 4 / Wargames* (Both)
If DEFCON Status 2, you may immediately end the game (without Final Scoring) after giving opponent 6 VPs. How about a nice game of chess?

Message from US:
Well, this doesn't end the game, DefCon isn't at 2, it's at 3.

I'm confused. Says I have to play event. Event condition isn't met, so do I get 4Ops or nothing?
375 11/3/2019 12:01:00 PM Turn 8 US Play Card as Operations #100: 4 / Wargames* (Both)
If DEFCON Status 2, you may immediately end the game (without Final Scoring) after giving opponent 6 VPs. How about a nice game of chess?

Message from US:
Well, this doesn't end the game, DefCon isn't at 2, it's at 3.

I'll work on my 4Ops.
374 11/3/2019 11:50:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Give card to US #100: 4 / Wargames* (Both)

Message from USSR:
Okay, go ahead and end the game at this point....

We can switch sides and start over.
373 11/3/2019 11:47:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message Doesn't matter, I don't have a 1 OPS so that negates the question.
372 11/3/2019 11:46:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message Yes, however what if I give you a 1 OPS card - you are FORCED to play a 2 OPS card on your first play?
371 11/3/2019 11:34:00 AM Turn 8 US Message So you give me a card and I get to use it and you have a 2Ops for your first card play, right?
370 11/3/2019 11:32:00 AM Turn 8 US Headline Event selected Headline Events Revealed:

US: #49: 2 / Missile Envy (Both)
Exchange this card for the highest valued Operations card in your opponent's hand. If two or more cards are tied, opponent chooses. If the exchanged card contains your event, or an event applicable to both players, it occurs immediately. If it contains opponent's event, use Operations value without triggering event. Opponent must use this card for Operations during his next action round.

USSR: #55: 2 / Willy Brandt* (USSR)
USSR gains 1 VP. USSR receives 1 Influence in West Germany. Cancels #21 NATO for West Germany. This event canceled/unplayable by #96 'Tear Down this Wall'.

Message from US:
Here's my headline
369 11/3/2019 6:13:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Headline Event selected Message from USSR:
368 11/3/2019 6:08:00 AM Turn 8 USSR Message I moved the DEFCON marker up to 3 on the board too
367 11/3/2019 6:08:00 AM Turn 8 USSR End Turn Late War Cards added to deck


DEFCON level increased to 3

US: 8 cards drawn.
USSR: 9 cards drawn.
366 11/2/2019 9:34:00 PM Turn 7 US Message If it looks right, go ahead and end the turn.
New cards enter, but not the discards, right?
365 11/2/2019 9:33:00 PM Turn 7 US Adjust Victory Points From 16 to 18
364 11/2/2019 9:33:00 PM Turn 7 US Message You lose 2VP's for MilOps (another reason I shouldn't have drove DefCon lower).
363 11/2/2019 9:32:00 PM Turn 7 US Adjust Victory Points From 17 to 16
362 11/2/2019 9:32:00 PM Turn 7 US Play Card as Event #3: 0 / Mideast Scoring (Both)
Both Sides Score. May NOT be Held.

Message from US:
I think you get another VP out of this.
Both have Presence.
You have 2 BG and I have only 1.
361 11/2/2019 8:52:00 PM Turn 7 USSR Adjust Victory Points From 19 to 17
360 11/2/2019 8:52:00 PM Turn 7 USSR Play Card as Event #61: 3 / OPEC (USSR)
USSR gains 1 VP for each of the following countries he controls: Egypt, Iran, Libya, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Gulf States, and Venezuela. Unplayable as an event if #86 'North Sea Oil' is in effect.

Message from USSR:
Libya and Iraq for 2 points...probably won't be enough
359 11/2/2019 5:51:00 PM Turn 7 US Play Card as Operations #42: 3 / Quagmire* (USSR)
On the next action round, US player must discard an Operations card worth 2 or more and roll 1-4 to cancel this event. Repeat each US player phase until successful or no appropriate cards remain. If out of appropriate cards, the US player may only play scoring cards until the next turn.

Message from US:
Ops
1 in Zaire (take 2), 1 in Algeria

See if I can survive to the end of the turn.
358 11/2/2019 3:51:00 PM Turn 7 USSR Play Card as Event #30: 2 / Decolonization (USSR)
Add one USSR Influence in each of any four African an/or SE Asian countries.

Message from USSR:
1 in S Africa, Sudan, Algeria & Cameroon
357 11/2/2019 3:42:00 PM Turn 7 US Play Card as Operations #20: 2 / Olympic Games (Both)
Player sponsors Olympics. Opponent may participate or boycott. If Opponent participates, each player rolls one die, with the sponsor adding 2 to his roll. High roll gains 2 VP. Reroll ties. If Opponent boycotts, degrade DEFCON one level and the Sponsor may Conduct Operations as if they played a 4 Ops card.

Message from US:
Consim says that player gets the DefCon, so I messed up on my DefCon change earlier.

Ops
Use 2 to place Influence in Iran
356 11/2/2019 12:57:00 PM Turn 7 US Message Sorry for the delay. I asked on Consim and am waiting on a reply. Do know who is charged with degrading DefCon if the player boycotts the Olympics? card player or boycotter?
355 11/2/2019 7:31:00 AM Turn 7 USSR Play Card as Operations #14: 3 / COMECON* (USSR)
Add 1 USSR Influence in each of four non-US Controlled countries in Eastern Europe.

Message from USSR:
1 in Iran
2 in Iraq
354 11/1/2019 12:27:00 PM Turn 7 US Adjust DEFCON From 3 to 2
353 11/1/2019 12:27:00 PM Turn 7 US Adjust Victory Points From 17 to 19
352 11/1/2019 12:27:00 PM Turn 7 US Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
2


Message from US:
1st US +1
2nd USSR
351 11/1/2019 12:27:00 PM Turn 7 US Play Card as Event #45: 1 / Summit (Both)
Both players roll a die. Each adds 1 for each Region they Dominate or Control. High roller gains 2 VP and may move DEFCON marker one level in either direction. Do not reroll ties.

Message from US:
See if I can get them back

US dominates 1
USSR dominates 0

US +1 on roll
350 11/1/2019 5:23:00 AM Turn 7 USSR Message 2 points - back from the brink for now
349 11/1/2019 5:23:00 AM Turn 7 USSR Adjust Victory Points From 19 to 17
348 11/1/2019 5:23:00 AM Turn 7 USSR Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from USSR:
space race roll
347 11/1/2019 5:22:00 AM Turn 7 USSR Discard Card #74: 2 / The Voice of America (US)

Message from USSR:
Space race attempt -

I notice that on discard the info is missing So I'll start to copy it

2 / The Voice of America (US)
Remove four USSR Influence from non-European countries. No more than two may be removed from any one country.

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations