Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Napoleonic Wars: An Auspicious Autumn Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
672 12/7/2019 5:48:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Yes Venice is uncontrolled too.
And I can't deploy to uncontrolled Prague either. Oi







671 12/7/2019 5:35:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message If Prague and Venice are uncontrolled (and I canít argue with that), then Milan is too, so France only controls 15 keys.

I disagree with Pete about deploying to Prague, because I interpret the rules as specificity exempting fortresses, not creating an example that can be expanded to include non-fortress duchies. The rule on redeploy specifically says ď... to a friendly duchy.Ē

Friendly is defined (per glossary) as controlled by you, and control is defined as flagged. Since Prague is uncontrolled, it canít be friendly. Fortresses are an exception to friendly rules.
670 12/7/2019 5:25:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message "> Note you only control 6 keys. Venice and Prague are uncontrolled."

Yikes, that never occurred to me before but after looking thru 14.31 DRAW: "All nations in Order of Movement draw one card for every two Keys they control or their minimum Hand (whichever is greater, 14.32)."
and the Glossary:
"CONTROL: The presence of an Enemy Formation negates Control of a non-fortified Duchy, but the Enemy does not Control it until they Flag it (7.4)."
I think what Ken said is correct. Fascinating (in a bad way).
669 12/7/2019 5:21:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Wow, this whole thing is bring up a lot of rules questions.
Dave, you *are* allowed to deploy to a Fortress which you are already Besieging, therefore I don't agree with
"> Since Prague is not flagged, it's my understanding that French armies cannot deploy there."
I think if you can do it in a Fortress, you can do it in a non-Fortress.
668 12/7/2019 4:36:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Yeah. Weird. Note you only control 6 keys. Venice and Prague are uncontrolled.
667 12/7/2019 4:12:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message Austrian Reinforcements:

Build 4 in Vienna, now Ferd/5

Redeploy: None

Disposition:
Vienna: Ferd/5
Linz: John/4
Tyrol: 1
Milan: Charles/4

8 keys
No resources
Turk Consul: Friend

Since Prague is not flagged, it's my understanding that French armies cannot deploy there.

Done. Russia turn.
666 12/7/2019 4:06:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message 1 Died, so Charles/4 in Milan. France doesn't flag Venice, Austria doesn't flag Milan. Weird.

Equally weird is we are mutually cut off for redeploy. Milan/Tyrol are cut off from the Austrian lines. Venice and Dalmatian units are cut off from French lines (because Charles could intercept if you go to Romagna). The Spanish are cut off from their lines in Salzburg. Lannes is cut off from his lines.

Sadly, there's a lot of French coming my way...
665 12/7/2019 4:00:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 6

2
3
6
1
3
2


Message from Austria:
Retreat Attrition
664 12/7/2019 3:59:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message So, at the end of the battle, Davout/Massena/4 remain in Venice. Charles/5 retreat to Milan. I have attrition coming...
663 12/7/2019 1:16:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Yes, that is the ruling --- the declarer is Active for this purpose and therefore Austria must retreat.
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@@.ee6e9b5/15185

662 12/7/2019 12:16:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message 2 rounds only then retreat by attacker seems clear
Who is attacker? I'd say declaring power, Austria.
661 12/7/2019 8:26:00 AM 1807-1808 Austria Message Inconclusive battle after Day 2. All tied. French with 1k4d, Austrians with 3k2d.

Is the battle over with a French retreat or do we keep going?
660 12/7/2019 8:24:00 AM 1807-1808 Austria Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 7

2
1
6
2
6
4
5


Message from Austria:
1k2d, it's a rout if I whiff. Austrians...
659 12/7/2019 8:24:00 AM 1807-1808 Austria Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 11

3
4
1
5
2
5
2
2
1
6
1


Message from Austria:
French scored 2d, Austrians 1k1d. Day two. French...
658 12/7/2019 8:23:00 AM 1807-1808 Austria Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 9

4
3
6
3
1
3
2
4
5


Message from Austria:
Only 2d. Now Austrians.
657 12/7/2019 8:23:00 AM 1807-1808 Austria Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 13

5
1
2
2
1
1
4
2
3
4
4
5
3


Message from Austria:
French
656 12/7/2019 8:23:00 AM 1807-1808 Austria Message I had it in my head that there were 10 men in Venice, not 8, so I was giving bad info earlier. I had the right pieces on the board, I covered them in a way thinking there were two 4s and a 2, instead of 2 2s and a 4.

I was extremely unlucky in Prague, so surely luck will help me in Venice. 13v9, I'll fight.
655 12/7/2019 6:56:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Ken,
- "> Is Prague flagged?"
No. In fact even if Charles evades, Venice too will not be flagged:
8.34 "Non-declaring Formations in an ex-allyís (or former Subject Neutralís) Duchy suffer Attrition also, but the survivors have the option of freely Flagging the Duchy if alone or Re-grouping."
Your formations in Prague and Venice weren't alone when Dave declared war. No mention is made of flagging later. This interpretation has been confirmed previously by Gareth, and will be in the next FAQ.
- Your 2 Rambeaux's in Prague get to roll for loot.
654 12/6/2019 10:41:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Lost 1 French/ Evade with attrition to enemy?
653 12/6/2019 10:36:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 10

6
5
4
1
3
3
1
4
3
3


Message from France:
Venicw
652 12/6/2019 10:35:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Now 2 + flag
651 12/6/2019 10:33:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

1
6
1


Message from France:
Dalmatia
650 12/6/2019 10:30:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message 1 French lost; now Lannes + 5 and French flag
649 12/6/2019 10:28:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 7

6
3
1
5
2
4
6


Message from France:
Slovakia
648 12/6/2019 10:22:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Now Castanos + 3 and Sp flag
647 12/6/2019 10:22:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 5

2
5
1
4
6


Message from France:
Castanos + 4 in Salzburg
646 12/6/2019 10:20:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Now Austria 1x5 vs French 3x5,1x6
French rout. Ferdinand retreats,
Is Prague flagged (see earlier line) or not?
645 12/6/2019 10:14:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 8

4
4
3
4
3
5
5
6


Message from France:
1x5 to 1x5
Tie 2nd day
5 Austrian dice vs 3 Frwnch dice
644 12/6/2019 10:12:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 10

1
3
5
2
4
2
4
5
2
4


Message from France:
Prague will stay
Austrian first 6 dice X French last 4 dice
643 12/6/2019 10:10:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

5
1


Message from France:
Prague
642 12/6/2019 9:56:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Ken,
See 8.34.
Your formations are "non-declaring".
641 12/6/2019 9:53:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Point me to rules.sections covering attrition and battles that come after camps change (14.1).
640 12/6/2019 9:27:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message So, it appears that a lot of attrition must happen:

Prague:2
Slovakia: 7
Salzburg: 5
Dalmatia: 3
Venice: 12

After attrition, anyone can regroup that you want to regroup if you don't want to fight (Prague, Venice) or flag the duchies where you want to stay.

I will fight in Prague, you can go ahead and roll that. I'm trying to decide if I want to fight in Venice or evade to Milan. I'd like to see the roll to see what's left. I'm not too enthused about a 16v9 fight, but not that enthused about the other options either.

Good job trapping me. I just flat-out didn't see Davout in Italy, so you caught me by surprise.



639 12/6/2019 6:47:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message See 8.34.
638 12/6/2019 6:43:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Dave, since you are neutral, you don't need permission to join a Camp. Welcome back!
637 12/6/2019 5:49:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message No peace. Interphase begins. First item is camp switching.

I would like to join the coalition, if Britain and Russia agree, you can always reject my membership application.

I would like to point out that Britain has a vested interest in my membership: The British-Turkish war would automatically end. It cost me 2CP to make Turkey my Patron, but if I join the coalition, the fact of my patronage would mean the war would end. If I read rule 8.4 correctly.

Britain, Russia: will you have me?
636 12/6/2019 2:53:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Moving on.
635 12/6/2019 2:51:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

5


Message from France:
Spend a card. Rolling for the win.
634 12/6/2019 10:19:00 AM 1807-1808 Russia Message Russia spends to continue
633 12/6/2019 8:27:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message BTW, I think the Points are (KeyĪ / Minors / Resources):
France 3+1+0 = 4
Britain -3+1+1 = -1
Austria 0+0+0 = 0
Russia 1+0+1 = 2
It looks like an interesting Turn 3 is shaping up.
632 12/5/2019 8:27:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Although I'd really like to see if I can defeat Austria twice in the same game, I will definitely spend one to win now. Russia, how much do you want to stop me?
631 12/5/2019 7:47:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message France definitely has the Peace roll. I am pretty sure there are no modifiers to the roll this time.
I also cannot spend, because I am at minimum card draw. Save us, Russia!
630 12/5/2019 6:17:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message End of impulses, time for the peace die roll! I havenít done the math, but I assume it goes to France. Itís academic to me because I canít spend a card before the roll, camp switching comes after.

Russia, do you wish to spend a card to affect the roll (whoever it belongs to)?
629 12/5/2019 3:43:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Flag Cork.
628 12/5/2019 3:43:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

3
2
1


Message from Britain:
Done.
End-of-turn attrition for Wellington/2 in Cork:
627 12/5/2019 3:40:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message With no retreat path, the rebels are dead.
626 12/5/2019 3:39:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

4
2
1


Message from Britain:
France:
625 12/5/2019 3:39:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 7

1
1
2
5
5
4
3


Message from Britain:
Brits:
624 12/5/2019 3:39:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #78: 3 / Turncoats
Enemy suffers Attrition before battle. Leaders are not subject to this Attrition even if being used as Units. Each enemy loss gives you one extra battle die throughout the upcoming battle.

Message from Britain:
2: build 1 in Dublin, thus blocking the rebel retreat!
3: Wellington/2 from Connaught to Cork.
623 12/5/2019 2:15:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Done. One more British impulse. I wonder what he'll do?
622 12/5/2019 2:13:00 PM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #3: 3 / Descent from the Sea
Place one Unit and a Flag of this nation in any unoccupied enemy Port of any Zone controlled by this nation's Camp. This Port cannot be a Fortress.

Message from France:
1-3: Davout + 6 from Abruzzi (leaving flag) to Venice; now Davout + 6 and Massena + 2 preparing for defection of Charles + 6 [14 vs 9]
621 12/5/2019 12:07:00 PM 1807-1808 Russia Message Pass
620 12/5/2019 10:22:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message Rebels overrun, but Brits lose 2 !?!
Connaught now Wellington/2.
2: unflag Connaught.
Done.
Russian could expend her Resource.
619 12/5/2019 10:16:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

6
6
1


Message from Britain:
Rebels:
618 12/5/2019 10:15:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 9

6
1
4
5
4
3
1
2
4


Message from Britain:
Brits:
617 12/5/2019 5:19:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Operations #58: 2 / Bypass Stronghold
You may use two CPs to move your Formations past an enemy Fortress without stopping or Attrition subject to normal battle and interception requirements.

Message from Britain:
1: Wellington/4 from Ulster to Connaught.
9 v 3.
Evade?
If battle, no cards here.
616 12/4/2019 10:03:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Franceís move is retained. I drew and end turn. Britain
615 12/4/2019 9:20:00 PM 1807-1808 Russia Message Not spending
614 12/4/2019 7:25:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Of course. Russia is up.
613 12/4/2019 6:57:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Russia got skipped. I think the best way to fix this is, go back and give Russia the option to expend her Resource and the option to play the card drawn. If Russia does expend her Resource, France then has the option to play her card, if desired.
612 12/4/2019 5:41:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Done
611 12/4/2019 5:40:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message First, Russia has the option to expend *her* Resource.
610 12/4/2019 5:40:00 PM 1807-1808 France France: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from France:
Draw with my resource
609 12/4/2019 4:20:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Austria: Play Strategy card as Operations #101: 5 / The Milan Decree
Gain CPs equal to a die roll. If France controls Rotterdam, place an available French Squadron there under a Naval Build marker and remove this card from the game. A Neutral Proxy will play this event only if France controls Rotterdam.

Message from Austria:
So, per Ken, Dalmatia has 3, and Venice has Massena/2.

2: Charles/6 to Venice, now Charles/6 & Massena/2
3: Ferd/4 to Prague (leaving 1 in Vienna), Prague now Ferd/4 & 2 French
5: Turk consul to Friend.

Done. France has the option to spend her resource.
608 12/4/2019 12:38:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Flag overrun. Ulster now Wellington/4 and unflagged.
Austria is up.
607 12/4/2019 12:36:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

3
2
3


Message from Britain:
Rebel scum:
606 12/4/2019 12:36:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 10

1
2
3
6
6
4
3
4
5
4


Message from Britain:
9+1=10 British dice:
605 12/4/2019 12:08:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Fight it out
604 12/4/2019 12:07:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

4
2


Message from France:
Withdraw
603 12/4/2019 12:04:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Dalmatia has 3
602 12/3/2019 5:42:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message Ken, I would prefer clarification: Dalmatia only was Massena/5 in the beginning, so you have two choices:

a). Venice is Massena/4; Dalmatia is 1
b). Venice is Massena/3; Dalmatia is 2
601 12/3/2019 5:30:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Austria: Draw Extra Strategy Card Message from Austria:
Iíll draw my Parliament card now while waiting for the French evade decision
600 12/3/2019 2:15:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Britain: Play Strategy card as Event #902: 5 / Parliament
Britain gets 1 CP to spend and chooses another nation not in the Imperial Camp to draw a card unless Britain is a Subject Neutral. RESERVE

Message from Britain:
Card for Austria.
1: Wellington/4 from Dublin to Ulster.
Evade?
Battle would be 9 v 3. You can roll it.
After resolution, done. No card play.
599 12/3/2019 1:32:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message Pete, I plan on rejoining the coalition
598 12/2/2019 7:18:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message - ...and, Gibraltar is now Napoleon/3 and 2 Spaniards and French flag. Grrr. Four hits on the last roll when it's too late!!
597 12/2/2019 7:14:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message - Ken, Dalmatia had Massena/5 (not Massena/4 --- see msg #386), and therefore now has 3 (not 2).
- Dave, I would give you Parliament now, in exchange for you definitely rejoining the Coalition at the end of this turn. It looks like the first Impulse Round next turn could be rough for you, but it also looks like our Russian comrades-in-arms are well-positioned to help quickly. You could use Parliament's aide to re-position, keeping in mind that France could do the same if she is willing to expend her Resource for that purpose.
596 12/2/2019 5:14:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message So I lose 1 more Sp and 1 French but I took Gibraltar!? Wow!!
595 12/2/2019 5:12:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
6
5
5


Message from France:
Gib
594 12/2/2019 5:12:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 12

4
2
4
1
1
5
6
3
4
2
1
5


Message from France:
F/S
593 12/2/2019 5:11:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message So you're saying I caused two casualties (2x6's) vs the one casualty (1x6) you caused so I can roll again,
Huh>
Well, OK, I roll another round.
592 12/2/2019 4:22:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Disregard my second point.
591 12/2/2019 4:20:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Ken,
- You get to keep going until you fail to roll more 6's in that round than I roll hits in that round. There isn't a two-round limit on sieges.
- Also, you still have 4 CP's left on your Reserve.
590 12/2/2019 4:18:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Britain
589 12/2/2019 4:18:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message 2: Massena + 2 from Dalmatia (leaving 2) to Venice; now Massena + 2
3-4: Lannes + 6 from Prague (leaving 4) to Slovakia; now Lannes + 6
5: 2 from Prague (leaving 2) to Ratisbon; now 2
588 12/2/2019 3:27:00 PM 1807-1808 France Message Now the Spaniard dies. Gibraltar hangs on. Rats
587 12/2/2019 3:26:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

6
2
4
1


Message from France:
Brits
586 12/2/2019 3:21:00 PM 1807-1808 France Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 13

2
4
2
1
1
6
1
6
2
5
2
1
3


Message from France:
Franco Spanish
585 12/2/2019 3:20:00 PM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Event #47: 3 / Sappers & Pioneers
Add or subtract one "6" to/from any Siege assault or defense after seeing the Siege dice rolls.

Message from France:
Cancel the British 6. Then try again.
584 12/2/2019 12:02:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message Not today.
Imperials lose 1 Spaniard. Gibraltar now Napoleon/4 and 3 Spaniards.
583 12/2/2019 12:01:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

4
3
6
3


Message from Britain:
The valiant garrison:
582 12/2/2019 12:01:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 13

2
3
1
3
3
4
3
3
4
5
6
5
3


Message from Britain:
8+4+2-1 = 13 Imperial dice...
581 12/2/2019 12:00:00 PM 1807-1808 Britain Message > I hope there are no cards from you guys

I'm a frayed knot.
I will roll...
580 12/2/2019 11:06:00 AM 1807-1808 France Message I hope there are no cards from you guys, but I'll pause in case. You roll 'em,
579 12/2/2019 11:02:00 AM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #904: 5 / Napoleon
If Napoleon is present, you may commit the Imperial Guard after seeing all other battle dice. Roll four more battle dice. Besides inflicting hits, rally a disrupted French Unit for each "4" rolled by the extra dice. Only Napoleon's presence at some point during the battle is required, not his well-being. RESERVE

Message from France:
1: Napoleon + 4 Fr + 4 Sp from La Mancha (leaving 1 Sp) to Gibraltar
Siege
578 12/2/2019 11:02:00 AM 1807-1808 France France: Play Strategy card as Operations #904: 5 / Napoleon
If Napoleon is present, you may commit the Imperial Guard after seeing all other battle dice. Roll four more battle dice. Besides inflicting hits, rally a disrupted French Unit for each "4" rolled by the extra dice. Only Napoleon's presence at some point during the battle is required, not his well-being. RESERVE

Message from France:
1: Napoleon + 4 Fr + 4 Sp from La Mancha (leaving 1 Sp) to Gibraltar
Siege
577 12/2/2019 7:04:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message - France is up.
576 12/2/2019 7:03:00 AM 1807-1808 Britain Message - Vienna is now Ferdinand+5.
- Dave, I agree that Hail Mary's sometimes work. However in this case it would have thwarted my own plan to simultaneously slow-play my cards, and cover Dublin, and knock the Prussian consul down a box.
- The Prussian consul is now Unaligned +1 on the Russian row.
575 12/1/2019 4:39:00 PM 1807-1808 Russia Russia: Play Strategy card as Operations #107: 3 / Relief Convoy
A nation of your choice may use three naval maneuvers now. Double the number of dice of a Fortress Port as long as a friendly Squadron controls that Zone. Play in response to a siege resolution only adds dice, not changes them. Retain faceup beneath the controlling Squadron and discard when the conditions are no longer met.

Message from Russia:
3 on the Prussians
574 12/1/2019 2:29:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message I didnít roll for Armistice because I was OK with ignoring the failed roll of Spain and only counting the French roll. If Spainís roll has been a 6, we all wouldíve decreed that it didnít count, and if Franceís roll had also failed we wouldnít have said that roll would be applied the next turn.

I agree Armistice is over. Russia turn
573 12/1/2019 2:25:00 PM 1807-1808 Austria Message Pete, youíre right. But thereís also a 1% chance of adding Sultanís ear. And you canít argue that 2% > 0%.

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations