Warhorse Simulations

Automated Card Tracking System: Home

Generic Module: Greater East Asia Co-Prosperity Sphere Journal

Number of entries per page:
  Sort order:
Most recent entries first
Oldest entries first

Filter on: (filter will search Player, Title, and Entry)

View elapsed game time

Next 100 entries

Entry # Time Turn Player Title Entry
61 12/3/2019 10:09:00 PM Turn 2 Allies Message hmm, I have a feeling that GEACPS just isn't your game

if we play that attack as rolled, then I think it's probably just about game over. Tell you what - How about we play on assuming that you rolled something vaguely sane, i.e. you rolled <= 4 with your MAR and you off my (INF) and occupy Townsville with CV and MAR?

That'll put you in a reasonable position, although not necessarily a game-winning position, imho.

Let me know what you want to do (although if you wanted to end the game in disgust at the die roller, I wouldn't blame you!)

60 12/3/2019 9:15:00 PM Turn 2 Japan Message Perfect!
59 12/3/2019 9:14:00 PM Turn 2 Japan Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

6
2


Message from Japan:
1: Japan MAR attacks with CV support (1-4)

2: Then in still alive, CW (Inf) attacks 1-2 hit
58 12/3/2019 9:14:00 PM Turn 2 Japan Message Ok - let's put the VET in Saigon and the MAR in Port Moresby and let's try the attack again.

Using the same Naval Action card for the Naval Move action.

MAR attacks first - I will commit the CV so he hits on a 1-4.
57 12/3/2019 1:49:00 AM Turn 2 Allies Message Please go ahead and switch the MAR and VET units and run the attack on Townsville, if you want.
I do actually have a contingency plan for something like that happening. Maybe not a very good plan, but a plan nevertheless.
OK, signing off for the night.
56 12/3/2019 1:21:00 AM Turn 2 Allies Message Btw, if you did attack with the MAR (+ CV as an air unit), note that a MAR unit is C class, but the (CW INF) is D class, i.e. the MAR would fire first, and if it got a hit it would kill the (CW INF) before it got chance to return fire.

How about you roll for the MAR attack again i.e. just requesting one d6 roll? attacking alone will hit on a 1-3, or 1-4 if using the CV as an air unit. But I think you're right, if the MAR (+ CV air) misses, and the (CW INF) hits, then the CV/air unit is offed too (as an air unit would be alone in a space with an enemy unit)
55 12/3/2019 1:11:00 AM Turn 2 Allies Message *** Now I notice it is the VET unit not the MAR unit. Dumbass!!!!!!

> the VET unit is a land unit - it can't be moved by a naval action. In addition, the Port Moresby to Townsville connection is a sea connection (not land), so the VET unit can't move across it (unless by a strat move)

Did you want to switch the VET and MAR units? i.e. put the MAR in Port Moresby (as you probably originally intended) and the VET in Saigon?

To be honest, I don't know that it would've made much difference to my DoW and surprise move actions - I would've done the same thing as I did. If you have a CV and MAR in Port Moresby, it's impossible for me to eliminate them both with the US in surprise moves, without having a MAR - and it's impossible for the US to have a MAR unit on the map by the start of turn 2.
54 12/3/2019 12:40:00 AM Turn 2 Japan Message Just to clarify - the MAR unit is in Saigon.
53 12/3/2019 12:40:00 AM Turn 2 Japan Message *** Now I notice it is the VET unit not the MAR unit. Dumbass!!!!!!

So both take hits, the (VET) unit takes Townsville. So if I somehow take Pearl Harbor or a Chinese Factory space I win.
52 12/3/2019 12:38:00 AM Turn 2 Japan Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

1
2


Message from Japan:
1: Japan Marine attacks (1-4 = hit)
2: CW (Inf) defends (1-2 = hit and CV is whacked too)
51 12/3/2019 12:38:00 AM Turn 2 Japan Message OK - for my first card I'll play Naval Action:

I assume there's no supply or anything - so I'll move:

Marine+CV - Port Moresby > Townsville

From 8.6.8 it looks like I could use the CV as an Air unit and get a +1 for the MAR unit, but then if the MAR unit got offed I think I would lose the carrier - or at least that's how I see it.

It's risky but I think I need to take risks to win, no? I'll go ahead and roll for it...
50 12/1/2019 6:15:00 PM Turn 2 Allies Message I don't know I've ever seen that from the die roller before...
JP BB in Borneo is elim, doesn't fire vs. US CV
2x US CV occupy Borneo

On to Operations phase
JP does not get the Borneo RPs
Allies go first, but will pass
over to JP



49 12/1/2019 6:12:00 PM Turn 2 Allies Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

1
1
1
1


Message from Allies:
Combat in Borneo
Round A
4x US CV (1-3)

48 12/1/2019 6:11:00 PM Turn 2 Allies Message OK, I toyed with the idea of not declaring war, but I think I really can't afford not to.
Of course, I make it that there's 31.25% chance that I'll badger myself...

US DoW on Japan
costs 6 - turn2 = 4 cards, but subtract 1 card for JP and CW being at war
i.e. Allies discard 3 cards, have 3 cards remaining

turn game turn marker over to Allied initiative side

US gets 2x special ops
Japan air in Guilin gets moved to JP retreat box

special ops #1 naval move
2x CV & 1x BB move Pearl > Marshall > Truk
(units don't need to stop in Marshall during a special ops move)
leaves 1x BB and Air in Pearl

special ops #2 naval move
2x CV move Truk > Borneo
1x BB remains in Truk

Combat in Borneo: 2x US CV vs. 1x JP BB
Round A
4x US CV (1-3)

47 12/1/2019 5:13:00 PM Turn 2 Japan Message OK I've got my four cards. I can't declare DOW but you can.
46 12/1/2019 4:18:00 PM Turn 2 Allies Message OK, that's fine
no strat move change for me
once you pick 4 cards, and I pick 6, then we can move on
(just off for a dog walk)

45 12/1/2019 4:14:00 PM Turn 2 Japan Message Huh - not sure where I screwed up - here is my list - its the same as yours except I have 2xBB and 1 CV in Japan, and I have a CV in Moresby instead of a BB (to assist with the ground combat in Townsville).

Does that mess up your plans?

Japan: 2xBB, CV
Guilin: INF, (INF), AIR
Saigon: MAR
Borneo: BB
Port Moresby: CV, VET

CV Production track: CV
BB, MAR, AIR Production track: BB


44 12/1/2019 3:02:00 PM Turn 1 Allies End Turn
43 12/1/2019 3:02:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message OK, I'll run my strat move assuming your inventory is what I wrote before (if I have your inventory wrong, then I may need to change my strat move)

(CHI INF): Chungking > Rangoon
CW Air: Calcutta > Kunming
(NB. I make it that the CW Air can be used to support CHI units - see 8.6.6)

Allied inventory after strat move:
Pearl: 2x CV, 2x BB, Air
Samoa: (US INF)
Rangoon: CW INF, (CHI INF)
Calcutta: (CW INF)
Kunming: CW Air
Chungking: 2x CHI INF

CV Production box: US CV
BB, MAR. Air Production box: MAR

That's the end of turn 1, on to turn 2
Production Phase
Japan choose 4 cards
Allies choose 6 cards

Please let me know when you've chosen cards, and then we'll move own to the Declaration of War phase...
42 12/1/2019 12:49:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> BB Singapore> Japan <<<

* I make it that this was a CV?
Here's what I have for JP inventory - is this what you have?

Japan: 2x CV, BB
Guilin: INF, (INF), AIR
Saigon: MAR
Borneo: BB
Port Moresby: BB, VET

CV Production track: CV
BB, MAR, AIR Production track: BB

41 12/1/2019 12:40:00 AM Turn 1 Japan Message OK - let's do this:
Vet Japan>Port Moresby
BB Japan>Borneo
Air Saigon>Guilin
Inf Port Arthus> Guilin
BB Singapore> Japan

I think that's it...

Not sure what to do here...
40 11/30/2019 8:19:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> The End-of-Turn strat move. I assume it is still one space can be activated and they can only move to one space? <<<

* my take is that it's essentially an unlimited # of strat moves, and that all units on the map can be moved by strat move - see 9.0

39 11/30/2019 8:15:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> So production track looks like this:
CV: Japan CV, US CV
BB, Mar, Air, Japan BB, 2xUS Mar
Correct? <<<

* almost. I make it:
CV box: Japan CV, & US CV
BB, Mar, Air box: Japan BB & 1xUS Mar

38 11/30/2019 8:12:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message The End-of-Turn strat move. I assume it is still one space can be activated and they can only move to one space?

If so- I'll move
Vet (thanks) Japan>Port Moresby
37 11/30/2019 8:08:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message So production track looks like this:
CV: Japan CV, US CV
BB, Mar, Air, Japan BB, 2xUS Mar

Correct?
36 11/30/2019 7:32:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Allies #6
CBI Theater
Build China INF (full strength) in Chungking

That's the end of the Operations Phase

Japan goes first in the end of turn phase

35 11/30/2019 7:26:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> I'll play Japan #3 Production
- place Inf in Japan <<<

* btw, you're probably better off building the VET in Japan, rather than an INF?
(same cost, but a better unit)

>>> Build US CV on production track
> Do you mean put a new CV on the CV space, or move the existing CV up to the "BB, Mar, Air" space? <

* I don't have a CV on the production track - you do.
My new CV goes in the CV space of the production track

34 11/30/2019 7:08:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message Japan #4
Naval Move card
- Naval Move
Singapore BB>Port Moresby

I'm done.
33 11/30/2019 7:07:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message > Build US CV on production track

Do you mean put a new CV on the CV space, or move the existing CV up to the "BB, Mar, Air" space?
32 11/30/2019 6:11:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> I'll play Japan #3 Production
- place Inf in Japan
I think I can do this <<<

* yep, that looks good
The INF is at full strength

Allied #5
US production
Build US CV on production track

31 11/30/2019 5:55:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message I'll play Japan #3 Production
- place Inf in Japan

I've gotta run back to the TV to watch the game - I think I can do this - wasn't obvious from a quick learn of the rules...
30 11/30/2019 1:17:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Allied #4
US production
Build US Mar, place sideways in Mar production box
(NB I can't advance this unit on the production track this turn)

29 11/30/2019 1:01:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message China Inf whacked, Japan Inf flipped.

Over to you...
28 11/30/2019 1:00:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 3

2
2
1


Message from Japan:
1,2: Jap Inf (3)
3: China Inf (2)
27 11/30/2019 1:00:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

1


Message from Japan:
Combat in Gulin

1,2: Jap Inf (3)
3: China Inf (2)
26 11/30/2019 1:00:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message Japan #2: Land Action
- Land Movement

Inf Shanghai>Guilin
25 11/30/2019 9:40:00 AM Turn 1 Allies Message Oof. That was some unlucky for you and lucky for me rolling.
Allied card 3
CBI Theater with uk bombing
Replenish INF in Rangoon to full strength
24 11/30/2019 12:02:00 AM Turn 1 Japan Message UK Inf flipped, Jap Inf eliminated. Jap Marine retreats back to Saigon
23 11/30/2019 12:01:00 AM Turn 1 Japan Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 4

1
6
2
1


Message from Japan:
Round D:

1,2: Jap Inf (2+1)
3,4: UK Inf (2+1)
22 11/30/2019 12:01:00 AM Turn 1 Japan Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 1

6


Message from Japan:
Round C:

Jap Marine (3+1 for Air)
21 11/30/2019 12:01:00 AM Turn 1 Japan Message Play the 2nd Borneo RP for Army Move:
Inf, Mar from Saigon>Rangoon

Will roll for combat next...
20 11/29/2019 8:05:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message btw, looks to me like you'll have little problem taking Calcutta + Chungking or Kunming to win the game?

19 11/29/2019 8:04:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Allied card #2
CBI Theater (w/ US Bombing)
Build UK Air in Calcutta

18 11/29/2019 8:00:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message I'll play a card from hand

Japan #1: Production
- flip INF in Saigon

Over ot you
17 11/29/2019 7:53:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Allied card #1
CBI Theater (w/ US Bombing symbol)
Use UK action to replenish INF in Rangoon to full strength
Back over to you
(btw, we'll be heading out for dinner in a show soon)

16 11/29/2019 7:46:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message OK - (BB) whacked. Over to you - you can pass if you like.
15 11/29/2019 7:45:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Die roll request Request: 6-sided die x 2

3
6


Message from Japan:
Round A - CVs attack
1-4
14 11/29/2019 7:06:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >> SO I think what will happen is:
A round: I roll 2 dice (hit on 4 or less)
B round: We simultaneously roll - me 2 dice, you 1 die.
Make sense? <<<

* all looks shipshape and Bristol fashion
of course, if you wax my (BB) in round A (as is likely), then we don;'t have round B.

Roll away!

13 11/29/2019 7:03:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message OK great. I will use one of my Oil RPs for a Naval Move:

BB+CV Siagon>Borneo>Singapore

I think we get combat and I think I get a +1 DRM since I have Air in range.

SO I think what will happen is:

A round: I roll 2 dice (hit on 4 or less)
B round: We simultaneously roll - me 2 dice, you 1 die.

Make sense?
12 11/29/2019 7:00:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> 1. Naval move:
Japan > Saigon
Marine BB, CV
2. Strat Move
Japan > Saigon
Air, (Inf)
Does this jive? Then I'll start with my first card, but I'll wait for your OK <<<

* yep, looks kosher to me. A couple of notes:
1. note that Saigon=Singapore is a land connection
2. your Air in Saigon now controls Borneo, so you'll get the Borneo RPs in the Ops phase, and a naval move in the Ops phase Saigon > Borneo > Singapore does not have to stop in Borneo (as you control Borneo)

Have at it!

11 11/29/2019 6:08:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message Got it.

So I think this works:
- I would like to whack your (BB) but I think have to move to Saigon first so I can move the air unit in. Air can only move via strategic movement, and that has to be through controlled spaces (the special rules about the bonus DOW 2-actions only apply to land and naval moves, not strat moves.

So:
1. Naval move:
Japan > Saigon
Marine BB, CV

2. Strat Move
Japan > Saigon
Air, (Inf)

Does this jive? Then I'll start with my first card, but I'll wait for your OK
10 11/29/2019 3:34:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> This is pretty (well, mostly) definitive:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1996385/strategic-moves
One destination space is all you get. <<<

* Agreed - it's that last reply that's definitely convincing to me:
" It's "to any 1 space" in the japanese rules. "

My guess is that "one destination space" also applies to naval and land moves, as well as strat moves?



9 11/29/2019 3:27:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message This is pretty (well, mostly) definitive:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1996385/strategic-moves

One destination space is all you get.


8 11/29/2019 3:09:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message Let me re-do that a bit. Might as well start off on track. Also, I posted a question on BGG to clarify the movement question - I think you're correct.
7 11/29/2019 2:31:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> Strat Move (again same thing, I move 3 you get 5 moves from the same space to different spaces)
- Air unit Japan > Saigon (gives me control of Borneo)
- CV Japan > Borneo
- (Inf) Japan > Shanghai
Q. Moving the CV to Borneo presumes that control is established immediately. The ruke 3.4 implies that (to me) but it is definitely not explicit.
What do you think? <<<

* by the way, you do realize that a naval move during the Special Ops after a DoW allows for a Japan CV to move Japan > Okinawa > Rangoon > Borneo? (you don't need to stop in an enemy controlled space during a Special Ops move)

>>> Strat Move- Air unit Japan > Saigon (gives me control of Borneo) <<<

* yes, I think this is OK - it seems to me that control of a space is determined immediately and when necessary, i.e. the initial move of the Air unit establishes control over Borneo, so the sequential strat move of the CV is OK, even within the same Operations sub-phase

>>> Moving the CV to Borneo presumes that control is established immediately. The ruke 3.4 implies that (to me) but it is definitely not explicit. <<<

* yeah, this is definitely OK - once a unit occupies a space, control is immediate.
You'll then control the Borneo RPs in time to use in the turn 1 Operations Phase.
Nicely done! (although I think Japan taking control of the extra Borneo RPs in turn 1 might well be a no-brainer)

6 11/29/2019 2:22:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Btw, you do realize that Japan cannot now declare war on the US in this game?

>>> Strat Move (again same thing, I move 3 you get 5 moves from the same space to different spaces)
- Air unit Japan > Saigon (gives me control of Borneo)
- CV Japan > Borneo
- (Inf) Japan > Shanghai
Q. Moving the CV to Borneo presumes that control is established immediately. The ruke 3.4 implies that (to me) but it is definitely not explicit.
What do you think? <<<

* For a strat move (or a naval move), it's clear that Japan can move 3 units from a single space.
However, it's not clear to me that it's possible to move those 3 units to different destination spaces (rather than moving them to a single destination space).
e.g. in Strat Movement 8.1 and naval movement 8.2 it says to move to "any other space on the map" or "another space on the map", i.e. "space" rather than "spaces"
I'm happy to play it either way. Being able to move to multiple destination spaces will be a help to Japan early on, but will probably help the US later on.
How about we try "movement from a single space to multiple destination spaces" is allowed?


5 11/29/2019 2:09:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message >>> DOW Phase
- Japan declares war on the Commonwealth
- if you had any air units they would go into the Retreat Box (still not sure what that does) <<<

* units in the retreat box, are temporarily out of play, but can be moved from the retreat box on to map locations by a strat move (either using a card play strat move, or by strat move during the end of turn phase)
however, US can use 2 naval units in the retreat box for a reaction move (see 8.6.1)

>>> now I get 2 free actions:
1. Naval Move (I can move 3 units, you can move 5)
- Marine + 2xBB from Japan to Saigon <<<

* looks good


4 11/29/2019 1:53:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message 1. Production Phase
- I choose my 4 cards.

2. DOW Phase
- Japan declares war on the Commonwealth
- if you had any air units they would go into the Retreat Box (still not sure what that does)
- now I get 2 free actions:

1. Naval Move (I can move 3 units, you can move 5)
- Marine + 2xBB from Japan to Saigon

2. Strat Move (again same thing, I move 3 you get 5 moves from the same space to different spaces)
- Air unit Japan > Saigon (gives me control of Borneo)
- CV Japan > Borneo
- (Inf) Japan > Shanghai

Q. Moving the CV to Borneo presumes that control is established immediately. The ruke 3.4 implies that (to me) but it is definitely not explicit.

What do you think?
3 11/29/2019 1:28:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message Gripes-because-I-can't-help-myself
1. there are 9 blank counters present - why not use these blanks to print a few more control markers, or include markers for a # of PPs track?
2. why not print cards #s on the cards? (not all CBI Theater or US Naval Action cards are identical)

2 11/29/2019 1:16:00 PM Turn 1 Allies Message US set up
PH: 2x CV, 2x BB, 1x Air
Samoa: 1x Inf*
Allies draw 6 cards
Over to you!

1 11/29/2019 12:52:00 PM Turn 1 Japan Message I've got the map set up and will pick my 4 cards after you're free setup.

Next 100 entries

Copyright 2005 Warhorse Simulations